We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too expensive, not much of an atmosphere”
Review of Silent Arrow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silent Arrow
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We visited Israel during the summer of 2010 and wanted a relief from the usual Hotel and Hostels. So, I figured, in the south, we would try something else.
We also paid 240 NIS for 2, and figured that we should get a different experience. It wasn't an experience that we enjoyed.
The place is right outside the small city of Mitzpe Ramon, not enough for me to really feel like I'm "in" the desert. The 2 care givers were ok, and pretty much kept to themselves.
The biggest problem were the bathrooms. Basically, not enough. Even though there were at least 2, the care givers didn't want to open the 2nd bathroom. That left 6 people competing for one bathroom which also had the one shower. In the morning, and in the evening, this became a real problem. And, even though we asked nicely several times, they didn't open the 2nd bathroom.
The end result, and I'm sure we weren't the only ones, we did our business outside of the camp, some meters off to the side. I can't imagine what the situation is like when a bigger group is hosted .
The evening itself was mared by Israeli army helicopters' exercise which made the "desert quiet" into a real noisy quagmire. Not the fault of the camp, but that is what happened.
We will not go back to this place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carmi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 102 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2010

It is basically a tent camp so the accommodation is basic but all the essentials are in place: clean, comfortable showers and toilets, functional kitchen (though as there's no electricity, there's no fridge), and welcoming, helpful hosts. Also, though the Negev can be scorching hot during the day, it cools down at night so one can get very good sleep. Silent Arrow was a lovely base for hiking around the little town and the crater. The place has the atmosphere of a desert station so it's easy to meet people, chat or team up for longer hikes. The camp was the perfect desert accommodation and I definitely intend to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2008

Highly recommended by Lonely Planet, this is one place that I cannot heartily recommend. I was looking to camp out in the desert (aware of the absence of amenities like electricity). I, too, wanted a "magical" place to stargaze, and cuddle with my sweetie in a cosy private tent. But too many things bothered me in retrospect, considering the price we paid and the quality we got (240 shekels for 2 persons per night - equivalent to 50 euros, no breakfast.) Payment is cash only, payable upon check- in.

Yes, I know a camp is not a hotel, and there are tents and tents and camps and camps at a whole range of prices, but I expected the infrastructure here and overall look and feel to be better (cleanliness, quality of tents), considering what we paid. Obviously, nothing is invested here in the true alternative spirit. Since I knew that the bedding offered might not be clean (or questionable, which it was) we brought own bedding, and I was happy we did. (I am not one of those people who will use pillows, mattresses, sheets, sleeping bags which have been used by whoever for who knows what. )

First off, booking by phone was easy, done at the last minute, considering it was the low season. The turn off to the camp is rocky, so drive slow, esp. at night. Our welcome was very friendly. Dror's "assistant" (Zev?), who lives on the property was so nice and friendly and made us a delicious tea with fresh herbs upon arrival.

I can imagine that for certain people this place could be "magical", indeed, but it was not for me, though certainly a very unique, "interesting" experience just to determine that alternative accommodations in this style at that price is not for me. I can imagine that for a group of friends, staying in the Bedouin-style tent, drinking beer and playing guitar around a campfire, brushing their teeth (hopefully) and using the WC by candlelight (more about that later), it could be a real great time. For $16 for a dorm tent bed, it may be worth it, who knows.

Upon getting out of the car and entering the compound, I thought it looked like something out of Mad Max: dried palm leaf fencing, gravel, tents and structures put together out of remnants and old junk.
The website pics do not really convey the look of the place in the stark light of day. By candlelight and after 3 beers with friends, I'm sure the place could grow on you.

The lounge area tent is "shabby alternative sheik" with emphasis on the shabby: ripped furniture, although with a certain ratty charm (ie. tiny old woodburning oven, cute old kettles, rugs placed on gravel floor, candles in old jars at night). While sipping my tea on an ottoman, I saw a little mouse go into its nest under one of the sofa frames (during the day)..I guess mice must like it here .

Once I started actually looking at things, I quickly realized I just wanted to stay one night maximum (in any care, the town of Mitzpe Ramon is so sleepy, after visiting the canyons and crater, there is not much to do. Your best bet for any sort of restaurants, "entertainment" and handicraft shopping is the industrial zone before the entrance to town).
All in all, the Silent Arrow was for me too alternative with questionable hygiene. Lonely Planet claims that the "shared bathroom and kitchen" are incredibly clean. Well, the kitchen did not look outright icky, for making tea I am sure it was fine. The shower, WC area has no lights at night, just candles. The showers had very hot water, which was great (bring your own towels and soap, obviously). However, if several guests are around (a large group 15+ was expected right after we left), it is impossible for the communal WC to remain clean. I do not want to describe the toilet we glimpsed later after we returned from visiting the crater...since there is no maid around and the assistant is not on toilet-cleaning duty, and its impossible to control the fact that some people are too ignorant to clean up after their business, I doubt the state of "incredibly clean" could last for very long.

Now, to our tent: There were 3 private tents available outside the compound fence, our was called "Kingdom", right next to "Freedom". The tents looked totally ratty, cobbled together from scraps of this and that (not a standard, modern nylon tent with enclosed floor and zippered flaps) I had in a way naively expected a more modern tent at that price. But even a rustic tent could have been warmer and of better quality material. (I guess authentic Bedouin means really old, ratty and barely patched up). We brought lots of candles and flashlight (recommended) The tent material included white bedsheets and bandanas (it was cold that night, so we had to bundle up) and was setup on a gravel base with larger rocks around the outside to keep desert life out. The entrance door bedsheet flaps can easily open up in the wind, so wedge them in tight before you tuck yourself in for the night.

All in all, for a much cheaper price I would have been ok with the overall experience. If some of the things were improved and a tad more money was invested in the amenities such as tent quality, maybe adding some solar panels for lights and replacing some of the ratty furniture, I would consider spending my money here and giving this place a better rating than I do presently.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Ingrid_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank EricSer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank ravit_jupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: אם מגיעים עם חברים לבקש מראש שימקמו אתכם באותו אוהל.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank רונה ח
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank kaplinsky2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mitspe Ramon hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramon Suites Hotel
Ramon Suites Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
372 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mitzpe Ramon Guest House
Mitzpe Ramon Guest House
#5 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Isrotel Ramon Inn
Isrotel Ramon Inn
#4 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beresheet
Beresheet
#1 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
1,147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Desert Shade
Desert Shade
#10 of 18 in Mitspe Ramon
61 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mati and Roni's Desert GuestHouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silent Arrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silent Arrow

Address: Mitspe Ramon 80600, Israel
Location: Israel > Southern District > Mitspe Ramon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Mitspe Ramon
Price Range: $25 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the cliff of Machtesh Ramon, About 900 Meters above sea level, The Silent Arrow Desert Lodge invites you all to breath the coolest desert air and enjoy the inspiration of the desert. For reasons of atmosphere and quality of life, the site is not connected to the electricity grid. We use solar lamps at night time to engage softly with the moon and star light. You are provided with shower and restroom facilities. There is always hot water for showering, which we recycle to water our garden. You are provided with a selfservice common kitchen that is accessorized, clean and tidy (no refrigerator). Free coffee and tea are provided. The site includes a sitting area for you to relax and enjoy the desert landscape. You can light a fire, prepare a potjiekos stew or make a barbecue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Silent Arrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silent Arrow Israel/Mitspe Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing