We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't imagine a better place to stay in Mitspe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Green Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Can't imagine a better place to stay in Mitspe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Even though I had a hard time finding the place (afterwards I saw that they have give excellent instructions on their homepage, so go for that!), I felt at home immediately when I arrived.
You actually can't really tell who belongs to the staff and who doesn't, which imo gives the atmosphere another extra shot of cozyness. The kitchen is amazing and invites you to cook with other people, everything was clean and tidy and invites you to stay longer than planned.
Needless to say that the location is awesome as well - you reach the "sitting camel", an observation deck, as well as the promenade along the crater in less than ten minutes, while a small café and supermarket are also nearby.
Recommendable without any confinements! Thanks for an awesome stay!

Room Tip: Just be lucky and don't arrive at a time when the hostel is fully packed.. but you never know th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charmineee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    31
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
75
105
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I went there to spend two weeks in total loneliness and it was perfectly fit for it, although all the staff and also the other guests were so kind and nice, a really friendly, a real place for backpackers, so I suggest it to everyone who visits the city, and me too I want to go back again to be more friendly! :)

Room Tip: They have two buildings, or actually there are separated room in an other building a few steps from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zsoozsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I had the distinct honor and pleasure of being the first guest at the new hostel! Although when I arrived it still looked like a construction site, within a few minutes I felt at home (and within a few hours a beautiful new hostel was born).

The kitchen is fully equipped, the living room is well-kept while also feeling very traverl-ish, and the porch, well, you can't get much better than that. Catch a beautiful sunset (or meteor shower) without going very far.

The volunteer staff, Lee, and Yoash were fun, nice, friendly, helpful, smiling, and any other positive adjective you can think of.

Plus, the interior design is simply awesome (toothpaste handles?!? your dentist would approve).

Room Tip: The dorm room on the right has direct sun in the morning. If you need darkness, you're better of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devora L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Living in this hostel, feels like living speding time with family, without the boring parts that you usually experience with your real family back at home. I never experienced this before in a hostel, and was definately not expecting it when comming here. The green backpackers is really small place, and of course, this adds to the personalized feeling you'll get here. Makhtesh Ramon is basicly just a big pit in the ground in the middle of nowhere-desert, and getting of the bus, gives you the feeling of, where the hell am I, at least if you were born in a city. But spending time here actually provides you with a often well needed catharsis-like pause from Sin city/conflict Jerusalem/playaplaya Eilat, and in a strange way leaves you feeling a bit more human again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Staffan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Awesome hostel, newly renovated, clean, spacious, rooms and facilities. New, very creative, unusual, and really cool (and functional), interior design ( I am not spoiling it for you :) ). Really cozy common areas, good comfy beds, great wifi.
Couldn't ask for a better location, close to pub/restaurant and the main attraction. And staff is superb! Really cool people, great personality, very attentive, told us all about Mitzpe Ramon, where to go, what to see, where to go after. I can't recommend highly enough. Definitely would go there again. Oh an excellent value too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rapius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
369 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I recently stayed at The Green Backpackers with 4 friends. It was wonderful! Despite my uncertainty, it was very easy to get to (about 500 feet away from the bus stop) in Mitspe Ramon. Although the owners were out of the country (actually in the US), the lovely couple that was running it for them couldn't have been nicer. They were both tour guides, so they gave us a ton of information about the crater and the surrounding area. I shared one of the private rooms with my friend, while my three guy friends stayed in one of the dorm rooms. You can't beat the price! I felt like I was right at home at The Green Backpackers. My bed was extremely comfortable, and the building couldn't have been cleaner. Additionally, the hostel was just a minute away from the breathtaking crater that the town is known for. I would love to visit Mitspe Ramon again, and if I do I will definitely be staying at The Green Backpackers!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laysadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Green Backpackers is a great place to stay at. It's clean, it has a great location, right next to the cliff above the Ramon crater, a great base for beautiful hikes in the desert, with 2 trailheads 10 minutes walk away, and an easy walk into the crater (or easy hitchhiking/driving if you want to get further away). But the best thing is the atmosphere - it's like the home you always wanted to have in the desert, quiet, cozy, everything is relaxed and laid back, beautiful design of the rooms and the recycled furniture. You can always meet interesting people in the living room, or enjoy the desert wind in the afternoon in the yard, with a cold beer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mitspe Ramon hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramon Suites Hotel
Ramon Suites Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beresheet Hotel by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
0.3 mi away
Mitzpe Ramon Guest House
Mitzpe Ramon Guest House
#5 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Isrotel Ramon Inn
Isrotel Ramon Inn
#4 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silent Arrow
Silent Arrow
#7 of 18 in Mitspe Ramon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.1 mi away
iBex (iBike) Unique Desert Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Backpackers

Property: The Green Backpackers
Address: Nahal Sirpad 2/2, Mitspe Ramon 8060000, Israel
Location: Israel > Southern District > Mitspe Ramon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Mitspe Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for vibrant homebase for your journey in the desert?Looking for a fun, clean and comfortable place to call home for a while? Then 'The Green Backpackers' is the place for you.The Green Backpackers offers two dorm rooms and one double, a fully equipped kitchen, a welcoming and warm living room, fresh linens, internet, laundry, full range of DVD's and most importantly - outdoor activities from hiking & backpacking to horseback riding and repelling- all is right outside our doorsteps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Green Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Backpackers Israel/Mitspe Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing