We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a Lifetime with Obied - wadi rum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Trip of a Lifetime with Obied - wadi rum”
Reviewed July 3, 2010

If you are looking for the best desert experience ever - then go to Obied's camp. His 2 sons looked after so incredibly well. Obied even offered to buy us in some beers which I have to say went down very well in the hot hot desert. The camp is wonderful not overcrowed at all - in fact we were the only ones there. Flushing toilets and hot showers. woke up to sunrise at 5am - was just magical. Due to full moon we didn't see too many stars but certainly more than we would have seen in the UK !!! The whole experience was fantastic - loved the ride in the rickety old jeep - Nail can certainly show western 4x4 drivers a thing or 2 about soft sand. Obieds generosity and kindness will live in my memories for a very very long time - i will be back to see the completed kitchen. The zerb we had was amazing - highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ietsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    37
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
77
140
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Awesome. Just awesome.
Great adventure. His sons took great care of us, the camp was perfect, the food delicious, the tea sweet and refreshing.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scwg716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We have just returned from a 2 week trip through Israel and Jordan. We were met at the border crossing in Aqaba by Obeid and spent the day and night at the Wadi Rum Camp in the Protected Area. We took a several hour tour of the desert in the jeep and then took a camel ride at sunset. Dinner was cooked underground in the "cooker" and was very good. When we were there, Obeid was having a new kitchen built at the camp which should be very nice. We had breakfast the next morning and then Obeid drove us to Petra. We spent the day and night in Petra and then Obeid picked us up the next day & drove us to Amman.

Obeid and his family as so welcoming and entertaining. We very much enjoyed being at his camp and learning about the Beduoin ways and customs. The Wadi Rum is such a beautiful area and we would recommend Obeid's camp to anyone interested in a wonderful Beduoin Wadi Rum experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trip Advisor from Dallas, TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Myself, my wife and 7-year old daughter recently stayed at Obied's camp within the Wadi Rum area. I would highly recommend it - I would say it has been the highlight of our Jordan trip so far, even over Petra (though Petra was also great). Obied himself was not there, however his brother and two sons Naill and Salim were more than capable of running the camp and made us feel incredibly welcome.

Naill picked us up from the tourist centre and we went through the desert in the 4WD drive to the camp. They gave us breakfast and after a while we decided on a camel ride for an hour. That was great though even only one hour gave us sore legs! It was a real highlight for our daughter. Obied's brother in particular took a liking to us and we talked about a lot of things (though his English is more limited than Naill's). They were perfectly happy with us just relaxing for most of the day and showed us a great shaded vantage point to relax the afternoon. There were constant offers of more tea and we were really made to feel at ease, whether we wanted to chat with them, or not to chat, to go for a walk or whatever. Our daughter played the the two girls Hannah (6) and Hallah (4) and had a ball.

For most of the day it was only us in the camp. Another couple turned up in the late afternoon and we were all well fed from the underground oven, and then sat around the campfire and listened to Naill's cousin play the oodt (spelling?) and them sing a few songs, play drums and talk.

For budget travellers like us it was a bit more expensive than 'general travelling' we've been doing, but it was absolutely worth it for a highly memorable experience. The combination of the majestic desert and rocky hills (very different landscape from my home country) and the fantastic and genuine hospitality were what really made the experience exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickAlexPhoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Hi,

I have spend 1 day in Obeid's camp in Wadi Rum and really enjoyed it. We were picked up from the visitor's centre by Obeid's son and then taken to the camp. After joining the other visitors we went on a 4 hour jeep tour across the desert to see all the interesting sites in Wadi Rum. In the evening we made a short ride on camels.
The atmosphere was great, the food good and it is one of the camps that has showers so after a day in the desert you can have a shower before going to sleep.
To give you a better idea of the camp here is a movie showing the details.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XJE03zDE2VA

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_from_hell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Stayed 2 nights between a trip to Petra (90 minutes drive so a bit far if you are planning this, better to stay in Petra). Great fun, 4x4 and camels reccomended (1 hour on the camel was enough for a first time). Obied's son was great with our kids. I cannot reccomend this experience highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOldSilverFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Having just arrived from a trip to Jordan, I am already missing being there again. Liked Petra and the desert a lot but the best thing in Jordan are its people: warm, friendly, with a great sense of humor. We were two females traveling independently and we enjoyed the experience. The highlight of the trip was the full day spent in the desert, with our guide, Obeid, which we find due to recommendations in TripAdvisor and found his page on the internet called WadiRumTrips. He sent a driver to pick us up at 10 am from our hotel in Wadi Musa (he came exactly at 10) and take us near the Visitor Center of Wadi Rum, where we met him. It was the best option for us as the bus that makes this route leaves Wadi Musa around 6 am, much too early for me.
There, we had a light lunch (delicious tuna salad and bread) prepared by one of Obeid´s sons at his camp. I read various comments in TripAdvisor and some travelers debated on where Obeid´s camp is: Wadi Rum or Disi village so I confirm that the camp is inside Wadi Rum protected are – from there we started our jeep safari in a brand new, clean and air conditioned car. Obeid was a wonderful guide-we made him talk about his life (we knew he is married to an European woman and traveled to Europe quite often). He told us he retired from the police force and now was running his own business venture in Wadi Rum. He took us to all the interesting places in the desert, some of them not even o my list and we finished the trip watching the sunset over the mountains. It was so relaxing and so good. After, we went again to his camp where Obeid invited us for dinner. It was not in our plans but we accepted his invitation. The camp is nice, Bedouin style, with tents of different sizes, mattresses, pillows, blankets… everything one needs to have a good night sleep. There is also space for travelers to put their own tent if they want to. The bathroom facilities are extremely clean, with toilets, showers, warm water, mirrors, sinks. I also saw functioning light bulbs! While waiting for the food and for other people to arrive, we were entertained and served with Bedouin coffee and tea. Dinner was delicious, it included grilled chicken, rice, potatoes, salad, bread, sparkling soft drinks based on caffeine and oranges. There was a group of 15 people from about 7 countries and 3 continents, talking about where we came from, what we saw in Jordan, where should we go next… We met some of Obeid´s family: his elder sons that help him with the tourists, his brother, two very polite and very young nieces (age 5 and 3)… We had the chance to see how the family members behave among themselves, helpful, polite, protective, looking after one another, especially after the little ones… I felt so good being there with them, so peaceful. At one moment, a little desert bug was walking towards the fire made on the floor in the middle of the tent. Obeid´s brother put it carefully in his palm and took it out of the tent, saying it was “haram” for the bug to die… I was thinking that other people would have just stepped on it without a second thought. Obeid asked us where we would be going next and upon hearing our destination was Aqaba, he told us he can arrange for a taxi from Wadi Rum. We accepted the offer (the price was ok, plus it enabled us to decide when we wanted to leave and avoid being at the mercy of a bus schedule or hitchhike). Again the driver was on time (are these guys Swiss or what?) and we went to Aqaba in a nice, clean, air-conditioned car. Before we separated from Obeid, he told us that if we need anything, we can call him again and so we did because we did not know how to get from Aqaba to our hotel near the Dead Sea. He arranged for a driver to take us and the price was good. I checked it with other cab drivers and at the hotel, and from what I knew before arriving in Jordan, it was correct, not to mentioned that we already knew Obeid and we trusted him after spending so much time in the desert. Although Jordan is a very safe country to travel, I preferred to go with a recommended driver. And guess what, he arrived at the exact our! He was also very nice, polite and respectful. Although I don´t remember his name, I know it starts with F.
I am glad I met Obeid, he is a great person, a wonderful guide, knows exactly what we wanted and the overall feeling I had during the time I spent with him was being safe, spoiled and taken care of. It was one of the best days of our trip and I recommend everyone who goes to Jordan to go to Wadi Rum and stay for at least one night to experience the hospitality and the warmth of the people in the desert. It is simply something that money can´t buy. And please hug Obeid for me.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Consuela_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wadi Rum hotels
5.2 mi away
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
#7 of 117 in Wadi Rum
429 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
#2 of 117 in Wadi Rum
996 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sun City Camp Wadi Rum
Sun City Camp Wadi Rum
#6 of 117 in Wadi Rum
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Rum Stars Camp & Bedouin Adventures Group
11.5 mi away
Discovery Bedu
Discovery Bedu
#13 of 117 in Wadi Rum
67 reviews
11.2 mi away
Wadi Rum Sky - Tours and Camp
Wadi Rum Sky - Tours and Camp
#10 of 117 in Wadi Rum
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp

Property: Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
Address: Wadi Rum Protected Area, Wadi Rum, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Wadi Rum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bedouin Life Camp is run for twelve years by Obeid Naser Alamamreh, a licensed Bedouin desert guide and his sons. The authentic Bedouin camp is located in a scenic spot of the Wadi Rum Protected Area near Seven Pillars of Wisdom, offering accommodation, jeep tours, hiking, climbing and camel ride in the desert. Obeid organises car transfers and round trips with his tourist car in all Jordan as well.Price of accommodation includes breakfast.Lunch and traditional Bedouin dinner is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedouin Life Camp Hotel Wadi Rum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing