We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dad Hotel
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveler rating
120
170
73
11
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
170
73
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelswimming poolalternate daysfree in room wifirooftop restaurantfour star hotelbeautiful architecturebeautiful at nighttour grouproom was largemajor sitesmini barother hotelsiranian standardsair conditioningbusiness tripstayed for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 383 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I spent two nights here in April 2013. I liked the Dad a lot, and would happily stay here again. By Iranian standards I thought this hotel was quite good, and my “star” rating is based on Iranian standards.

Positives.
- The hotel has a nice courtyard with lots of seating, and good views over the city from the outdoor rooftop terrace.
- The hot water termperature and pressure in the shower was excellent.
- The bed was comfy, not too firm or too soft for me.
- The room was large and very clean.
- The lentil soup at the breakfast buffet here was particularly good, as was the halvah, which was of the Yazd type - soft and almost peanut-buttery in consistency. (I loved the lentil soup in Iran and had it for breakfast whenever it was available - the soup here was one of the best I had on the entire trip.)
- The hotel’s location is good, within walking distance of the old town.
- There’s a postal facility, at which you can buy stamps and send mail, right across the street.

Negatives/other factors.
- The rooms open to the outside rather than to an interior hall, and there was a fair amount of noise from people passing back and forth. Because the windows also open to this outer area (at least on the ground floor, where my room was), I had to keep the curtains drawn to keep people from being able to see in.
- In April, the AC wasn’t functioning, and because of the windows situation, I couldn’t leave the curtains open. This made for hot sleeping conditions, which I don’t enjoy.
- There was a VERY LOUD call to prayer at 5 AM.
- The plumbing kind of had to be coaxed, but eventually worked well enough.
- The lights by and above the bed were quite weak - not really bright enough to read by.


For me the positives definitely outweighed the negatives, and I would stay here again if I returned to Yazd.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank velevele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Writing this from the free internet station at the lobby of this hotel (connection quite fast). The hotel is absolutely charming and quaint, particularly with the courtyard (whether viewed in day time or in evening). Our room is a double room which faces the courtyard, and everything inside the room is in order. The furnishings inside the bathroom are very well maintained. Mattress relatively hard/solid so comfortable, but the pillow seems to be too high. As mentioned with earlier posts, the a/c does not seem to be working, which is really not a big problem anyway as it cools down in the evenings. There is no in-room safe and guests are asked to leave their passports at Reception until they check out. No free water or kettle either, but you can get water cheap for IRR 5,000 per 1.5L bottle at one of the takeaway food places nearby. Breakfast is somewhat basic in the sense that you don't get fruits, other than tomatoes, cucumber (not a fruit) and sweet dates. However, managed to buy some strawberries and oranges in one of the fruit stands on the way to/from Old Town proper. Had dinner in the courtyard al fresco last evening and that itself was an experience. Some of the staff members speak very good English, others not so well, but everybody (including the cleaning staff) puts on a big smile and will try their best to make your stay comfortable. Been reading about the swimming pool in the basement however the actual door to the pool seems to be locked. Not sure if it is still in operation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zhaobao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

In Yazd I have been in four different places and so far Dad is my favorite. The front entrance and lobby are not impressive but the inner courtyard is pleasant but, not particularly charming, the 'renovation' left very little of the original structure. Rooms are very spacious, clean and quiet, at the ground floor the ceiling is very high and make rooms very cool in summer, at the first floor the ceiling is lower making the rooms more cozy but also hot in summer. The service is good and staff very kind. The location is very central, at a walking distance from the bazar and major attractions. The atmosphere is fine but, not the most exciting for travelers looking for people to exchange information and tips. Despite the many 'bat' this is still my favorite place in Yazd.

Room Tip: Ground floor in summer, first floor in winter
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AleATrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This spiring me and my husband travel to yazd and we had a room in dad hotel for 3days at first it was nice but always bad smell comes from yard and in hot weather of yazd thair air conditioner didnt work and at last day we found a mouse in our room it was trrible

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maukh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The room were OK and clean. Bathroom OK, breakfast and dinner Ok. It was hot and no aircondition. We tried to sleep with window open to the hall, but the room were not cooled down. The coartyard are fantastic. You can sit in the sun or in the shadow

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank 274856Tone43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews