We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel. Nasty Treatment to Tourist”
Review of Dad Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yazd
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dad Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Yazd
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel. Nasty Treatment to Tourist”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Hotel grand beautiful and charming especially at night. Room spacious and nicely decorated. Buffet breakfast limited choice. I should have given it rating 5 if there not happened the following.

Our group of 33 people stayed here for 2 nights. A few rooms given are very poor, believe they're targeted at tour guide or driver but not for guests/tourists. Those rooms are very tiny and basic, no bath tube like the rest but a shower over the toilet seat. After we demanded for a change, we were given the normal rooms. I found this kind of treatment not graceful. Well, I understand that possibly our rate being group rate may be lower than other individual guests, but I think this should not be an excuse.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissHK2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    137
    57
    9
    7
See reviews for
53
85
38
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
napoli
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel is very nice, with very large rooms and a good breakfast. The service is OK, and more or less everything is fine. Maybe the only problem is that it is not very close to the “typical” spots (Jameh Mosque, Amir Chaghmagh building) but, considering the cost of taxis, this is not a real issue. I strongly recommend it, even though Yazd is supposedly full of (cozier) traditional hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francesco-1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Hotel is situated in central area, 10-15 min walk from old city medina.
Rooms are very clean and big, warm in winter nights.
Inner courtyard looks great.
It is peaceful and staff members are nice.
Breakfast is OK, but with limited choice of food.
No elevator.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Vekiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Not only is Yadz a wonderful and beautiful city, but staying at the Dad hotel is a real treat. They have free internet in the lobby and the rooms are large, clean and have super comfortable beds. For those who require, there is underground parking but it is within walking distance of all the sites as well. The staff are kind and speak excellent English.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The street entrance of this hotel is not imposing but the courtyard makes up for that. The foyer has none of the glam of other "4 star" hotels in Iran but it felt homey and more like a old colonial hotel in Asia -quiet and with comfy leather chairs, iranian english newspaper, and embroidery displays on the walls. The open courtyard is lovely. I had one of the corner rooms mentioned in a previous review and yes it was overheated ( like all iranian hotels) and no view. I managed to turn off all in room heating and keep the window open until I was ready to sleep but even then I had to sleep in minimal clothing with only the top sheet as cover despite the fact it was minus 4 degrees outside. The room was large with two comfortable double beds, wardrobe, comfy chair, small writing desk and coffee table. TV had 2 English language channels, one news and one movies. No kettle so no early morning coffee for me. One power point in the room and one in the bathroom. The bathroom had the usual Iranian toiletries and toothbrush but the bath was a very high step from the floor- about half a metre. The room and bathroom were very clean. Breakfast was the usual Iranian fare with instant coffee.

Staff were pleasant enough but as elsewhere, and presumably due to the different culture, few go out of their way to interact with you . I suspect it is up to the visitor to initiate conversation although functional English was not spoken except by reception staff. Cannot comment on cost as accommodation paid by Iranian travel agency. Same with location as I was picked up each day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bindip61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Actually i had project in Yazd and i have been there so many times, first i want to say the stafs are very kindness and you find there comfurtubale because of this , rooms are big and enough clean .if you chose the first floor it has good in sight sings of the inner garden . People sets outside to have coffe and tea . Breakfast is also good but better to find some resturants in the city to have lunch and dinner . Hotel is located in the hart of city wich can let you go around to see this beutiful clave city by feets .

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artabaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Pros:
Nice sized rooms
Beautiful courtyard
Bathtub
Free wifi
Nice staff

Cons:
Warm rooms
Location is okay, not great.
Rooms slightly dated, but perfectly fine.

I would venture this is as good as it gets in Yazd. I was very pleased.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcb193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dad Hotel

Property: Dad Hotel
Address: 241 | 10th Farvardin Ave, Yazd 8913875639, Iran
Location: Iran > Yazd Province > Yazd
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Yazd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dad Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the second ancient city in the world with more than 3000 years history, Dad Hotel enjoys a privileged position to main tourist attractions including Zoroastrians' Fire Temple and Amir Chakhmagh Complex. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
International Hotel Yazd

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing