We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of Malek-o Tojjar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yazd
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malek-o Tojjar
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Yazd
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We loved Yazd and this hotel oozes with character and charm, especially compered to most of the hotels we stayed in Iran. Attention to detail could be a bit better but it didn't spoil the experience and we just put it down to that fact that there still aren't that many international tourists coming here. One day maybe that will change...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prufreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 78 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed 3 nights whilst in Yazd. Our first room was minute & only 1 light worked - so a complaint saw us moved to a much larger/loftier room (435). Attention to detail is lacking: used tissue & ring pull from drink can was still on ledge, bathroom plughole hadn't been replaced. Woken at 6am on our first morning by a staffer knocking on hotel door to be let in!! We found out that this happened every morning. Then discovered that the a/c didn't work - & the room was stuffy.The room had only one small window which we didn't want to open because it let in mosquitoes! Considering that the tariff was IRR1,550,000, breakfast was a pretty mediocre affair, we actually had to ask for eggs! Dinner was nice but not memorable. The staff were helpful & pleasant. Position-wise, it is coveniently located in the bazaar. However, I would not stay here because of the price & the lack of maintenance. Management has a long way to go here.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 435 unless you want to wake up at 6am every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Enjoyed our stay in this historical place. Was happy to see it was cleaner than some ''better'' hotels we have stayed at in other cities. Especially liked the buffet dinner we had, that made memories ! Keep the cook !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globetrotter58_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

This is a beautifully restored 200 year old building with a gorgeous courtyard housing one of the best restaurants in town. Central location (15 min walk from Jameh mosque), good heating and boiling hot water, decent service (we got some special attention being the only foreign guests) by the English speaking staff and great atmosphere. So far so good. The downside is the noise in the rooms which all surround the courtyard, ie restaurant, and until the restaurant closes and they switch off the music you are exposed to unwanted entertainment. On our 1st day there was a large Iranian group turning the restaurant into some kind of disco and after complaining at 23:30h the music stopped.....until they started singing. Another complaint later we finally found some much needed peace and quiet around midnight. Most, if not all, historical hotels in Iran have rooms surrounding the courtyard, ie your sleep always depends on the noise levels within the courtyard which is usually used for socialising and entertainment. The other negative thing is the size of the rooms, at least the singles, which are tiny - although compared to the size of the bathrooms the room then appears huge. I don't think I ever had a bathroom as tiny (that's still an understatement!) as the one at Malek-o-Tojjar, but since it's a historic building not designed as a hotel it didn't really bother me too much. The lack of ventilation in the bathroom caused quite some smell of damp in my mum's room though. I had a look into some of the double rooms and they seemed decently sized, and with all rooms presumably different I guess it's a question of luck what size of room you and up with. The overall room amenities where good though, including a full size fridge, hair dryer, free Wifi, toothbrushes etc.. The hotel is a little overpriced but the great atmosphere, especially eating or sipping tea in the courtyard, made up for all shortcomings.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globetrotter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Being in Malek-ol-Tojar you have to remember that your are in a very old historical house which is converted to a HOSTEL (NOT HOTEL). During the time i was there, it was semi closed and only 3 rooms were occupied because the guy told us that the hotel is under renovation. But i personally think that this is because the owner has opened another hotel which is larger and most of staffs and facilities had been brought to another hotel.

HOTEL's building is fantastic. A very old historical building with all those very old painting and decorations and a lovely courtyard with pool at the center of hotel. All rooms surrounding this courtyard. The hotel is located in an old historical Bazaar in the middle of YAZD Historical area. This means that this a great location for exploring the beauties of YAZD. All main YAZD historical attractions are in walking distance.

FOOD is fantastic here. Only local foods are served in this hotel which are cooked by a housewife who is living in a house next to the hotel. So you can imagine that this local home made food has its original taste and flavor.

STAFFS are not really staffs. Because they are only some guys who keep this hotel running and they easily become friends with you and even join you for smoking shisha during nigh and talk with you and play cards with you. There is guy who is the receptionist, restaurant server and captain, cashier and hotel manager in the same time and he with his friends stays in this hotel at nights. He is really friendly and he speaks good English.

Because this hotel was semi closed, there were not many guests in this hotel and it was completely quiet. You sometimes thought that you are in your own home. And we were be able to get good discount.

ROOMS are really small because they are in their original conditions of many years ago. Beds are a little beat uncomfortable. But rooms are lovely because they have historical paintings and windows with colorful little glasses in Iranian style. They have no facilities because this hotel is really more like a hostel than hotel. I even heard that this hotel has some rooms with shared beds.

BATHROOMS are really really small which you even can not turn in it. I always preferred to use share bathrooms down floor because they were large and because the hotel has only 2-3 guests at all it was like private bathrooms.

They have no room service and every thing is served in courtyard which is just behind your room door.

There is no internet connection in this hotel.

This hotel is really beautiful and lovely and i am sure that every body enjoys staying in this hotel. FOOD is marvelous and i am quite sure that you can not find this home made food anywhere else in Yazd. But this hotel is truly old and without facilities for comfort and entertainment.

Nothing in this hotel is Modern and you can not find anything modern in it.

This hotel because locating in Bazar, has no parking and you have to walk for 2-3 minutes in the Bazar to reach to the nearest street for Taxi. Closet pay-parking is in a 10 minutes walking distance to this hotel.

This hotel has a very very very good value of Money for budget travelers and it is highly recommended for travelers who do not need modern facilities and comfort.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shahab P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

We stayed here, having read the reviews here and in Lonely Plant. Disappointingly it was semi-closed as they decide if they want to renovate it. The owner, when he found out we were there, transferred us to the sister hotel the Meyr which was lovely and what we had expected at Malek.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelEverywhere6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

What I loved about it was its various and delicious local food... The price is completely reasonable. It was a merchant house and rooms have really nice paintings and mirror works.
Do not forget to take a look at the city from its roof, specially at night!

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ranadp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Malek-o Tojjar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malek-o Tojjar

Address: Panjeh-ali Bazaar, Yazd, Iran
Location: Iran > Yazd Province > Yazd
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Yazd
Also Known As:
Malek o Tojjar Yazd

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing