We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best view over the ramon crater”
Review of Desert Shade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desert Shade
Reviewed February 20, 2013

the desert shade camp is a little bit outside of the city zentrum but easy to find. the rooms are simple but really comfortable! the crew is really friendly and tells you alot about the country. you have a really nice view over the crater. sunset there is simply amazing!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summitdnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Desert Shade
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 60 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

I liked my staying in Desert shade eco farm, not just because stuff is nice and helpful. The whole place has unmatchable position, from where the big part of crater can be observed; especially beatiful in the mornings. The huts are inovativelly made out of organic and recycled materials but indeed very comfortable to live in. It is obvious that the team gave big deal of attention to aesthetics of overall experience with concern to remain a feeling of being close to nature. Warmly recommend especially to trekkers.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vrenčur I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Beautiful view
Cosy eco-tent
Good spirit

Perfect for lovers and adventurers/travellers, you can enjoy the amazing sunrise behind the montains, or the sunset with a glass of wine...

We recommand us desert shade

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pastelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Lovely place. Besides the great view, the atmosphere was really relaxed and the staff friendly and helpful. We received some good tips for desert hikes and other activities. Definitely recommended for those who want to enjoy Maktesh Ramon and surroundings.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Luke_on_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had a very nice time here. A special recommendation is for the view, which is excellent and reaches out over the great maktesh. The location is right next to one of the most expensive hotels in Israel that is known for its great location.

The people are friendly and helpful: they showed us the best walking tours in the maktesh (which were very pretty), and they took us to the best restaurant in town where we had great night. The dormitory huts are not at all luxorious and a bit dusty, but the common room is a nice and pretty place to hang and comes with tea. The place is not at all expensive, which makes this perfect for backpackers like us. All in all, if I had to judge my time here, I would say it was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The most amazing thing about this place is the view... Desert Shade resides on the edge of the Ramon Crater, away from the city lights. You can see the sunrise from your bed without having to get out! The private eco tents, where I stayed are basic yet have an amazing decoration, with glass bottle in all colors integrated into the mud and sheet, hand-built, room. The shared bathrooms and showers are clean with hot water 24/7/ The common area, where reception and dining area are located, is an amazing hand built stone building, with an entire wall from glass, overlooking the crater. Having breakfast, with olives and dates from the desert, to this view was incredible! The place is located right on the road to the outdoor stone garden, and a short walk to the edge of the crater. You can rent bicycle and go biking or arrange for camel ride. The hosts are extremely knowledgeable about the area and can recommend hiking trails and provide maps. Would certainly recommend staying here if you are looking for a down to earth experience, quiet place and seeing nature every minute of your stay!

Room Tip: the private eco-tents are convenient and close to the shared bathroom facility
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roni b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 559JenniferS559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niv S, Public Relations Manager at Desert Shade, responded to this reviewResponded today

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mitspe Ramon hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramon Suites Hotel
Ramon Suites Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
366 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mitzpe Ramon Guest House
Mitzpe Ramon Guest House
#5 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Isrotel Ramon Inn
Isrotel Ramon Inn
#4 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beresheet
Beresheet
#1 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
1,129 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silent Arrow
Silent Arrow
#7 of 18 in Mitspe Ramon
99 reviews
0.6 mi away
Desert Home
Desert Home
#3 of 18 in Mitspe Ramon
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Shade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Shade

Address: P.O Box 613, Mitspe Ramon 8060000, Israel
Location: Israel > Southern District > Mitspe Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Mitspe Ramon
Price Range: $71 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desert Shade Eco-Tent Camp located on the rim of the Ramon Crater and invites you to enjoy the tranquil beauty of the Negev Mountain's scenery. On the edge of the Ramon Crater nature reserve, Desert Shade is your perfect gateway to explore the desert trails. Hidden between the hills north to Mitzpe Ramon, you can enjoy the silence that you want with the proximity to the services that you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Desert Shade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Shade Israel/Mitspe Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing