We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip through Indonesia”
Review of Silintong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silintong Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Samosir Island
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Trip through Indonesia”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

After a long flight from GB via Kuala Lumpur, to Medan, it takes another 5 hours to reach the hotel via the ferry, if your lucky. Traffic can be horrendous. Getting on the right ferry, it takes you to the hotels own pier. Hotel is basic, but the views from our own terrace, of the lake is quite remarkable. Peaceful, a place to relax, apart from the cockerel, early in the morning. Very basic furniture, old , but reasonably clean. Hot water, is supplied early morning & early evening. Breakfast was very basic. Shops are near by, for beer & snacks. Staff were helpful & friendly. I believe most of the hotels, are the same. The stay wasn't horrendous, but enjoyable. Plenty to see in the area

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I know that there are limited choice of hotels in Samosir and I dont expect much, but this? Unforgivable. We arrived at night and found a man sleeping on the couch. We woke him up, got the keys and got into our rooms. The room was very basic. Just beds and wardrobe. I didnt mind at first, but there were lots of mosquitos, dead bugs under the bed, and the sheets were torn! Very jungle-ish huh? Hahaha
Fortunately, the bathroom was pretty clean although they only gave soap bars and no hotwater. For breakfast, we could only choose 1 out of 2. We picked Nasi Goreng which came in small portion plus complimentary mineral water. Not so much for breakfast..
This might have been a great hotel once, but I think renovation is necessary. Oh and please no more dead bugs or other hygiene problems whatsoever

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MargarethS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Samosir Island hotels

bm
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

-It just a very basic hotel without phone, you need to go to lobby to ask anything
-Wireless in lobby and not very stable
-Beside lake so very good view and scenery
-Location very great as well, can walk out for food, clother and etc. A lot shop, guest house or hostel nearby
-Can cycling around
-Since no air-cord, not so cool, average ok
-People there very friendly

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
180 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The rooms are like cells in a prison, but outside scene of the hotel is very beautiful. The views are breathtaking. The restaurant is not particularly nice, and the food is not tasty. We would pick another hotel next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DroomDecor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We reached this hotel by passenger ferry from Parapat and landed at the hotel's own jetty.
As it was a quiet season for tourists we were given a front room overlooking the lake and the distant mainland. Our room was spacious with an en suite bathroom/shower and a verandah adjacent to the delightful tropical garden full of native orchids and palm trees. Although the bedroom and bathroom would have benefited from some repainting, the overall cleanliness was acceptable for this part of the world. There was no air conditioning or fan in the room but the temperatures were pleasantly cool and there absolutely no traffic noise so a peaceful sleep was assured. One word of caution, it would be advisable to take insect spray and use a mosquito repellent block. The one we had is called Antimos. In most parts of North Sumatra that we travelled to, including Samosir Island, where Silintong Hotel is situated, hot water is only normally available for short periods in the mornings and evening. In our case 6 a.m. to 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. However, on the day of departure since we were scheduled to leave early in the morning. the staff were kind enough to put the water on at 5.30 a.m. they also provided us with an excellent picnic boxed breakfast. There are many hotels to choose from on Samosir Island but if we returned we would use Silintong Hotel again.

Room Tip: Request quiet from room overlooking the lake and garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fyti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Lovely gardens with some interesting sculptures by the lakeside, a large bare room with no fridge, air con, fan or kettle. Food of variable quality, staff were willing in their attitude but English was not always understood. Internet did not work. The place can be summed up by the image of Wire Netting on windows to keep out the insects , which are abundant by the lake.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank ianw33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
154 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

From what I heard this hotel used to be one of the better ones here, but these days it is badly maintained and really could use some renovation. Furniture in the room was limited to the absolute minimum, hot water is only available for a few hours and the heater (or generator) for this makes a lot of noise, especially disturbing early in the morning. Ceiling in the restaurant is coming loose in places. Breakfast is OK. Lots of mosquito's at night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samosir Island
0.0 mi away
Hotel Carolina
Hotel Carolina
#1 of 7 in Samosir Island
208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tiara Bunga
Hotel Tiara Bunga
#4 of 7 in Samosir Island
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Judita Cottage
Judita Cottage
#3 of 7 in Samosir Island
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inna Parapat
Inna Parapat
#1 of 9 in Parapat
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Toba Village Inn
Toba Village Inn
#2 of 25 in Samosir Island
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mas Cottages
Mas Cottages
#2 of 11 in Samosir Island
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silintong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silintong Hotel

Property: Silintong Hotel
Address: Jl. Durian No.5 | Tuk-Tuk Village, Lake Toba, Samosir Island 20234, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Samosir Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Samosir Island
Hotel Class:2 star — Silintong Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 54

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing