We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Iran tour

wow this place was amazing, so glad we made the effort to travel there its fantastic both the local... read more

Reviewed October 20, 2022
AidanJ64
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
Cute different village

This place is a very unique village which is a must visit, natives live a Stoney small houses made... read more

Reviewed September 18, 2022
Proshat H
,
Tehran, Iran
Read all 367 reviews
  
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveler rating
217
99
37
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
217
99
37
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful village one night laleh hotel fruit honey rocky cave homes stone tourists iran cliffs world heart west walnuts handmade
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 367 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2019

Kandovan is one of the villages of East Azarbaijan Province in the city of Osko, which has a history of seven thousand years. This ancient village has many tourist attractions near the city of Osku, due to the shape of its houses, which have been planted like a hive in the heart of the mountain (Kandovan in Persian means hives). This work has been registered with the number 1857 as one of the national works of Iran. Unfortunately, during the visit, I observed that new construction has caused the destruction of many homes, and the government needs to prevent this.

The village architecture is similar to the city of Cappadocia in Turkey and it is very beautiful. Inside most of the houses, there are stores selling villagers, such as beans, honey, butter, and other local products.

The distance from the village to the city of Tabriz is about 57 km and it takes about an hour. The weather is cool in the summer and very cold in the winter. The village population was about 900 people.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Rezgaroffroader
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 19, 2019

You will never see any place like this so dont miss it at all. the houses of people look like reallu unsual and intrresting at the same time. when you look at them from a distance, they will look like a hive (kandovan = like hive). it has really attractive view from the top. you can enter some of these houses and buy local things.
you can even rent these houses for some nights and spend great time. but be aware that you shuld wear sport shoes as you need to climb difficult roads to reach these houses.

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank pari2772
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 10, 2019

I like this place so much, that whenever I'm in Tabriz I try to make a visit. The story is that there was a war in old times and people were living underground with their family and animals to be safe, after war, everyone decided to move on and cave their houses inside the mountain. Houses are caved by their own hands, and about a kilometer or 2 before reaching this place you can also see where they were living before.
I liked the sound of the river passing through the village, and the cool weather because of the height of it. People are friendly and houses are so cool.
You can make a visit about a few hours but if you want you can also stay the night in one of the caved houses there. (It feels so great! :D)

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank Naji_shadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 8, 2019 via mobile

One of the only 3 of its kind on Earth, Kandovan is a must see. As we had booked a tour, we got to go inside one of the mountain houses and see how the villagers live. We even got served local tea. It was such a beautiful place filled with so much history. The houses are carved inside the mountain which is such an amazing feat by itself, but seeing how the people live happily was something else. Overall a magical experience. Don’t miss this place

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank wnini2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 8, 2019 via mobile

during my journey to tabriz, I visited this village. it belongs to 7000 years ago and houses are made in stones. its really beautiful with great people.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank amireli
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews