We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yazd
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Traditional Kohan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Yazd
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The location of the hotel is in the Yazd ancient city which by itself is not easy to manoeuver. To walk out from the hotel to the main entrance of the mosque is 10mins walk in the alleyway. If your sense of direction is poor, this is not the hotel for you.

The hotel itself has a nice courtyard where you can sit down and enjoy your tea (self serve - complimentary). Watch out for mozzies in the evening.

Mine is a single room, small in size but with attached bathroom. There is a tv (Iranian tv program only) and a fridge.

Breakfast is simple. Tea/Coffee, bread – with butter and jam and hard boiled eggs.

Internet is free but not reliable at all. Most of the time it is not working or , I need to go to the lobby to gain access to the internet.

You can get a good view of Yazd from the roof top.

At the time of my visit, the restaurant was closed for renovation but the hotel kitchen is open for business. I ate in the hotel for my duration of my stay here (2 nights). Food is reasonable.

Service is friendly and helpful and staff do speak good English

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hwt61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    106
    56
    10
    6
See reviews for
29
97
56
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Kohan Traditional Hotel has a beautiful garden that, when we were there, was ablaze with blooming flowers. They also have a 'night smell' flower that, true to its name, puts out a glorious smell at night. Location is excellent, and the staff were very friendly. Good wifi in the garden and lobby (though not in the rooms.) The rooms themselves are (a bit unfortunately) very basic. Just a bed, night stand and mirror, and toilet (with western and squat in the same room.) And the floor, walls, etc could certainly use a makeover. But having said that, they were clean, and it was all you needed. And at the price they offered, you can't really complain.

BTW we did pop into Silk Road Hotel for lunch and were very happy we stayed at Kohan! Silk Road is quite nice too... But their garden is no where near as lovely. And wait till you smell their toilets!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mintaka1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouarzazate, Morocco
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. I got a double bed with my girlfriend. Very friendly staff - talkative and interesting women. Buffet breakfast as very good. The hotel is located inside a traditional ancient Iranian house. Somehow I had a strange encounter with a crazy guy outside the hotel, a street guide which was very rude to me, but he doesn't work in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joaoleitao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Kohan hotel, which is located right in the middle of the old city of Yazd, is beautifully decorated. The lobby and courtyard are a delight, and you can spend hours drinking tea and relaxing on the loungebeds. Breakfast is adequate, with bread, jam, cheese, tomato and cucumber. Sometimes eggs are served as well.

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Some English is spoken. Good tips about drivers and they can arrange bus and train tickets.

The rooms are quite basic and lack any of the traditional decorations of the rest of the hotel. A missed opportunity! Maintenance in the room was poor, but the rooms are clean and they have a tv (only iranian channels, poor reception) and airco. There's a fridge as well.

That said, the Kohan is excellent value for money. I paid 250.000 IRR for a room and the dorms are from 100.000. This includes breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaskiaVingerling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed in this beautiful traditional courtyard hotel while in Yazd. I had the 14 bed ensuite dormitory for the same price as Silk Road hotel dormitory, but with fridge, breakfast, TV, wifi in the lobby, a gorgeous balcony overlooking the courtyard and aircon.

All the reception staff were very nice and helpful, the daughter of the owner in particular, helped me to call the bus station for a number of bus schedules and let me leave my luggage there for free while I was away in Fahraj.

I also got to climb up to the roof top and have a nice view of the Yazd old town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vonin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.The staff were friendly and very helpful continually creating a welcoming atmosphere. Our room was small but adequate and the bathroom clean with good towels and hot water. The courtyard was very relaxing and made extra inviting by the constant availability of hot tea. It was fun to mingle here with Iranian and foreign guests.The food cooked by the inhouse restaurant was superb and very reasonably priced.
The hotel is in a wonderful location with lots of places to visit nearby.We would definitely return to this hotel if lucky enough to make another visit to Iran.

Room Tip: Rooms leading off the courtyard are very appealing but there are other rooms too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wonderfulworld159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed here for four nights in a twin bedroom with ensuite. The lady at reception was kind enough to offer us a generous discount when we looked at the room. We were very happy with the room – although the bedroom was on the small side, the bathroom was modern and spacious and the beds were comfortable (especially after staying at Silk Road and for a fraction of the price). The courtyard was quiet at night and in the mornings so we weren't woken by other guests.

The courtyard was a really nice, relaxing place to hang out and meet other people during the day. We ended up eating almost exclusively at the hotel restaurant just because the food was so nice and tasty. The bread for breakfast was fresh and they kept the breakfast available for us one morning when we slept in. Even if you aren't staying here, it's worth popping by for a meal. The wi-fi worked well from our room on the other side of the courtyard. We were lucky enough to see the filming of a TV show or movie in the hotel courtyard one night and the morning we left a group of school girls from Tehran arrived – all in all a great experience.

The staff were lovely and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and fed. They organised a day trip to Meybod, Kharanaq and Chak Chak with an Zoroastrian guide, which was fantastic. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and consider it a good and cheaper alternative to the Silk Road Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clare_nz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Traditional Kohan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traditional Kohan Hotel

Property: Traditional Kohan Hotel
Address: Emem Street, alley #4 | corner of Coin Museum, Yazd, Iran
Location: Iran > Yazd Province > Yazd
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Yazd
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing