We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“two and a half star maximum rating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramon Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramon Suites Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mitspe Ramon
Certificate of Excellence
ct
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“two and a half star maximum rating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

This is somewhere between a best western and hampton inn. The room is simple and clean. Very drafty in the winter, so beware that the wall heater keeps the upper half of the room warm, but the lower half is cold from the air coming in under the door. The sheets are the thinnest I have ever seen. You can actually see the striped matress through the bottom sheet. However, they do appear to be clean. The people at reception are friendly enough, but some are argumentative at times. There is no elevator. Couldn't use the heater in the bathroom because it tripped the breaker and lost all the power to the room. Called reception and was told to go out to the breaker box in the stairwell and flip the breaker myself, which I did. The Ramon crater itself is spectacular as is the wildlife. If you are here on Friday through Saturday it can be difficult to find a decent restaurant that is open. On Shabbat, the only place to get expresso coffee and cappucino is at the gas station, which we did and brought it back to the hotel. Beware that the restaurant prices are very expensive, as are the hotels, including this one, for what you get.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nonamect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    110
    28
    14
    3
See reviews for
154
91
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

One thing that tends to ruin family vacations for my crew is being squished into a small space together where we are tripping over each other, so finding affordable accommodations for our Israel trip was a challenge. Even "family suites" in many hotels seem to be designed to accommodate a couple and two small children who can share a double bed. My children are full-sized people. The Ramon Suites (also called the Ramon Hotel, if you're looking for their website) was a good choice for us because they have very large rooms that are set up for larger families. Our suite had one room with what I think was a queen bed (or two twins pushed together?) and one room with two twin beds separate from one another. In addition, we had sleeping space in the living room should my daughters have decided they didn't even want to share the room. There was a kitchen with a dining table, sink, cabinets, and refrigerator, but I must note that there were no shelves in the fridge and the kitchen lacked glasses/cups, etc. However, we were just there for one night and it wasn't an issue. We paid $350/night during the last week of December, which I understand to be high season.

The toilet was in a separate room from the tub/sink, which is a nice setup when sharing with several people.

There was a strip of shops within walking distance, including a cafe, pizzeria, and a general store.

Breakfast was very nice, with both savory items and a nice spread of sweets. However, only instant coffee was available (this seemed to be the rule rather than the exception in our travels).

We found the staff to be very helpful, helping us find a last-minute guide to tour the crater with us when our previous plans fell through.

One negative was that the hotel is not set up to store luggage after check-out time. They let us leave our luggage in the room (all packed up and moved to one side, to be out of the cleaning staff's way) for an hour past checkout, but if we'd booked a longer crater tour, we would have had no choice to leave luggage in the car (which didn't have a trunk).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schlimazel_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

This is a situation where the reality was better than the photos. Our experience in Israel in general is that you do not really get good value for what you pay for, at least in the lower end of pricing. This hotel exceeded our expectations. The room was very large for Israel standards, and had a nice kitchen with IKEA type dishes etc. Fridge and micro. The service was excellent and the breakfast was really superb. If you are hiking in Mitzpe Ramon and are interested in creature comforts for a reasonable price. I would recommend Ramon Suites (we got a really good deal online)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Broudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

The hotel is beautiful, the service is professional, and the manager Mr Eisener, made us feel extremely welcome and made sure our trip was a great one. I definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a clean, very nicely designed place to relax as you tour around the beautiful mitzpe Ramon area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank len0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haifa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed at this hotel and at bereshit. The ramon suites is significantly cheaper than Bereshit, the food is just as good, the service is probably better, and if you are willing to walk to the crater to see it rather than have a view from your room, you're better off staying at the Ramon Suites... unless money is not an issue.

The dinner and breakfast buffet is really delicious. The lobby is comfortable and coozy. It's a great family place as the rooms are all suites with two rooms, living, dinning space and kitchenette.

If traveling with kids definitely stay here over Bereshit. If looking for a romantic getaway and paying triple isn't the end of the world, go for Bereshit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank haifadrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Who would have thought that a small hotel in Mitzpe Rimon would be so awesome. As soon as we entered, the manager, Yochai Eisner, welcomed us with a friendly smile. Immediately he upgraded us to a suite with 2 bedrooms, a balcony, full kitchen and living rooms. Plenty of space for a family of 6. He assured us this is the best hotel in mitzpe and he was right. Everything was super clean. Breakfast which is included in the room price was exceptional. Everything we wanted: fresh eggs, cheeses, natural yogurts, cereals, fresh juice, salads and much more. Healthy and delicious, the best of israel's foods. Plus fresh mini cheese cake for dessert! I originally meant to book rimon inn but came here by mistake. But we are very fortunate we made this error. We stopped by the other hotel it was nice but no comparison. Also, after we left, he called our next hotel in Tel Aviv and had us upgraded to a larger room for free. He went above and beyong to make us feel welcome and we had a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NJmom4CentralNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We enjoyed the warm welcome and surprisingly comfortable, well-equipped studio suite at this hotel. English-speaking General Manager Yochai Eisner treats his guests like members of the family. The well-maintained hotel and ample parking area are attractively landscaped, especially appreciated in this sandy setting. We enjoyed watching ibex calmly stroll along nearby streets. A block away is a viewpoint for the Ramon Crater. The dinner (extra) and breakfast are ample, with a few creative touches. It's breezy and cool at night and we slept without air conditioning. An especially good value using a discount coupon.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so request a ground-floor room if you do not wish to climb steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WebWizards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mitspe Ramon hotels
0.5 mi away
Beresheet Hotel by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
0.4 mi away
Isrotel Ramon Inn
Isrotel Ramon Inn
#4 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mitzpe Ramon Guest House
Mitzpe Ramon Guest House
#5 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Silent Arrow
Silent Arrow
#7 of 18 in Mitspe Ramon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Green Backpackers
The Green Backpackers
#1 of 18 in Mitspe Ramon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.0 mi away
iBex (iBike) Unique Desert Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramon Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramon Suites Hotel

Property: Ramon Suites Hotel
Address: 8 Nakhal Meishar, Mitspe Ramon 8060000, Israel
Location: Israel > Southern District > Mitspe Ramon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mitspe Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramon Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Negev, only a few steps from the Ramon Crater, stands the new Ramon Suites Hotel. 34 Highly equipped spacious rooms, discover the ultimate desert experience with the best accommodation in town! Wireless internet access and laptop free of charge available! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ramon Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramon Suites Hotel Israel/Mitspe Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing