We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure & peace”
Review of Lakeview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakeview Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kintamani
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We came here upon the recommendation of the GM himself, whom we know personally. My husband wanted to climb mountains and I wanted a quick break from research work before heading back to research. The hotel is accesible to all the mountain and trekking routes.

While it may not be Bvlgari, Lakeview is not without its charms. I would come back again - service is good, food is good. The only thing that got me was the spotty wi-fi because I am addicted to the net, and I need it for my work!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the mountains and please pack warm clothes. It IS cold! For the best wifi re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dinazaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thanks for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Mt Batur.

Thanks for your feedback, we'll do our best to improve our internet connection. At the moment we use Telkom's 2Gbps Speedy connection and XL's HSDPA (mobile) connection, but they both seem somewhat intermittent. In addition, the mist that rolls in bringing 99.9% humidity seems to dampen the strength of our Wifi.

The government just laid fiber-optic cable all around Bali including at our doorstep to give us hope, but I wouldn't count my chickens before those eggs have hatched... They were laid in such haphazard ways that I'm worried it won't work at all.

I'm glad that despite the up and down internet you managed to get your much deserved holiday rest, as well as have a productive time catching up with your writing.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit, and will make sure we'll check you into a room with cabled internet connection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 278 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

We really wanted to like the Lakeview Hotel and overall we did enjoy our stay very much. I see that the manager reads Trip Advisor reviews regularly so my comments here are really just about small details that could be improved.
Good: The view, the room decor, the young helpful staff, lunch buffet food quality is amazing.
Bad:
A) Noise:
1) The hotel is at the top of a valley with a switchback road. Big trucks are climbing this road 24/7 and the traffic noise is everpresent and really loud in the guest rooms. Obviously the hotel can't do anything about this but it's a fact visitors should be aware of.
2) We stayed in a delux room which was right under the restaurant, So at 3:00am, we waked because of chairs moving and scraping the floor above our bed. These were just the hikers getting up early to go up the mountain - but it ruined our sleep. Maybe some felt pads on the chairs would be a good idea.
B) Operational preparation:
a) Breakfast. Day one was a disaster - empty restaurant but we waited 20 minutes for just juice and tea, cold eggs arrived 20 minutes after that, and cold toast and bacon 10 minutes later. Fruit salad belatedly at the end...Day two, complete opposite! Juice,tea, fruit salad pronto, excellent eggs, bacon and toast shortly after.
b) Ice. Day one - the place has no ice available. The freezer is broken. So, really? You have 40 mixed cocktails on the drink menu in the restaurant and you're not prepared to make even one of them?
But, the staff made a great effort for me personally - someone walked to town and bought a bag of ice cubes so I could have ice. Great response! But it's not the kind of experience I would expect from an established hotel.
c) setting expecations and meeting them.....
i) the 'hot springs' trip wasn't a visit to a natural hot springs with water emmanating from the volcano but just a trip down the hill to a set of warm tiled pools. It was fine normal hot tub experience, but not a hot springs.
ii) we put in a laundry service request and it was promised by 10 am the next morning. 10 am rolls around, no laundry so I visit the front desk. "Just a half an hour more". Ok, it's important because we want to pack the clean laundry in our suitcases and we have a car scheduled for 11.Ok, so it's not a big deal but now everytime I ask for the laundry it's 'just five minutes more' Finally at 11 we pile into the car with the laundry bag tossed in at the last second. Not good. Better to just say upfront "your laundry will not be ready until you are in the car ready to leave so don't expect to pack it...."

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Alymere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Alymere,

Thank you for your honest and candid review. We really appreciate your feedback and your help in advising the readers of this forum what to expect at Lakeview. It is true that in many cases disappointment comes from high expectations, and it is important to manage one's expectations when traveling in third-world countries outside of the 5-star luxury bubbles.

I took some time to discuss your input with our team before responding to your review.

You are right in thinking that my staff do tend to be a little too agreeable / quick to agree to make a customer happy rather than checking thoroughly, so we've made a few policy changes.

Regarding the laundry, we have decided to consistently advise guests that laundry received before 10 AM can be ready by 10 AM the following day, but anything received after that can only be expected by 2PM the following day.

Regarding the hot springs, it's an old confusion brought on by the fact that the entire area is referred to as "Toya Bungkah" (Hot Springs). It's the name of the hamlet/village. The original springs is now under water (the lake has risen 5 meters in the past 2 years due to prolonged rainy seasons). There are at least 6 pool complexes offering a bathing experience in the mineral water pumped up from the underground hot spring/stream. I'll write a short story about the springs for our in-room directory for those who love to read.

Thanks for your excellent idea of putting rubber on the legs of the tables and chairs. We'll also look at adding some sound insulation under the concrete slabs (above the ceiling) during the refurbishment of those rooms.

We invite you back on your next trip to Bali to try our improved service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This place is a good value. Comfortable, quiet and good food. The rooms are clean as is the property in general. All services were more than adequate. Everything worked as it should and service was efficient. The view is impossible to beat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSSUCHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thanks for your amazing vote of confidence in our location and services. I'm glad you had a good time at Lakeview while on holiday in Bali.

Wishing you many happy adventures around the globe!

Kadek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Stay in their suite for 1 night. Great view from room, lobby and restaurant . Suite room recently renovated with modern bathroom and come with free drinks in bar fridge. Young enthusiastic staffs. Unfortunately only thing we feel it lack of is good house keeping - room is not properly clean; drink stain on table, quilt smelled of sweat. We didn't sleep well, was woken up by itching - not sure if caused by small insects flying around or dirty bedsheets.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccclloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thanks for your feedback and candid review. It is very useful to us.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, overall, and will follow up with your input with our housekeeping team.

We have had similar complaints about itching from some American guests who were allergic to one of the laundry products used by our laundry service. We are currently looking into what alternatives are available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel has one of the best views ever. It is also possible to arrange several trips to the vulcano thorugh the hotel. Breakfast is good. They also serve a pretty good meal at the hotel restaurant which is good as there is not a lot of choice of food in the village. Beds are soft and water is warm.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItsSuuS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thanks for your feedback and photos. We are glad you had a good time in Kintamani.

Wishing you happy travels, and looking forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

It is undeniable, the view from the hotel restaurant and (I believe all) the rooms is truly fabulous. But this hotel needs to work a lot harder especially for what it charges.

The customer service was poor. There was a long wait for everything, lack of anyone who could speak more than basic English (I know this shouldn't be presumed but all other hotels have had staff able to help in English), and no information anywhere. Eg how to use the room facilities, or any activities, where to go for breakfast etc!

The room was also a disappointment. We were delighted to be upgraded to a suite. Although it was a nice enough room, I think calling it a suite is a bit much!! There was no aircon or fan so we had to have door open all night. There is no screen door so got bitten to pieces! Nobody could help or
apologise when we told the staff.

Overall, a great view and the rooms are fine but for the cost it is a rip off. Have stayed other hotels for a third of the price which were so much better. Plus a bit of customer service training would not go amiss!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeybrownbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Madam,

Please accept my sincere gratitude for bringing up our lack of air conditioning on this forum. We would like to make it clear to all potential guests that we do not have air conditioning. Those who require climate control for their sleeping comfort should stay in the tourist belt of coastal Bali or in the 5 star resorts of Ubud. To my knowledge, there is no hotel with air conditioning within the Bangli or Kintamani area.

We have many improvements on our agenda, but air conditioning is definitely not on the list. You could say that it is against my religion to waste fossil fuels (all public electricity in Bali derives from the burning of Coal or Diesel) in bringing climate control in an area where the ambient room temperature fluctuates between 18 and 28 Celcius. In fact, I think it is an environmental crime to build buildings in the "glass-oven" style of architecture along Bali's coast only to install 5 air conditioning units per room to bring it to the sub-arctic conditions high end guests demand.

Our outdoor temperature this past month has ranged between 15 to 18 Celcius in the early morning to highs of 25 to 28 Celcius during the day. The maximum temperature we experience outside in the summer is 32 Celcius, and the minimum we experience is 12 Celcius. As such, our solution to creating an environment that is pleasant to humans in terms of thermal comfort are double-glass doors and curtains (in fact: two curtains in the suite; one sheer to let some sunlight in, the other solid to block sunlight out or keep heat in when necessary) in addition to sheets and thick duvets.

We are located more than 1,300 meters above sea level. As far as I know, we do not have the mosquito species that bite humans at this altitude in Bali. The "mosquitoes" I have encountered are of the fruit fly variety. I will, however, treat your complaint seriously and check our environment for any potential habitats for mosquitoes.

Regarding service, what our staff lack in advanced English language skills they more than make up for with their enthusiasm to communicate. 80% of communication is non-verbal and I do believe most of my staff have an amazingly positive attitude in hosting our guests.

Wishing you pleasant travels in the years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We would like to express our gratitude to the staff of Kintamani Lakeview for making our short stay a memorable and enjoyable one.

Our special thanks goes out to GM Pak Kadek for helping us out with our booking issue with another property. We were really greatly touched by his sincerity and willingness to help.

We got to know with some explanation from Pak Kadek that a local travel agent in Bali has been misrepresenting small properties in the Kintamani area and even other parts of Bali, and that is the reason why we have had problems changing and cancelling our previous booking with the original property we booked with.

With his help we managed to go down to the other property to apologise the the poor manager whom we unwittingly gave a tongue lashing due to the misunderstanding.

We had the most fabulous view of the sunrise over Mt Agong at the dawn of the next day at our balcony, and we also enjoyed a most challenging but refreshing time hiking our way up Mt Batur the next morning.

The room is beautiful, the beds comfortable, the food good, the people are warm and helpful and overall we really have no regrets staying here.

It was a stay to remember and we only wish we had more time so we could experience the hot springs but alas we had to move on to the next location.

We are sorry we didn’t get to thank and bid the GM goodbye in person before we left but we hope to get the opportunity to visit again next time so we can properly express our thanks and enjoy more of the beauty of Kintamani.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank -WenMingMei-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and vote of encouragement for our products and services. I'm glad you have a good time and we look forward to hosting you again.

Due to lack of government enforcement of regulations and local leadership, there's a distinct "Wild Wild West" feel to the Kintamani region. We try our best to provide a safe haven while highlighting the best the area has to offer.

Online misrepresentation is a huge issue in Kintamani, as it is in other remote tourist areas where internet is still new and owners/managers have not yet caught up with technology. We advise guests to exercise good judgement in reading information online.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kintamani
17 mi away
The Pandora Hotel
The Pandora Hotel
#92 of 196 in Ubud
44 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 196 in Ubud
1,317 reviews
3.5 mi away
Volcano Terrace
Volcano Terrace
#1 of 5 in Kintamani
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cave Hotel
The Cave Hotel
#8 of 21 in Kintamani
35 reviews
2.4 mi away
Batur Mountain View
Batur Mountain View
#2 of 12 in Kintamani
112 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mapa Lake View Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Hotel

Address: Jalan Raya Penelokan, Kintamani 80652, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Bangli > Kintamani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kintamani
Price Range: $37 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeview Hotel is at the edge of a massive volcanic caldera overlooking Mt. Batur and its tranquil lake. The cool climate offers respite from the heat of the tropics, while the mountain setting invites nature lovers to explore. Just 56km north of Denpasar, it is a two-hour scenic drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. Each and every room, as well as the two restaurants at this hotel command magnificent views of volcano, lake and the forest below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lakeview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Hotel Bangli
Lakeview Hotel Kintamani, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing