We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indeed Disappointing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yazd
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moshir al-Mamalek Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Yazd
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Indeed Disappointing”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We (a family from the Netherlands) hadn't booked our place there, but we decided to dine at their restaurant. At the entrance we felt very welcome by their warm and friendly people but the very unpleasant impolite receptionist and personnel right after that were the best significant reason for us to leave the place before we literally enter! We had never experienced such an insulting confrontation any where else in Iran.

No need to share the details of the story, I guess but my family an I are sorry to remind, the probable beauty of a construction is not enough to absorb tourists!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Josh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    152
    35
    3
    4
See reviews for
41
90
32
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shiraz, Iran
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

first of all I have to mention that the hotel is a visiting site by it self ! from the greeters to the garden and atmosphere ,all and all it is somewhere to be visited .the decoration of the hotel and the try to make it traditional lack nothing .
a lush garden in the middle of courtyard gives you the space to sit and enjoy your study either ot your afternoon tea .
the polite and helpful staff are always around to give you a hand .
highly recommended ....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bababikhiyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I am about ready to book this hotel for 3 groups next year and realize that I have never publicly expressed how much I personally and professionally have appreciated this property. The service has always been consistent, the food wonderful, and after a busy day its courtyard a cool refuge awaits you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Malia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
190 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

it is the best hotel to stay in Yazd, talk with the friendly staff, smell the flowers of the garden, taste nice local food and dream of arabian nights under the ceiling stars. not centrally located, but it did matter at all.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Riana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Moshir garden hotel is a very interesting hotel with an unique character. The hotel has two floors and a large central courtyard with gardens and running water channels, keeping the whole place cool. The hotel looks unattractive from the outside, but inside is a different story It is lovely and undoubtedly one of the most interesting that I have stayed in.
The rooms are designed in a traditional Persian manner. The flooring is of multi coloured blue tiles. There is no carpet. However, the single rooms are quite small and crammed although they have a free Wi-Fi. The staircase is in a traditional Persian style with no railing on one side and the walls on the other side are of knee height. This makes it very difficult to climb for the elderly and the disabled. There is no elevator. I changed my room to the ground floor where I was given a large room with 3 beds. It was very comfortable. There was shower and western style toilet. The plug point for charging of mobiles and laptops is located at an odd place in the room and there is only one plug point.
To go to the restaurant where breakfast is served, one has to pass through the central courtyard with its water channel and spouts for fountains which are played in the evening. This creates a typical image of a Persian mansion. The courtyard is framed by a line of trees on either side of it. At one end is a pavilion like structure which is the entrance to the hall and reception area. The breakfast was good but there were no toasts or eggs cooked to order. There were boiled and fried eggs only. In the courtyard there are two macaws one red and the other blue which adds to the peculiar flavor of the place.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor rooms if you are elderly or disables. There is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sen1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Beautiful garden hotel in Yazd( a city in the middle of the desert). Large and clean room with all necessary facility(satellite channel ,free wifi , safety box, efficase air condition).good location.the food was good and the coffee was acceptable.( unfortunately I haven't enough time to test the breakfast).some useful points:The maximum taxi price for farest point in yazd is about 5 to 10 euro.Do not pay more.(at first tell the taxi driver that you will pay constant fee regardless the time that it takes to reach to your desired location)and tell them that you will monitor the roads with GPS.Try baghlava( a traditional Iranian sweets).if you like the hand made product you can buy Termeh( a kind of Iranian tissue).visit the ancient water reservoir and Zoroastrian altar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nima N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The rooms are clean and cozy. The single beds are relatively wide, and comfortable. The window looked over the garden, which is big and beautiful.

The one and biggest downside to the hotel was an electric generator that kept turning on and off, even during the night. It was very loud and interrupted the otherwise peaceful atmosphere of the hotel. Light sleepers beware!

The hotel restaurant service and food was pretty good - we discovered the delicious local soup there, called Shooli.

The coffee shop in the back is a nice place to rest in the afternoon, but the service is sub-par and rather expensive.

The hotel is a bit off the beaten track - so you have to take a taxi to and from. But the reception is very professional, and will order a taxi and/or tour guide at your request.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoulouKh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moshir al-Mamalek Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moshir al-Mamalek Garden Hotel

Property: Moshir al-Mamalek Garden Hotel
Address: Enghelab Street | Moshir Blvd, Yazd 8918713631, Iran (Formerly Hotel Moshir Garden)
Location: Iran > Yazd Province > Yazd
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Yazd
Hotel Class:4 star — Moshir al-Mamalek Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first Iranian garden hotel is furnished with all the welfare facilities in Moshir Garden belonging to Qajar era with an area of 13.000 sq.m. This garden hotel is located on one of the entrance streets of Yazd and provides an easy access to all city areas. The beautiful yard, spouts, spring, and original Persian architecture have made it one of Yazd's attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moshir Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing