We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old time favorite?”
Review of Hotel Pangeran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pangeran
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Pekanbaru
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

average hotel in the middle of city nice for seminar or convention. well, a have a seminar here, so i have to stay here since i know nothing about Pekanbaru. old room, still nice actually. but i get freak out of the bathroom cause it looks very old. ok for breakfast, and nice for the pool.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cuteelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 106 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

My main concern with this hotel is what they try to attain and charge for price and it just isn't there. Clients picked this hotel for us as it was told to be good. Rooms were really expensive for the city and the rooms and hotel just isn't there.

Some reasons for this:
- smoking in the hallways and all rooms are smoking rooms
- bedding was two flat sheets with a blanket in the middle
- towels were old and used
- room was really dated
- bathroom was dirty
- breakfast was poor. I have not ate cereal in ages and had to there.

Maybe it is more because I was foreign and my expectations are a tad higher. I don't have high standards though so I would doubt that. I would not have any issue with the hotel if they just never charged so much. The value just isn't there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

if you are looking for a good rate and fully renovated room, Hotel Pangeran is a good choice

not bad at all
the room is adequate
their system is not bad, simple check in and check out with out alot of troublesome

Pangeran used to holds alot of meetings and local wedding ceremony on their ballroom

go try their "SUP BUNTU GORENG" , tasty and original.

Location is near airport and near city centre
one more thing, if you love DURIAN, please take a walk infront of this hotel, you will see some durians stall, watch out of their rip-off price, remember ask the price before eat.

Enjoy PEKANBARU

SELAMAT DATANG

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank inandouthoteltohotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

First, I will say that I spent 5 nights here during the extremly busy period of PON - the Indonesian National Games. Every hotel in the city was full, and this hotel actually was hosting the Chess Championships.
The staff, especially, the concierge and receptin did a good job of dealing with Athletes, VIPs, and regular travels such as myself.
The room was a little dated, as mentioned in other posts-- but it was clean and comfortable.
The breakfast was fine with the Indonesia dishes-- and that makes sense since there were very few Weterneres at the time-- international dishes wer quite limited.
I did feel that the location as 'city center' was a little misleading. You do need a taxi to take you to anything other than the adjacent Pizza Hut or nearby KFC-- so shopping etc is not far but not walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I came to this hotel by my staffs recomendation when i had sort of business trip on ramadhan in Pekanbaru. When i first Arrived to this hotel early at the noon, i really wanted to Had a nap because i hardly can sleep on flight from Jakarta, but when i entered the room and got my body settled on the bed, i really can't fell asleep because there was a kind of renovation outside my room which really made a really good "orchestra", sounds from drills, martils and other tools.

It was 3pm local time, after surviving from those devastating "orchestra", i need to be prepared for my event, hence i went to the bathroom and i didn't feel like this type of bathroom suits the hotels class, but i didn't mind. As i turned on the shower, i felt terrible, the shower was just weird, we can't adjust them to such a position, what a hotel.

I got back to the hotel late at night and i asked the reception if i was able to had my "sahur" at room and they said yes, but there will be Rp. 85000,- additional charge, and i thought i'd rather to have my sahur on the restaurant then to pay those charges. So, sahur time was arrived and i straightly went down to the restaurant and i was a bit confused because there was no waitress at all, and the food tasted horrible. I wondered about the chef

That was my experience at this hotel, and i suggest you would better take another hotel for a place to stay in Pekanbaru and i hope this hotel have a better performance for the next days.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MasMarjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

What I liked the most about this hotel was: THEY PICKED UP PHONE CALLS IN A FEW RINGS! I made several calls to various departments when I stayed there and my calls were answered accordingly. To me that was quite special as that would not be the case at many other hotels across this region. In general I found the service level at this hotel to be high. The staff seemed to have good service attitude and genuinely care about customers. Food was quite good, although I could only say so for Indonesian entries as I didn't get to try the international ones. Breakfast spread was good, with many traditional Indonesian dishes available, but extremely limited international items.

Unfortunately, what it had to offer in the service department was not matched with the physical condition of the facility. The spacious rooms were minimally furnished. They lacked the trimmings of a modern hotel such as safe deposit boxes and a well designed closet. Furniture seemed to have been made more than twenty years ago and have never been revisited since. To me the rooms were rather gloomy and dark.

Other hotels in Pekanbaru, newer ones especially, are much better furnished; but service level at Pangeran is definitely among the top ones.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Edges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The hotel was not bad. Pretty spacious, the food was average. The service was quite good, all staffs are very helpful and nice. If you're not satisfy with the food served by hotel, there were several fast food restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rizki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pekanbaru hotels
2 mi away
Grand Central Hotel Pekanbaru
Grand Central Hotel Pekanbaru
#22 of 63 in Pekanbaru
76 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Premiere Pekanbaru by ZHM
2.5 mi away
Swiss-Belinn SKA Pekanbaru
Swiss-Belinn SKA Pekanbaru
#9 of 63 in Pekanbaru
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tjokro Hotel Pekanbaru
Tjokro Hotel Pekanbaru
#13 of 63 in Pekanbaru
93 reviews
2 mi away
Golden Tulip Essential Pekanbaru
2.1 mi away
BATIQA Hotel Pekanbaru
BATIQA Hotel Pekanbaru
#2 of 63 in Pekanbaru
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pangeran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pangeran

Address: Jl. Jendral Sudirman, no. 371-373, Pekanbaru 28116, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > Riau Province > Pekanbaru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Pekanbaru
Price Range: $35 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pangeran 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pangeran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing