We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night stay”
Review of Toledo Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Samosir Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toledo Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Samosir Island
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“one night stay”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Me and i my friend paid a travel agent to medan,berastagti and toba lake from 22-25.Stayed in this hotel for one night. Got a room facing the lake with balcony. Nice view. Well, the room is basic. No fan or air condition but the air is cool and fresh. Reached there late in the evening. Was planning to swim The lake quite wavy and windy . Nobody swimming at the moment. So basicall have no idea about the deepness of the lake. Nevertheless i just jumped in and swim. The next morning the water is quite calm.Water is crystall clear with fishes like in aquarium. Actually not that deep. My advice is to swim in the morning.
We had dinner in the hotel which include in the package. They served us nASI padang.(taste good as usual). The breakfirst was lame as there was pretty limited choice and served ala carte. There were only nasi goreng, toast or mee goreng. i ordered nasi goreng and it was not OK at all.
At night we walked around the town. Its like an abondened town. The good site of it is that it was very calm.
The wifi only available at restaurant and cafe and its quite slow.
If got chance i will come back to toba and stay at this hotel for the peace,calmness and nature. I just hope they will change the breakfirst menu.

Room Tip: get a room with balcony facing the lonely island(man made island) with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iquB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    41
    61
    9
    3
See reviews for
30
39
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Toledo Inn located by the lake and has a very beautiful view. We stayed in a room facing the lake. The room condition was a bit disappointing: the bed, the pillows, tv were out of date, but the bathroom was clean. The breakfast option was limited.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marshadhianti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a room with balcony facing the lake on the top level of an elevated double storey block. I requested for a lake view room and was told that all rooms face the lake. The rooms were very basic and old with the wiring exposed which was rather frightening.
There is neither air-conditioning nor a fan in the rooms but the breeze is cooling enough and with the sound of the lapping waves, we slept like babies.

There was also no tea/coffee making facilities but they had a vacuum flask which we requested for hot water daily at the restaurant. So, do bring your favourite sachets for a hot cuppa if you do not want to venture into the restaurant after dinner.

We were on a tour package so our meals were provided. Dinner was soup, 4 dishes with rice and a dessert of mix fruit salad. The food was surprisingly delicious. Breakfast was just fried rice, fried noodles, fried egg, toast with tea/coffee but enough for us.

What we really loved was the hotel's massive 'pool'. It is actually part of the lake which they had cordon off. In the morning the water was calm but in the late afternoon it was rather choppy but my kids are strong swimmers so they had a fantastic time regardless.

We were surprised to find that we could get free internet access at the restaurant and discovered that we could get connection at the 'pool' area too. So, we adults could share our holiday photos with family and friends while the kids had a whale of a time swimming.

I hope management will have their electrical wiring looked at as little children may have itchy hands and get electrocuted. You don't want an accident to happen before you take action.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mjail5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

When we arrive we direct go for dinner in their restaurant, the food is good enough after a rough ride.

When we check in our rooms, all the rooms come with 2 singel bed..thats a bit disappointed for a family with a baby.

Overall is really nice view & colling Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khaosaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The best thing about Toledo Inn is its location by the lake and long lake frontage. I stayed in three hotels in Tuktuk, but Toledo Inn wasn't my favourite. It is probably the largest hotel in Tuktuk, and the rooms are clustered into traditional style buildings which are stacked up in terraces along the steep lake side. The room I stayed in was large, over-looking the lake, but inside it was nothing very special. The bathroom was fine. The restaurant is more expensive than the many other restaurants in the area and not nearly as nice. Breakfast was pretty basic. I far preferred Tabo Cottages, which has nicer rooms, better food and happier staff than Toledo Inn for exactly the same price, IRs 450,000 per night including breakfast. On the plus side, Toledo has the nicest area to swim in the lake that I found in Tuktuk.

Room Tip: Do not take a room beside the road above the main part of the hotel because the noise of motorbikes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bactrianus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

have stay twoo times in Toledo Inn in 2011 and 2012. Very satisfied with the location, great view of lake, but will be a problem for family with little children due to the many stairs to reach the rooms. Friendly service. Fair price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wieringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

You will have a great view of the lake right at the doorstep of the hotel rooms but the room condition is quite disappointing as it's quite run down and no upkeep. The walls, beds, cupboards, bathroom were so worn down its quite depressing sometimes to find yourself in such a condition. It's high time the management should put up some revenue/profit back to upkeep, repaint, maintain and refurbished the rooms. Was there with family and the kids were kind of terrified of the rooms' condition which seems so gloomy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy2008_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Samosir Island hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samosir Island
0.0 mi away
Tiara Bunga Hotel & Villa
Tiara Bunga Hotel & Villa
#4 of 7 in Samosir Island
16 reviews
5.5 mi away
Inna Parapat
Inna Parapat
#1 of 9 in Parapat
81 reviews
5.2 mi away
Patra Parapat Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Niagara Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
Toba Village Inn
Toba Village Inn
#2 of 27 in Samosir Island
221 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mas Cottages
Mas Cottages
#2 of 12 in Samosir Island
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toledo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toledo Inn

Property: Toledo Inn
Address: Jalan Tuk Tuk, Samosir Island, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Samosir Island
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Samosir Island
Hotel Class:2 star — Toledo Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Also Known As:
Toledo Hotel Samosir Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing