We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wadi Rum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Al Zawaideh Desert Camp at Wadi Rum
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wadi Rum
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Although our expectations were quite low, staying here was actually quite fun. OK, better plan your showers in a way that you don't need to take one here, and we've seen cleaner beds, to put it mildly. But the dinner was good, chicken and potatoes from the Bedouin underground BBQ, with plenty fresh salads and vegetables. Friendly staff and owner who make you feel welcome.

The Wadi Rum area is of course breathtaking. As far as we were concerned, the entertainment at night did not really contribute to the peaceful desert atmosphere you might be looking for: loud Arabic disco and dancing. More of a party scene, but fun in it's own way.

Although I would not stay here for more than one night, it is something of an experience.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
7  Thank mg-bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 47 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2011

We were booked into Al Zawaideh by the Tour group we were in Jordan with and it was fabulous.
Tasty food and a very chilled out atmosphere. We did not experience any entertainment or the camel rides, but had comfortable accomodation and were made to feel very welcome indeed.
Definitely one of the highlights to our trip was our stay here.
i do recommend a torch though. Essentially you are in a camp and not a hotel so do have to go and find the toilet, daunting in the dark and cold of the desert!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toddlingalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

The Zawaideh Camp is not in the Wadi Rum protected area, so visitors are not taken to any of the places listed in the guide books. The camp is right next to a dozen similar camps, so not isolated. There were very few others visitors on my trip, so there was only rice and boiled chicken for dinner (and an apple) and no evening music or dance performance (as promised). I was provided with a single bedsheet and no cover for the pillow, but luckily didn't catch anything communicable. There were few visitors, and I was paying a lot of money (150JD for half board, 4-hour pick-up trip, 2-hour camel ride) but nevertheless put in a tiny tent with no room to move around the bed and little air. BUT Harb Zuwaideh, one of the owners, is charming; and the Wadi Rum area is un-missable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

This Camp Is One Of The Most Exiting camps In wadi Rum Specially The People Working There
I Love It Too Much

Room Tip: The Closer Tent To The Dance Aria Is The Best " For The Individual " If Group The Isolated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoqmanAudih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Our one night stay here is the most memorable night of all our travels. I suppose that's a good thing and a bad thing. The good: the food was great, the music and dancing fun, the bathrooms acceptable (although we skipped out on showering while there), the sunrise camel ride was fun although short and within view of the camp, the 4x4 was exciting and terrifying, visiting other bedouin camps was very neat and the tea everyone offers is amazing. The bad: the tents do not block out sound and we had a guy snoring really loudly right next to us, there was a large hole in our mosquito net so we woke up in the middle of the night with about 30 of them trapped inside with us and no bug repellent. The ugly: I don't know if this is normal but we didn't have a bottom sheet on our bed and the comforter did not seem like it had ever been washed....

Bring bug spray, ear plugs, your own sheets and a sense of adventure and you'll have a wonderful time! Worst night of sleep for us was still our greatest trip ever.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank k_loves_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed to nights in the Al Wawaideh Desert Camp and it was one of the best experience we had in Jordan and Israel. We had many interesting talk with Hard, the owner of the camp and leader of his people in Wadi Rum. Everybody were so open and friendly. I really recommend to take a trip with the air ballon and with jeep in the desert. Try to spend at least 2 nights there. Definitely going back to Wadi Rum soon, it's a special place with special people. The colors of the desert, the stars at night is very powerful. I'm happy we found this place through recommendation here at tripadvisor. Marie, Norway

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarieSkeie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Travelling in a posse of 13 - with 7 children under 12 - we knew we were in for an adventure. Staying with Mohammad (who we affectionately came to call Abu Ray) for three days was a highlight of our month-long Middle East holiday. We loved our three-hour camel safari, the 4WD tour through Wadi Rum, sunset rock-climbing (self-supplied) and climbing the sand dunes. Mostly though, we loved Mohammad's hospitality, stories, facts and generous nature. The beds were comfy enough, the toilets clean enough and the tea hot and sweet. We supplemented the meals with a few snacks of our own so we didn't go too hungry and requested less sugar in the tea. But, overall, we loved it!

Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
Thank advisorpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadi Rum
0 mi away
Petra Diamond Hotel
Petra Diamond Hotel
#30 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
37 reviews
11.4 mi away
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
#4 of 122 in Wadi Rum
1,058 reviews
8.9 mi away
Wadi Rum Bedouin Camp
Wadi Rum Bedouin Camp
#2 of 122 in Wadi Rum
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
#3 of 122 in Wadi Rum
408 reviews
7.2 mi away
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
#9 of 122 in Wadi Rum
509 reviews
9.9 mi away
Sun City Camp Wadi Rum
Sun City Camp Wadi Rum
#7 of 122 in Wadi Rum
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Zawaideh Desert Camp at Wadi Rum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Zawaideh Desert Camp at Wadi Rum

Address: | Diseh, Wadi Rum, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Wadi Rum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wadi Rum
Also Known As:
Al Zawaideh Desert Camp At Wadi Rum Hotel Wadi Rum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing