We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view of crater lake and Mt Batur”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lakeview Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakeview Ecolodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kintamani
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great view of crater lake and Mt Batur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

When I prepared my trip to Bali and saw the first images of the stunning views you have from this hotel I definitely wanted to include it in my program. I even was prepared to go of my planned routing and pay twice as much I usually do for hotels during my trips. The panoramic view of the crater lake and Mt Batur that you have from your balcony is breathtaking and is definitely worth it. Nearby the hotel there is not much to do but they have a good restaurant and you can use this hotel as a base to discover the area by car or bicycle they offer for rent, climb Mt Batur or take a boat ride to Trunyan village.

I decided to take a more expensive Deluxe room because they offer the best view on the mountain and lake. The room itself was clean and nicely decorated and the good beds and quiet environment offer the best circumstances for a good sleep. The rooms are designed in a way that you can have a spectacular view from all the places in the room even from the bathroom because it has wooden windows to the sleeping room you can open but because of this construction it offers not much privacy. Better put your ear plugs in if somebody uses the toilet. :)

The staff was helpful and flexible and generously offered us to use their laptop so that we could have internet access in the lobby. In the past this hotel seemed to have a lesser reputation but the current management does everything they can to improve the quality of the services and that doesn’t go unnoticed.

Because of the unique character our stay in this hotel was one of the highlights of our Java / Bali trip and I definitely can recommend it to persons who don’t mind to pay a bit extra for this special experience.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms offer the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your vote of confidence in our services. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is most appreciated.

We look forward to hosting you on your next holiday to Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    90
    54
    40
    28
See reviews for
44
101
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed at Lakeview hotel before going to visit Mount Batur.
The place is fantastic and the view on the lake and volcano is superb.
The staff was very helpfull to organise our trip to Mount Batur and the guide very interesting !
The hotel is a family hotel, with different kind of rooms, but they all face mount batur.
I stayed in the most recent one and it was very clean, with a very comfortable bed, good shower, and a balcony in front of the volcano !
The restaurant is also very good, and you can try the lemoncello, home made and very good...
Thank you Pak Kadek, to you and your team!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pidjay33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thanks for your wonderful feedback and vote of confidence in our service :-) I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hike up Mt Batur. We look forward to hosting you and your friends when in Bali next.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

A wonderful weekend of hiking up volcanos and trekking to hidden temples followed by hotpsrings. Lakeview is a great place to get away from the noise and craziness of the beach and enjoy some clean mountain air, organic vegetables and fantastic views of the crater

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asmeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your vote of confidence in our accommodation, food and service. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Lakeview is a strange place to review. The staff are all very young and enthusiastic and trying really hard to make it a professional, full service hotel. The room and bathroom we had were shabby (definitely needed a coat of paint and new tiles) but clean and well equipped with free water and cookies. Advise taking a mosquito net as there are lots of flies, beetles, lizards etc. We had several problems with the water but when we reported them they were fixed very promptly.

The breakfast which is included in the price was one of the best on my trip :-) Fresh juice, fresh fruit salad, coffee, home baked bread rolls with butter and jam and a choice of main courses. If you stay more than one night they also provide free transport to the hot springs.

However - volcano tour was expensive and the guide simply showed us the path - for what we paid we expected a bit of 'guiding' in the sense of history, geography of the volcano etc. Breakfast up the mountain is a joke.

Also the restaurant is hit and miss - some things really lovely and well priced, some dishes seriously overpriced.

The hotel rooms are also overpriced for what and where they are, so great on service, but average overall has to be my final review.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evieinindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Ecolodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for your candid review. Your glowing comments will be a source of pride to our staff. Indeed, many are young: 31 out of our team of 88 graduated from high school within the last five years. We pride ourselves for being the training ground for the young talent of Kintamani.

I recently traveled to India, and last year to Laos and Vietnam, and I must agree that with those wonderful destinations for the adventurous traveler, our standard and deluxe room prices may seem expensive ($50 and $70 during low season, $60 and $80 during peak/high season). Nevertheless, seasoned travelers who come regularly to Kintamani can vouch that we offer the best value for money in the region -- a very basic "lakeside cottage" with no service can fetch a price of $75 here.

Day-trips (rafting, cycling, trekking, boating, etc) in Bali tend to cost $50 to $90 per person. They can be cheaper by the dozen, for sure, but cheaper packages are typically cutting corners.

The local government of Bangli has given the Mt Batur Mountain Trekking Guide's Association a monopoly over taking people up Mt Batur. The Guide Association, in turn, has pegged a minimum of $30 per person to climb Mt Batur. This is, in part, to reduce the number of people climbing the mountain each year due to the fact that in the past decade some lost tourists have had heart-attacks for over exerting themselves and / or falling into crevasses around the many craters. Even with that minimum, during peak season over 500 trekkers a day go up at sunrise. At peak season, there are often not enough guides to maintain the prescribed ratio of 1 association guide per 4 guests minimum.

We offer many packages for trekking. The cheapest, for $30, is essentially providing a pre-dwan breakfast service and shuttle to/from the starting point at the Mountain Trekking Guide's Association offices. Our driver does his best to find you a decent guide, but I do agree that the Guide Association needs to step up their game in training their newbies.

Our more expensive packages include the services of our own trained guides who are also equipped with first-aid kits, as well as better meals. Our guides tend to avoid the main route used by the mass travel companies and the association to ensure our guests do not get the feeling they are lemmings following a train up the mountain.

The $45 includes entry to one of the cheaper hot springs used by locals. Most other trekking companies set their price at $45 for providing the shuttle and guides, and do not include the hot springs experience.

The $60 packages include entry and welcome drink at the most palatial complex of hot-spring fed pools by Lake Batur, as well as a hearty lunch upon your return to Lakeview, and late check-out until 2 PM if you need to have a nap.

The $80 package includes methode champenoise sparkling wine, and is available at sunrise or sunset. We direct our honeymooners to do this package at sunset to make sure they can have the feeling of absolute privacy on the mountain. Around full moon, the sun set and moon rise while waiting for dinner to heat up / cook in the volcano's steam vents is quite a sight.

You pay for what you get. Note the word "standard" in your room's name (built in '81, due for total demolishing, yet enjoys 60% occupancy throughout the year due to being excellent value for money in the area). Also note the word "economy" for your trekking package.

Seasoned trekkers and nature lovers need not despair. We organize cheaper treks in the greater ancient caldera area to destinations not under the control of the guide association. The other treks cannot match the breathtaking sunrise view from the top of Mt Batur, but are otherwise as magical.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the Delux rooms 511 which was lovely.
We had a balcony with a direct view of Mount Batur weather you was sat at the table, lay in bed or in the shower which I think is a brilliant concept.
Unfortunately we didn't get the perfect sunrise we woke up at 5:45 to see but the breakfast was gorgeous.
The staff were friendly and very helpful with both our children. The owner provided us with a spare bed for our son and offered a cot for the baby which we didn't need.
We went on the Terunyan trip which was good value for money and very educational. It came with a buffet lunch at the hotels restaurant and the food was great and plenty of it.
All in all we really enjoyed our stay at Lakeview and would advise it to anyone.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your vote of confidence in our services. I'm so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and found the excursion educational.

We look forward to hosting you and family on your next trip to Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

If your going to stay anywhere in Kintamani this is the place to be!!

It has beautiful views of the mountain at night and day. Friendly staff. Probably The best food in the area as well.

For what you pay its one of the nicest hotels/backpackers I've stayed in for its price and location. Recommended

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank onez69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Ecolodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your glowing review of our backpackers' (Kintamani Backpackers). Indeed, at $15/night for single bunk and $20/night for double bunk, it's great value for money.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to hosting you and your friends on your next trip to Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the dorm room for one night. The room was clean. There are two shared showers (one was broken) also basically clean. The bathrooms are occupied by insects during the night.
They have some lockers with keys, but bare in mind, that you'll only get one locker when you share a double bed.
The breakfast is quite nice. They have a lot of pancakes, some fruits and, of course, rice and eggs.
They have some complimentary tea, a TV with some DVDs and some international books. A nice view from the terrace.
The restaurant provides some good dinner (Average price around 40-50k plus tax).

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MeisterMumpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Ecolodge, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Hi thanks for reviewing Kintamani Backpackers -- we've been trying to get this property on TripAdvisor but haven't had much luck. Kintamani Backpackers is a home-away-from-home for budget travelers, with single bunks for $15 and double bunks for $20 including breakfast. In comparison, rooms at Lakeview start from $50.

Complimentary tea & coffee facilities (with home baked cookies) is available at the shared library/lounge/DVD/TV watching area. Other shared facilities include showers with hot and cold water, as well as separate mens and ladies toilets.

Glad you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast. Looking forward to hosting you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kintamani
10.2 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
15.6 mi away
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
3.4 mi away
Volcano Terrace
Volcano Terrace
#1 of 5 in Kintamani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Batur Mountain View
Batur Mountain View
#3 of 12 in Kintamani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cave Hotel
The Cave Hotel
#5 of 13 in Kintamani
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
3.3 mi away
Black Lava Hostel
Black Lava Hostel
#1 of 6 in Bangli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Ecolodge

Property: Lakeview Ecolodge
Address: Jalan Raya Penelokan, Kintamani 80652, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kintamani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kintamani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeview Ecolodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeview Hotel is at the edge of a massive volcanic caldera overlooking Mt. Batur and its tranquil lake. The cool climate offers respite from the heat of the tropics, while the mountain setting invites nature lovers to explore. Just 56km north of Denpasar, it is a two-hour scenic drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. Each and every room, as well as the two restaurants at this hotel command magnificent views of volcano, lake and the forest below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakeview Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Hotel Bangli
Lakeview Ecolodge Kintamani, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing