We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy”
Review of Surya Hotel

Surya Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Surya Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Kintamani B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed in a “deluxe” room and slept fully dressed in a hammock we had bought earlier so we didn’t touch the sheets. We didn’t shower; I refused to sit on the toilet seat and were out of there as soon as we were back from our hike. Hotel also ripped us off appallingly when we tried to rent a motorbike. If your trekking Danau Batur do yourself a favour and take an early trip from Ubud or something, it was not worth the extra two hours of sleep (or lack there of) to stay so close to the bottom of the volcano.

Room Tip: You'd be better off pitching a tent than staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chevryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 27 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2011

Don't stay there...
Very dirty...
very rude staff.. one of the hotel staff (Komang) ask us to fight... shout loudly to us...
Insecure...
Bathroom very dirty
Room very dirty
Problem with their water system (no water)
Toilet can't be flushed
Many mosquitos
Everything is broken..., e.g : door, room, water system
Almost all the rooms are empty (altough we came there on holiday season)

DON'T STAY THERE !!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irma_lauw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The hotel was the dirtiest, insect infested hole I have stayed in for ages, and that includes quite a few holes in the then Soviet Union and Western Africa. The owner and the staff take the cake for being money-grabbing and completely unapologetic. Following an hour of dis-infestation by my partner an I, the walls were splattered with fresh bugs and mosquitoes, to add to the already present, dried up selection. The bathroom was equally disgusting. The bedsheets were dirty enough that we only lay down fully clothed and having first covered the whole bed in our towels.
Come the morning, we insisted to be driven out of there as quickly as possible, explaining in no uncertain terms what they could do with their breakfast.
Luckily, this was the only horrible experience in Bali, but it was enough to almost ruin the vacation. Had to splurge on a seriously luxurious hotel for the following day, just to get the feeling of dirt and disgust off of us.
Stay away!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FCK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Okay, first mistake on our part. We did not read the warning in Lonely Planet about this area!
We allowed ourselves to be fished from the road by the owner on a motor bike. We should have known better. It was getting late and we needed some place to stay.
So we had a look at a couple of rooms in this place, negotiated a price of 100.000 Rupia (low season) for one night in the "deluxe" room with good views of lake and mountains. On closer inspection the room was dirty, shower leaking, toilet leaking too (!), therfore smelling... BAD! Staff were not very friendly, hanging around, there were flies everywhere including all over the dinning area.
We were offered the Mt. Batur sunrise trek. After hard negotiation we could halve the price. This experience was fine. We had a lovely guide.
Quote of the Owner "People first, Money tenth"!! Haha.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huge_Mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

I've heard the Kintamani occupants can be gruff but I didn't know how gruff till we actually got there. Watch out for people at Suria Hotel (or Surya hotel). Never take recommendations on the guide services they have. And be weary if the owners of the hotel ask for upfront payment like Suria did with us. The guides at the hotel are local tugs that have been kicked out of the climbers association of mount batur and they use many devious ways to get their tourists to follow them on the trip up the mountains. Prices charged are USD35, USD45 and USD60 for short, mid, and long trips. We refused to climb with them because we knew we could get it cheaper. And we also knew he was telling us lies to get us to climb with them. So we forfeited our room payment of Rp150,000 at Suria and headed to Barona Cottages. These tugs followed us there insisting that we still climb with them. They made trouble with the good folks at Baruna Cottages and told us we cannot climb unless we go with them and pay them. We choose not to climb. No one tells us on OUR holiday what to do. At 4am, these tugs knocked on the door to go climbing. Only when I feigned illness did they leave us alone. Around Mount Batur area, always know where you are headed and always book ahead. Then, stop for no one along the way to your hotel. These men on bikes will tell you anything to get you to follow them. Always have the number of your hotel so you can call them if you meet these tugs. Baruna Cottages is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weiyein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

The bed sheet, pillow cover, blanket seems dirty. Water with smell. Toilet is smelly because of the water smell i think. The light of hotel is yellow light so it is a bit dark (no window). We stay here because we are climbing Kintamani Vocano the next morning. It is very basic hotel room. Breakfast is banana crepe and hot tea. No aircon or fan because it is cooling during the day time and cold at night.

We paid Rp120,000/night. It is cheap and basic.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvantGarde88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank lorel590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kintamani hotels
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Ecolodge
Lakeview Ecolodge
#4 of 5 in Kintamani
276 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mapa Lake View Bungalow
0 mi away
Bali Sunrise Villas & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Cave Hotel
The Cave Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kintamani
34 reviews
11.7 mi away
Astra Dana Hotel & Restaurant
0 mi away
Tiing Bali Guest House Adventure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surya Hotel

Address: Jl. Kedisan, Kintamani, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Bangli > Kintamani
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kintamani
Price Range: $14 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surya Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Surya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Hotel Kintamani, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing