We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surya Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$29
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Batur Volcano Guesthouse(Kintamani)(Great Value!)
$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$29
$21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Cave Hotel(Kintamani)
$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$21
Booking.com
View Deal
Lakeview Hotel(Kintamani)
$71
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveler rating
0
4
2
2
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
0
4
2
2
19
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 27 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We booked with Surya before seeing the reviews on trip advisor, just read about them in Lonely Planet and emailed them directly. They arranged transport for us from our hotel in Ubud and on the way to the hotel they took us to the coffee plantation that the owners run, and they treated us to coffee, tea and fried bananas - a delicious surprise. They also told us that they were upgrading our group to their cottages given that they had received some bad reviews online. We were surprised but grateful, since we had only been looking for a cheap place to stay before hiking Mt. Batur the next morning at 4 am.

The place they took us to, the cottages, are at least a mile from the hotel proper and were so nice! They were the same price as the backpacker hotel but did not feel like a backpacker cottage. They are newly renovated, with hot water, new/clean beds and linens and great, fresh food. So fresh, in fact, that they caught our fish dinner and then cooked it directly for us - what a treat!

The price they gave us was amazing, too - one night lodging in two bungalows, transport from Ubud, including tour guides up the mountain for about $30 USD/person (granted, we were a group of 5). We were really surprised and pleased with the experience, and it was nothing like the reviews indicated here. Food was extra but was provided by the hotel - fish and veggies for dinner and banana pancakes for breakfast. Good and fresh, but typical Indonesian fare.

I don't know if the cottage upgrade will be available in the future for the same price, but it was really nice and really cheap, a true bargain and a treat! One of the highlights of our Bali trip!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AL N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We booked here in error, thinking it was cheap as we were arriving late and getting up at 4:30 to climb the volcano. It was a HUGE ERROR!! The beds were so filthy that it broke my heart to lay my children on them. I didn't sleep for fear of what we might catch from the sheets. The bathroom was filthy and had masses of ants in it. We refused to pay the extortionate amount they had requested over the internet and then the owner asked for a fight. We have done a lot of travelling, all over the world and this was definitely the worst room that i have ever had to actually pay for.

Room Tip: Sleep in a car/tent/hole in the ground, rather than here.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hook14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed in a “deluxe” room and slept fully dressed in a hammock we had bought earlier so we didn’t touch the sheets. We didn’t shower; I refused to sit on the toilet seat and were out of there as soon as we were back from our hike. Hotel also ripped us off appallingly when we tried to rent a motorbike. If your trekking Danau Batur do yourself a favour and take an early trip from Ubud or something, it was not worth the extra two hours of sleep (or lack there of) to stay so close to the bottom of the volcano.

Room Tip: You'd be better off pitching a tent than staying here.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chevryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Don't stay there...
Very dirty...
very rude staff.. one of the hotel staff (Komang) ask us to fight... shout loudly to us...
Insecure...
Bathroom very dirty
Room very dirty
Problem with their water system (no water)
Toilet can't be flushed
Many mosquitos
Everything is broken..., e.g : door, room, water system
Almost all the rooms are empty (altough we came there on holiday season)

DON'T STAY THERE !!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irma_lauw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The hotel was the dirtiest, insect infested hole I have stayed in for ages, and that includes quite a few holes in the then Soviet Union and Western Africa. The owner and the staff take the cake for being money-grabbing and completely unapologetic. Following an hour of dis-infestation by my partner an I, the walls were splattered with fresh bugs and mosquitoes, to add to the already present, dried up selection. The bathroom was equally disgusting. The bedsheets were dirty enough that we only lay down fully clothed and having first covered the whole bed in our towels.
Come the morning, we insisted to be driven out of there as quickly as possible, explaining in no uncertain terms what they could do with their breakfast.
Luckily, this was the only horrible experience in Bali, but it was enough to almost ruin the vacation. Had to splurge on a seriously luxurious hotel for the following day, just to get the feeling of dirt and disgust off of us.
Stay away!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FCK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews