We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Iran tour

wow this place was amazing, so glad we made the effort to travel there its fantastic both the local... read more

Reviewed October 20, 2022
AidanJ64
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
Cute different village

This place is a very unique village which is a must visit, natives live a Stoney small houses made... read more

Reviewed September 18, 2022
Proshat H
,
Tehran, Iran
Read all 367 reviews
  
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveler rating
217
99
37
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
217
99
37
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful village one night laleh hotel fruit honey rocky cave homes stone tourists iran cliffs world heart west walnuts handmade
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 367 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2019 via mobile

One of the only 3 of its kind on Earth, Kandovan is a must see. As we had booked a tour, we got to go inside one of the mountain houses and see how the villagers live. We even got served local tea. It was such a beautiful place filled with so much history. The houses are carved inside the mountain which is such an amazing feat by itself, but seeing how the people live happily was something else. Overall a magical experience. Don’t miss this place

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank wnini2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 8, 2019 via mobile

during my journey to tabriz, I visited this village. it belongs to 7000 years ago and houses are made in stones. its really beautiful with great people.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank amireli
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 4, 2019

We spent half a day there, wandering through the steep, narrow paths between the houses, talking to the locals. We were lucky to get into one of the homes – it was that of a local business man who offered to walk us through the village and he could also speak a bit of English!

Kandovan is very similar to the Turkish region of Cappadocia. If you are in Iran and are not planning to travel to Turkey next, Kandovan can be a good alternative to Cappadocia. tanks to our gudie and driver to birng us there with cheap price his number: +989149162737

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank YUNES V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 31, 2019

speical and unique place. worth to visit. i reach right hand side first at that place is more original and less tourist. and reach one of house with little money and inside is quite simple but the terrace is interesting enough. then walk along the village to left side that is much commercial but still ok. worth to visit esp for late time, less people with nice sunlight.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank iamface
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 11, 2019

amazing housing into the rocks ! beautiful nature and wonderful local products like honey and animal oils

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank M0rtezaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews