We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2010

Ive always wanted to go out in the desert, stay in a camp and this met all our expectations, no electric or any mod cons, although there is hot water and showers, all kept spotlessly clean. Obeid is great and his 2 sons are very welcoming as well as being very good hosts. The food is great and the location stunning. One small tip; bring a torch but then again its more fun navigating without one! Obeid arranged everything for us, from pick up in Amman, horse riding in the desert with a very knowledgable and caring local stables and eventually dropping us off at Aqaba. Would highly recommend and would certainly come back and do it again. Its a social experience with everyone eating together and sharing stories round the campfire. Oh yes and the company of the fellow traveller was most memorable - you know who you are disaster matt lol

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 394 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2009

I truly recommend the services offered by Obeid and his son (Nail) whether you choose a day trip and or an overnight stay. They are extremely welcoming (as are all Bedouins I have met as well as Jordanians in general). They have much first hand knowledge of the area and are great guides.

I truly recommend Obeid and or his son who will make your experience an unforgettable one for all the right reasons :-)

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World_Tr4veller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

An afternoon camel ride from the village to the camp, a delicious oven-cooked dinner, nice chat around the fire and great 4x4 ride in the morning. At this time of the year, the weather was perfect for such a journey.
Obeid's humour and excellent English made our night stay in wadi rum a unforgettable moment.
One thing to know though, wadi rum is a different desert experience than Sinai bedouin camps. You share dinner with fellow tourists and you sleep all together in one large tent or under the stars if weather allows. It is not a retreat... but can still be very enjoyable.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Papalagoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

After reading reviews on Tripadvisor we spent one night and then came back for another night after deciding that 3 nights in aqaba was more than enough and we had not experienced Wadi Rum enough and had really enjoyed the one night we stayed at Obeid's camp. The first night we stayed was just before an inspection that would take place the following day so the camp was very clean and in good working order. The camp is made up of 3 larger bedouin style tents and 4 smaller tents (but still large enough to stand in and can accomodate 4 persons easily) that are located a small walking disatance away from the main tents which gives some extra privacy (and is recommended to request to stay in). The sons and uncle were extremely hospitable (for instance offering lunch if you were hungry, serving tea all the time (whatch your sugar intake!) and it is all included in the price). We had 2 great nights sitting around the camp fire chatting with them. The camp is located in the desert in a secluded area and is completely peaceful with no other camp nearby. Both times we stayed there were only 2 other guests, which Obeid and family seem to prefer as they like to keep it small (but they can cater for big groups as they had a large group saying there after we left). They told us there are around 25 camps in the desert, of which 15 are operational (but not all are clean and service friendly). Food was good, we had Zarb for both nights. They can arrange all kinds of jeep trips and pick you up from the visitor centre (which is a 10-15 minute drive away). Wadi Rum is worth a stay of 2 nights and one full day should do the trick for most. If you like camping I have no reason not to recommend this place. Bring a towel, they did not provide one. They did provide clean bedsheets and blankets. I did not find the visitor centre that helpful (prices are also higher than elsewhere) and had booked my trip ahead with Obeid which is advisable. I would advise doing the jeep trip through them as all the tours seem to be the same anyway (sma ecars etc) and this way you will be dropped off at your camp and you know that the guide (the son) speaks english.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sebbie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

Our trip to Jordan was not easy, some obstacles were encountered and there were some difficulties that at that time I Thought we were not able to overcome.

Anyhow we had luck and we were able to get in touch with this fantastic person called Obeid.

Obeid was our guide, driver, teacher, host and above all friend.
Jordan without this help, tips and advises would not be the same.

With him we managed to see so much in too little time.... and his camp ....it's a breath taking experience...Unbelievable

I truly recommend Obeid, not only Wadi rum Obeid's Camp, but also his guiding capabilities throughout Jordan

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Antonio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

Thanksfully the desert is a magnific place because the rest was so disappointing. Obeid wasn't in the Wadi Rum (but in Amman, doing shopping) therefore his brother took care of us. This guy has a very poor English therefore not being able to explain a lot on anything. He was over doing it with our children trying to be nice but it was too much. And the car was the worst I ever seen in my life: obliged to start the car from the engine itself, we punctured and took us 45mn to change the wheel,... Diner was ok but no discussion, no explanation on their bedouin life, had dinner with Obeid's sons (7, 16 and 21 yrs old). Really disappointed about the camp but not by the desert itself.
So if you really intend to stay in this camp, please make sure Obeid is there to welcome you...

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Chrystel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

This is a very nice, basic, authentic desert experience. It is charming because it is what it is. I am concerned that some folks on the forum are over hyping and over selling this camp. It is good because it is simple and Obeid and his family are genuinely nice caring people. I personally liked the fact that the sand worthy jeep for our desert drives was old and clunky, it added to the experience. (I looked with curiosity at the fancy enclosed A/C SUVs zipping around and sometimes getting stuck in the sand.)

As a solo female traveler I felt very comfortable and safe throughout Jordan and with Obeid. Obeid is an expert guide in the Wadi Rum area. Please know that he is a very good driver (with many years experience as a driver for the Jordanian police force) and he transported me all over Jordan. He is very open about not being a guide. Although his English is not as strong as it could be for his job he has extraordinary interpersonal skills, seems to know everyone and can gain access to places not normally available to all.

I have had the good fortune to stay in permanent ger camps in Mongolia, tented camps in the Andes, and under the stars rafting the Colorado River. Now I am happy to add Obeid's camp to these wonderful memories.

Please read the 6/27/09 review on this page by vulcantrader for an excellent review.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank detravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wadi Rum hotels
7.0 mi away
Wadi Rum Bedouin Camp
Wadi Rum Bedouin Camp
#1 of 119 in Wadi Rum
140 reviews
9.4 mi away
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
#3 of 119 in Wadi Rum
1,027 reviews
5.2 mi away
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
#7 of 119 in Wadi Rum
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Rum Stars Camp & Bedouin Adventures Group
8.0 mi away
Sun City Camp Wadi Rum
Sun City Camp Wadi Rum
#5 of 119 in Wadi Rum
214 reviews
6.5 mi away
Bedouin Traditions Camp
Bedouin Traditions Camp
#9 of 119 in Wadi Rum
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp

Address: Wadi Rum Protected Area, Wadi Rum, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Wadi Rum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range: $41 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bedouin Life Camp is run for twelve years by Obeid Naser Alamamreh, a licensed Bedouin desert guide and his sons. The authentic Bedouin camp is located in a scenic spot of the Wadi Rum Protected Area near Seven Pillars of Wisdom, offering accommodation, jeep tours, hiking, climbing and camel ride in the desert. Obeid organises car transfers and round trips with his tourist car in all Jordan as well.Price of accommodation includes breakfast.Lunch and traditional Bedouin dinner is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedouin Life Camp Hotel Wadi Rum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing