We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out at Toya Bungkah”
Review of Surya Hotel

Surya Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Surya Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Kintamani B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 8, 2009

I've heard the Kintamani occupants can be gruff but I didn't know how gruff till we actually got there. Watch out for people at Suria Hotel (or Surya hotel). Never take recommendations on the guide services they have. And be weary if the owners of the hotel ask for upfront payment like Suria did with us. The guides at the hotel are local tugs that have been kicked out of the climbers association of mount batur and they use many devious ways to get their tourists to follow them on the trip up the mountains. Prices charged are USD35, USD45 and USD60 for short, mid, and long trips. We refused to climb with them because we knew we could get it cheaper. And we also knew he was telling us lies to get us to climb with them. So we forfeited our room payment of Rp150,000 at Suria and headed to Barona Cottages. These tugs followed us there insisting that we still climb with them. They made trouble with the good folks at Baruna Cottages and told us we cannot climb unless we go with them and pay them. We choose not to climb. No one tells us on OUR holiday what to do. At 4am, these tugs knocked on the door to go climbing. Only when I feigned illness did they leave us alone. Around Mount Batur area, always know where you are headed and always book ahead. Then, stop for no one along the way to your hotel. These men on bikes will tell you anything to get you to follow them. Always have the number of your hotel so you can call them if you meet these tugs. Baruna Cottages is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weiyein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 27 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2009

The bed sheet, pillow cover, blanket seems dirty. Water with smell. Toilet is smelly because of the water smell i think. The light of hotel is yellow light so it is a bit dark (no window). We stay here because we are climbing Kintamani Vocano the next morning. It is very basic hotel room. Breakfast is banana crepe and hot tea. No aircon or fan because it is cooling during the day time and cold at night.

We paid Rp120,000/night. It is cheap and basic.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvantGarde88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank lorel590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank O-ranee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled solo
Thank zulfiqarl2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
Thank jeromeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Есть номера с шикарным видом на вулкан
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ирина Р
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kintamani hotels
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Ecolodge
Lakeview Ecolodge
#4 of 5 in Kintamani
276 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mapa Lake View Bungalow
0 mi away
Bali Sunrise Villas & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Cave Hotel
The Cave Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kintamani
34 reviews
11.7 mi away
Astra Dana Hotel & Restaurant
0 mi away
Tiing Bali Guest House Adventure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surya Hotel

Address: Jl. Kedisan, Kintamani, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Bangli > Kintamani
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kintamani
Price Range: $14 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surya Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Surya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Hotel Kintamani, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing