We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with some room for improvement”
Review of Tabo Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Samosir Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tabo Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights and paid around $45 (AUD) per night. Our room was large and clean with a fan and ensuite bathroom. The setting was lovely, just on the lake with a great pool to relax by. The bakery, coffee and breakfast was delicious. The staff were nice. I would happily stay here again.

There is however some room for improvement. Our hot water broke every single day. And so we complained every single day (around 3 times). While it got fixed momentarily it was frustrating to go through it every day. I think for $45 at what is considered as one of the top accommodation on the island, I would expect better.

The restaurant food was average at best. We went to a cafe nearby for food after trying the food a few times at Tabo Cottages.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wordtraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
There are newer reviews for Tabo Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 415 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We were sleeping elsewhere, but came here to eat 2 times in October. Food was good with reasonable prices. My husband even tried the "sivet cat coffee", kobi luwak. :)

We also bought some local coffee beans back home.

Atmosphere at Tabo was really nice and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlliAndJanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were very lucky to have a room because the hotel was full. It is a nice hotel in Samosir with great view of the lake.. The staff was very helpful on giving information about the Island. The breakfast was good with Western and Indonesian selection and most were vegetarian too. Anyone wanting 'halal' food is in a good place as the hotel is near the Muslim eatery.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kin5666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed in three hotels in Tuktuk, Samosir Island at the end of August/early September, and Tabo Cottages was undoubtedly the nicest. The other two were Toledo Inn and Toba Village Inn. I stayed in a traditional Batak-style room with a balcony costing 450,000 IRs per night, including breakfast. The other two were exactly the same price. The room was fabulous, the bathroom was good, everything worked properly. The restaurant is really nice, open on two sides, and the food is great. I ate here every night rather than go elsewhere. The gado gado is particularly good. Also the bakery makes excellent bread, pastries, etc. Breakfast was self-service buffet-style, but again better than either of the other two hotels. The staff like singing while they work, which is a good sign in my book, and have lovely voices as well, as many Batak people seem to have. The owner was friendly and helpful, organizing pick-ups, taxis and wotnot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bactrianus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Nicely decorated apartments - great lake view, very easy going but with german efficiency as Annette takes care that everything is going smoothly. She's also engaged in ecological projects and buys her vegetables from the farm/hotel next to her place. They have their own bakery - very good bread. Apartment houses are built in Batak-Style with hugh balcony, open restaurant where one can enjoy fresh fish. Different to other reviewers I never found Annette too cold...you just have to approach her - when we were on the ferry and didn't knew where to get out, she offered her help immediately...otherwise we would have been lost.

Room Tip: Higher floor has great view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Tabo Cottages is a really nice place. Breakfast is excellent, the rooms are nice and the lake-side pool is wonderful.
Despite of all the positive things, I was wissing some hospitality. I have to agree with other evaluators that the German owner is a bit cold and doesn't provide a lot of assistance when it comes to questions and wishes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernhard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Tabo means delicious in batak languange.
Love the concept of Bataknese traditional house for the cottages. Can find it nearby the pool too.
The owner Mrs Annete a german is known as local heroine for cleaning Lake Toba from water hyacinth. So she added a little touch of opening German Bakery.

Room Tip: Tabo cottage location is quite far from hustle and bustle in Tuktuk. But there are restaurants and b...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yosephinerima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samosir Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carolina
Hotel Carolina
#1 of 7 in Samosir Island
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tiara Bunga Hotel & Villa
Tiara Bunga Hotel & Villa
#4 of 7 in Samosir Island
16 reviews
0.5 mi away
Judita Cottage
Judita Cottage
#3 of 7 in Samosir Island
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Toba Village Inn
Toba Village Inn
#2 of 27 in Samosir Island
225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Samosir Cottages resort
Samosir Cottages resort
#10 of 12 in Samosir Island
215 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mas Cottages
Mas Cottages
#2 of 12 in Samosir Island
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabo Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabo Cottages

Address: Tuk Tuk | Lake Toba, Samosir Island 22395, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Samosir Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Samosir Island
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tabo Cottages is a natural hotel with focus on space, green lawns and the ethnic style of the area. In our spacious garden pavilions you will always find a quiet corner to relax and enjoy the terrific views over the lake and mountains. Our Restaurant and German Bakery is well known for local as well as western favorites and our buffets are always a wild mixture of different tastes. Since we roast our own coffee beans we are very proud of the freshness of our brewed coffee, another specialty of Tabo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tabo Cottages Hotel Samosir Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing