We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Big, clean and nice room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Tanjung Pinang
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Big, clean and nice room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The tour package included the free ride from the ferry terminal to the hotel, but it is a good 15 minutes. We got the Superior Room which come with free WiFi coverage. The room was nice and spacious, and very comfortable. There's a nice pool, where we spotted another couple having candlelight dinner just beside it. They offer dimsum buffet for lunch but we didn't try it. The staff is also very friendly. Only problem is the location, but if you can arrange transportation with the local tour guides, it should be fine. However, the drivers are mostly Malay and do not speak much English.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BENzI84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    79
    65
    16
    15
See reviews for
54
58
10
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, 30 min from the ferry terminal, No shopping or restaurants around. Service is very basic and simple although the staff, in general terms, show a good attitude.
Rooms are big and clean although I had a very bad and unnaceptable experience: I discovered, unfortunately too late, that there was not toilet paper in the bathroom,... you can imagine the experience.
The restaurant is clean and nice but the food variety is poor and scarce; I had to call the waiter on several occasions to request more food at the buffet ba, most of the food containers were totally empty. Smiling, being kind and nice is not enough, the staff need to show a real commitment to customer satisfaction.

Room Tip: Try to get a room looking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roccox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We first arrived in our room, noticing that the aircon was not working, so we called the reception. They sent someone up to service our aircon after several reminders (45mins wait). It was in the afternoon, so we decided to head out in hope to return to functioning airconditioned room, after exploring the island. Before leaving, we informed the serviceman that he can just come in to service even if we're not in the room.

Imagine our dismay when we returned around 8pm (indo time), with the aircon still not fixed. Called the reception at once and they said they will look into it. Over the next hour, we made 3 similar calls to the reception due to their tardiness in sending the serviceman over. An hour later, the serviceman was still no where to be seen. Imagine how it felt like to return to the hotel after a hot day out and finally return hoping to unwind and relax only to find yourself in a stuffy room with faulty aircon that you have requested to be fixed earlier on.

We made another call after the hour, only to be hung up by the receptionist after her quick and rude reply of "looking for another room". This was the tipping point. Who gets hung up for bad service, seriously. We stormed down to the reception and they gave us a change of room then.

I would not penalize the whole service crew, but the female receptionist who hung up on us made us feel really disregarded as customers, much less guests of the hotel. This incident just happened and I'm writing this immediately so that it would be a fresh and true account.

Perhaps it was just that one female receptionist (working on 22/06/2012, afternoon to night shift, cause we didn't get her name). Overall, I do recommend staying at the resort cluster if you are coming to bintan (instead of this hotel). Because the town area (which Aston quoted as being near to) does not have much entertainment, probably closest to how Singapore was like in the 1970s.

Enough of the ranting, just a piece of advice on my part. Enjoy all your stay in bintan!
PS: Seafood here is cheap (:

Room Tip: Choose another hotel (Eg Nirwana, banyan tree, do not save on this kind of money) at the resort clus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stamposterLOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tanjung Pinang hotels

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Indonesian service people are nice. BUT they are nice with LITTLE service delivered:

1 I called for a morning call at 8AM. The reception said OK, then no morning call at all.

2 We went to the breakfast buffet, and found the coffee pot was missing. So we asked the service people to bring us some coffee to our table. He said OK, but he never come!

3 The HOTTEST bath water we can have in our room is basically COLD!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smiling_Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Aston Tanjung Pinang provides praying robes & praying mats upon request for free.
Room is spacious. Swimming pool is quite big but still under renovation.
Restaurant is cosy. Breakfast is good. Staff is courteous, helpful & friendly.
Hotel provides complimentary return land transfers and also provides return transportation to Ramayana Mall for a fee.
There are foodstalls selling cheap & yummy traditional food & snacks opposite hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Herwati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The hotel is 30 minutes from the ferry terminal and remotely located.
No shop in the vicinity and heard it is too costly to hire a taxi to the lively Bintan. It will be excellent stay if all you want is to get out of busy lifestyle; eat, sleep, swim and watch TV shows.
My experience with the reception staff is not a pleasant one and disappointing due to lack of initiative but the servers @ Moonlight BBQ were friendly and helpful. Morning breakfast was average and it will be good if the coffee served do not come with the coffee residue.

Room Tip: Do not pick room by facing the main road ranging from room no.: X00- X10, rather noisy. *X represen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jinhne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

The hotel located a bit far from ferry harbour,but there is free pick up service from tanjung pinang harbour.Hotel staff were very friendly and polite.Food and beverage from hotel restaurant very nice and reasonable price.I like the room..it was very clean,huge and modern.If you looking place for relax or run away from busy life..this hotel is highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ling s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Pinang
12.8 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 31 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
22.8 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
22.4 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#7 of 31 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Bintan Cabana Beach Resort
Bintan Cabana Beach Resort
#12 of 31 in Bintan Island
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
22.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 31 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,186 reviews
2.5 mi away
CK Tangjung Pinang Hotel & Convention Centre
CK Tangjung Pinang Hotel & Conve...
#2 of 16 in Tanjung Pinang
4.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center
Address: Jl. Adisucipto Km 11, Tanjung Pinang, Riau Islands Province 29125, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Tanjung Pinang
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Tanjung Pinang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern and stylish 4 star Business and Conference hotel committed to the highest International standards and a wide range of service and facilities to suit the need of frequent Business Travelers and Conference Organizer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ETB, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel And Conference Center Bintan Island, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing