We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Nice Staff and Tasty Indomie”
Review of Romlan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Romlan
Ranked #3 of 28 Samosir Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Is my first visit and stayed for 3 nights in this guesthouse. Location is nearby the secondary port which is less than 5 mins walk. To get there from Raja Tiga port in Prapat, just tell the ferry boy you are going to Romlan guesthouse and he will signal you to alight the ferry after few stops from Bagus Bay port.

I'm staying in one of their Standard Room which is quite spacious. The room is facing the lake, private bathroom with hot shower, veranda and wifi. They provide you with 2 towels only, full stop. So please bring your own necessities. The bed is clean and comfy, like the firmness of the bed which give me a good sleep. This room do not have Tv set, fan, and air-condition. So set your expectation with the price you're paying for the room.

Food is nice. I had try their Indomie, fried rice special and chicken chop, sausages with egg and sandwiches. My favourite was their Indomie. I had that for 3 days. :) Inside the cafe there are family dogs and cat roam around, but don't worry they are clean and without smell. They do sell mineral water and chill beer in the cafe. Price are reasonable for their food.

Wifi signal is the strongest at the cafe. Is lagging at time due to many users connect at the same time. Outside from Romlan there are a lot of groceries shop, souvenir shop, cafe, restaurant and stalls. You can rent motorcycle from Romlan or bicycle outside the stall.

Night time, is cooling and peaceful. Although there is no fan or air-cond the room is well ventilated. The only sound I heard is the lake water splashing against the wall barrier. Is so calm and peaceful.

The only cons is the electricity in the island. Stayed for 3 night, 2 nights power failure around 9pm.

Room Tip: Please charge all your electronic equipment eg: phone, ipad, ipod or camera and take your shower bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DT1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 111 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

It's very affordable, I paid 120,000idr / room / night with lake view. Booking was done via emails, no deposit required. No fan, no aircon. It can be quite warm in the afternoon. Hot water for shower is 24hrs. Only towels are provided no other toiletries provided. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room so set your expectations right before you book. There are many shops selling souvenirs, food, bicycle rentals etc along a street that is 5mins walk away from Romlan. Ask Marion, the owner of Romlan to book the transportation for you to/from Medan airport to Paparat jetty, she can get at 400,000idr, others will charge you more.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r0jak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

It's my second sleeping place at Samosir and I feel it's better than my previous hotel.

It's location is good. Swimming spot is also good, but of course not as good as those higher rating hotels nearby. People here are all very kind and they provide wifi. They will also prodive you with accurate information regarding transportation and day tour at Samosir/Toba.

Room rate is bargain-able and they will give you low price if you stay longer. You can also dine here but they close at 11pm.

Room Tip: Don't pay until you check out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank siauhwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you don't need internet connection, you may put Romlan in your list. Actually they have wifi, but when I asked for password, reception girl said it was on trouble. I don't really need internet at that time, so it didn't pay attention for that.
My room just perfect, for IDR 100,000 per night I got spacious lake view room, nice and comfortable bed, clean bathroom, and nice view over my room. If you stay more than 1 night, you can bargain for lower price with the owner, Marion, a German woman married with local Bataknese man.
You can relax at lake side, some chairs for sunbathing available. While fishing also possible if you lake it. Swimming is a must, jump over to lake but be careful with slippery ground, full of mildew.
Romlan also famous for great food, despite of price is bit higher, but portion was so big. I ordered chicken steak for IDR 35.000, they gave me like quarter of chicken. Try their dish, really recommended. Definitely will back there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiqy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Firstly the room: I was paying less than 10 euro a night so I can't really complain too much.. I had a direct lake view and was very happy with this. The decor is dated but for that price who can argue. There was a funny smell in room and at night I had coughing fits and woke up with a runny nose.. I put up with it because of the price and I could have paid more and stayed elsewhere.

The service is pretty quick here for food but the quality is not great compared to other restaurants. The breakfast is pretty bland. I'd eat up the street in Maruba as previous reviewers suggested, also Debbies further up makes a nice bowl of porridge.

The staff are friendly but pretty lazy.. The owner is having a bad time and the moment and the frustration really shows. You go to her with a problem and you get a cynical reply and by the end of our stay we just stopped dealing with them and going elsewhere for food etc.

Owner was not very helpful when we asked for information about the island, she seems very disinterested in her business which is a pity.

I wouldn't get laundry done here.. Theres plenty of alternatives about that Im sure would do a better job. Some of our clothes had been washed with darker clothes and were returned a different color. After nearly 3 days our clothes still weren't returned(it was sunny from morning until late afternoon so it could have been done in a day). We were then given damp clothes and a bill for 85,000RPH for a few tshirts. To be fair we had assumed it wouldn't be that expensive and didn't ask in advance. When we queried this the owner told us it wasn't her business and to talk to the staff.. Im sorry but if your staff are doing something on your premises then it is part of your business. After some arguing they reduced the bill to 50000 but given we had to dry ourselves and the needless delay there should have been no charge in my opinion.

Also be aware that on Saturdays the neighboring guesthouses throw huge parties. While we stayed it went on until about 3am and karaoke started at 6:30am on Sunday.. Its really noisy. If you are there during the week though it is very quiet.

If you just need a room in a nice location this place will be fine. If you would like some hospitality of which there is plenty available around Samosir, think you might need information or don't like dealing with owners that are clearly sick of their business then Id stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hungry_Neilius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Second time at this lovely place. This time for a month. Still the best place on the whole Island!
Be aware of that:
Internet is quite terrible. Yes, from time to time you will be able to send/receive text emails. But you can forget about large upload/downloads. On top of that it is not only low speed, but a lot of interruption, lags, etc... The whole island has issue with electric power. It was quite common for few hours a day without electricity, which is really not a big deal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DmitryP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed 6 nights at Romlan and enjoyed every moment.Owners and staff was friendly and helpful. My room was so nice. I had a beautiful lake view and room was big and clean. Really worth of every penny. Food was also really good there. I loved the avocadosalad, yam:). Near is also great place to eat called Maruba. Thank you Romlan!

Room Tip: Room with Lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susarope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samosir Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carolina
Hotel Carolina
#1 of 7 in Samosir Island
215 reviews
24.5 mi away
Tiara Bunga Hotel & Villa
Tiara Bunga Hotel & Villa
#4 of 7 in Samosir Island
18 reviews
0.6 mi away
Toba Village Inn
Toba Village Inn
#2 of 28 in Samosir Island
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Horas Family Home
Horas Family Home
#1 of 28 in Samosir Island
390 reviews
0 mi away
Laster Jony's Guest House
Laster Jony's Guest House
#7 of 28 in Samosir Island
18 reviews
0.7 mi away
Reggae Guest House
Reggae Guest House
#1 of 10 in Tuktuk
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romlan

Address: Tuk Tuk, Danau Toba, Samosir Island, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Samosir Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Samosir Island
Price Range: $10 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Romlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing