We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful side trip from Ubud” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Batur

Mount Batur
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Mount Batur Sunrise Hiking and Coffee Plantation Tour
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Kintamani
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Hikers will enjoy climbing this volcano, and the rewards of the views into the crater and of the crystal clear waters of Lake Batur. (Note: visibility may be limited during the rainy season, Dec.-March.)
Useful Information: Activities for older children
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful side trip from Ubud”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We drove about an hour north of Ubud past the famous terraced rice fields ( so you could combine this into one days trip if time is short). We departed fairly early in the morning which turns out to be a great idea. The skies were bright blue and later it clouded over so our views and pictures were much better. The volcano mountains appear quite lush except for the recent lava flows ( from the 1990's). The town of Kintemani is a great viewing spot but as noted in many guides, the souvenir sellers are willing to stalk you. Next we drove down to the lake. The lake is pretty but strangely lacking in boat activity. I am not sure why. We enjoyed a visit to the hot springs. It was built up in pavilion-like pools just at lake level. We enjoyed the swim and the beautiful location.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jeannieray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,036
    604
    145
    40
    58
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ampang
Level Contributor
134 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

How to get there
rent a car with driver because taxi fare can get very expensive for the whole duration here.

Places to visit
Kintamani highland
Mount Batur
Coffee farm - Luwak coffee farm
Fruits farm
Desa Pura (temples). Plenty of them.
Ubud village
Desa Trunyan

Experience
From Kuta, get to Kintamani via Ubud. You will pass by plenty of Desa Pura (temples) but mostly people will stop at the oldest temple by the roadside.

There is a fee of IDR6,000/pax to enter the area.

At the top of the mountain, there are at least 2 halal restaurants.

There are lots of people selling souvenirs on the road.

From the hill, go down to lake trunyan area and you will find a good spot for photograph the volcano and the lake.

From a source, nowadays it is not recommended to take a boat to Desa Trunyan because lots of tourist had been conned in the past where they were asked to pay additional fees upon riding on the boat at the middle of the lake, else they will be returned to the jetty. But if you still want to hop on the boat, it is at your own risk.

On the way back to the lower ground, drop by at the coffee farm to taste the fresh coffee and also the famous luwak coffee.

There are fruit stalls along the road if you wanna have a bite on the local fruit. Price is reasonable.

Overall Experience:
The green and the fresh air makes you feel so fresh.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank nazzerooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legian, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great view, great memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

van Bemmelen, the first geologist to write an extensive book on geology of Indonesia, once said that Batur Caldera is the best caldera in the world. He's probably right.

Mt. Batur in an active baby volcano, which was only born about 5000 years ago, in the center of Ancient Batur caldera (huge crater). It's still shorter than the highest point of the caldera rim. View from Penelokan area is stunning! The highest peak of Mount Batur is the oldest, and a couple of siblings has emerge towards the South-South East flank.

Hiking Mt. Batur is very nice and rewarding. 1.5 to 2 hours would get you to top, some even do it in 45 mins. Most visitor gets up really early to chase sunrise. your guide will tell you stories of past and recent eruptions, show you where the lava had flown. Ask them to do some volcano egg cooking!

Check out the Batur Volcanology Museum while you're there. Or maybe a good idea to go there before take the hike, then you'll already have an idea about it..

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank londobali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the 2am wake up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Its early, but do it, its memorable, beautiful (we got a clear morning) and while its challenging, its not impossible, especially if I could do it (not very fit). Got a local guide, transport return from Ubud, hotsprings entrance and lunch for IDR550k per person. Back in Ubud by noon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Auds K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Sunrise from the top of Mount Batur!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

A day started with a 2:00a.m. pick up by our tour guide in Sanur. We got to the base of Mount Batur about one hour where the local guide was waiting for us. The day of our hike had 55 local guides, and each can take up to 4 people. We had to rent a wind breaker for $5 each since it was quite chilly on top. I wished I had a pair of gloves with me too. The hike was about 5 kilometer steep climb and took us 1:40 hours to the top. The air was very crisp at that time. We bought the best cup of coffee from the local vendor up there as we waited for the sun to pop up. We also witnessed a marriage proposal. It was beautiful!! A large family of monkey live at the top of Mount Batur by the crater. It was so fun to watch them play for a while. Afterwards, our local guide took us around the back and came down from a different route. At time we slide down the loose lava rocks. Wow It was a fantastic hike and experience for us!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travellibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Batur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing