We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, small hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Green Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Staff very friendly and helpful with info about everything.
Clean, well-run, lots of international guests of all ages.
A very special "sabbath" dinner for guests, on Friday evenings; pot-luck , got us all discussing our spiritual beliefs. Feeling the great brotherhood of Humanity.

Room Tip: ask staff; the bus can drop you in front of the hostel. We didn't know and ended up dragging ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 337 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

A super nice hostel. Yosh and Lee are very/very warm and kind persons who fill the hostel with their hearts. Of course also extremely well cleaned and the facilities in perfect order! I will come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bennosalwey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The stay in Green Backpackers was enjoyable, largely so for the hospitality of the owners Yoash and Lee. They make sure that each guest is comfortable and happy. We stayed in the "upstairs" apartment, which is separate from the main unit, and it was quiet and relaxed. The apartment is clean and well kept. These were cold winter nights, and in addition to the room and apartment being well heated, the owners even provided a hot water bottle for the bed. It did not earn a five, because it was a bit expensive.

Room Tip: Main unit if you like company, upstairs apartment if you like more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isaac O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Great hostel with the best location you can imagine to explore Mitzpe Ramon - 5 minutes from the viewpoints with great view both for sunset and sunrise. You also could go inside the crater and do some tracking there - ask in the hostel for the map with different routes. Although it is not free, like a lot of other staff in the hostel- for example, towels, internet, breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randoua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Yoash and Lee are so warm and they know the area really well. They gave us snacks, coffee, milk, and hot cocoa free of charge. The breakfast was only 10 NIS. The place feels so homey and has great activities. I recommend the star gazing tour by Ira. The decor was also fun and interesting.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with a friend in September and loved it. It is a very chilled out and relaxed hostel - with a very homely feel I have not found in any other hostel. The owners, Lee and Yoash, are very helpful and have vast knowledge of the area. We hiked with some other people staying at the hostel. Everyone was friendly
There were various evening activities which were all really enjoyable - a sunset walk followed by a vegan dinner and an evening with a local Bedouin. We also enjoyed some lovely cocktails made by Yoash!
A hike through Maktesh Ramon is well worth it during a trip to Israel! This hostel is perfectly situated for hiking and also for chilling out afterwards - we came back after our hike, napped, made some lunch and watched Into the Wild.
The staff at the hostel gave us a helpful map and told us about the area when we arrived - this included telling us about the Industrial Area which is a must during a stay in Mitzpe Ramon. We spent an afternoon there having coffee and browsing the shops and art studios.
Breakfast isn't included in the price, but if you arrive without having had a chance to buy any food there are some breakfast supplies and a jam jar for contributions.
The only minor downside was that our dorm room was a little bit cramped (but this was in part due to some other travellers, one of whom had at least fifteen pairs of shoes with her!!)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Lee and Yoash are such kind, generous, authentic people who really give this place the 5 star rating it deserves. They welcomed me in with delicious food, warm smiles, great conversation, and turned my previously bad day upside down. They are good people who believe in the goodness of other people, making this a place you can trust. In the hostel, there are maps and tips for hiking...the whole vibe flows with a true love of nature. The location is also right below the beautiful camel mountain, making sunset-viewing extra convenient! Everything is so clean, intimate, and homey, with the right mix of travelers -- just the vibe I was looking for! This is definitely a place I would come back to time and time again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jubree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mitspe Ramon hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramon Suites Hotel
Ramon Suites Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mitzpe Ramon Guest House
Mitzpe Ramon Guest House
#5 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
33 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beresheet
Beresheet
#1 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Isrotel Ramon Inn
Isrotel Ramon Inn
#4 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silent Arrow
Silent Arrow
#7 of 18 in Mitspe Ramon
102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alpaca Farm
Alpaca Farm
#2 of 18 in Mitspe Ramon
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Backpackers

Address: Nahal Sirpad 2/2, Mitspe Ramon 8060000, Israel
Location: Israel > Southern District > Mitspe Ramon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Mitspe Ramon
Price Range: $49 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for vibrant homebase for your journey in the desert?Looking for a fun, clean and comfortable place to call home for a while? Then 'The Green Backpackers' is the place for you.The Green Backpackers offers two dorm rooms and one double, a fully equipped kitchen, a welcoming and warm living room, fresh linens, internet, laundry, full range of DVD's and most importantly - outdoor activities from hiking & backpacking to horseback riding and repelling- all is right outside our doorsteps. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Backpackers Israel/Mitspe Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing