We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Horas Family Home
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Carolina(Samosir Island)
$26
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Judita Cottage(Samosir Island)
$52
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Inna Parapat(Parapat)
$48
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$39
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Toledo Inn(Samosir Island)
Silintong Hotel(Samosir Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
Ambaroba Resort Hotel(Samosir Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveler rating
357
37
5
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
37
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr berendhis wiferabbitfishbbq dinnervegetable gardenthe ownerlake tobatuk tukchickenfamily boatfully equipped kitchenorganic farmfresh vegetablesspecial dinnermemorable staygroup of friends
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 401 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We had been staying on Samosir and after stumbling upon Horas family one evening we immediately knew this was the place for us and ended up staying even longer on Samosir.
The location is just perfect as it is on the lake, the charming Batak architecture of the accomodation, surrounded by beautiful gardens, with a vast collection of different orchid species and full of fruit and vegetables to freely pick and choose.
The staff couldn't have been any more friendly and accommodating, and the local knowledge we received was priceless. Even their pets felt like our own.
We knew exactly how to enjoy ourselves at Horas Family Home, and really felt at home.

Having spent over a year visiting South- East Asia, i can honestly say this was definitely the best accommodation we have stayed at and it proved to be key in our great experience on Samosir.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cianmcirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We just returned from a ten day stay at Horas Family Home. It is by far the most beautiful en exclusive place in TukTuk. We enjoyed the space, the fully furnished house, the wonderful food and the beautiful surroundings of Lake Toba. The place is very relaxing as you have a great house and a wonderful garden to yourself with an extremely beautiful view on the lake. Also for our children this was the perfect stay: they played with the rabbits and dogs all day, went fishing and swimming in the lake and learned a lot about nature because of all the vegetables and fruits in the garden of Horas Family Home. You can ask the owners for tips and advise throughout the day they will make your stay a perfect stay. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Horas Family Home is the unique accommodation in Tuk Tuk for a family retreat. We were happily surprised wih the full kichen facilities, a power full hot water shower, the welcome drinks in the fridge, complementary coffee and tea as much as you like, blender, hairdryer, library, international TV, the free WIFI, emergency lamp, umbrella's and really first class beds. Add to that that the house is immaculately clean and spacious, and you can take any vegetables and fruits from the well maitained garden. The orchids, roses and succulents are a treat in itself. The private pier and sundeck at the Lake and the free use of the two family boats are just a few of the unexpected extra's. Whatever it is you ask you always find friendly staff to look after your needs. In case you don't wish to do your own home cooking, just let the staff know what and when to eat, whether it be simple Nasi Goreng or the BBQ or even the Babi Guling (Roasted Suckling Pig). There is a price tag, but is always is VALUE for MONEY.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

NIce family home, nice people, nice atmosphere... But definitively too expensive compare to the rest of TUK TUK. Plus the location is definitively not the most beautifull place (a lot of algua and oil in the lac). Have a look around reggae guest house just to be able to compare the scenery! And for 1/4 the price of Horas, you will be in paradise!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gatsby62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

It was our first trip to Lake Toba. Our friends who visited lake toba in March 2011 stayed in Samosir Cottage and Toba Cottages. After much research, we have decided to give Horas Family a try by writing to Berend (the owner). Beyond our expectations, his reply was always prompt and informative. He proposed a 4D 3N itinerary for us, with careful transport arrangement with reliable drivers. Our trip wouldn't have been such fulfilling and smooth sailing without his kind assistance.

On our second night, we had babi guling treats from Horas Family!! It was a real surprise to us and made us felt like we are ONE FAMILY! We loved all the dogs in Horas Family, they are friendly and lovely. Over in Horas Indah, we also had our first close contacts with rabbits!

Overall, the room was extremely spacious and clean, the kitchen is fully equipped, hot water is always available, the staff is always attentive to our requests. We are allowed to pluck vegetables freely from the mini farm and make our own dish! It was easy to find food in Tuk Tuk but we had to wait for at least 30 mins to 45 mins or even 1 hour. Hence, it is ideal to order your meals in Horas Family of which you could request to have it at your desirable time.

An unforgetable moment we had in Horas Family was on our last day, the dog (i called him "the guard") followed us to the jetty and Berend was waiving goodbye to us from his private pier with his wife when we were on the ferry heading to Parapat until we are out of sight.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pollywoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews