We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad place ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amaris Hotel Palangkaraya
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Palangkaraya
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Bad place ”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Like most comments already suggest ; feels like prison ... Especially the way to go up to the room , no stairs no elevator just a way which makes you feel like in prison . No decent room service and breakfast ... People speak very little English ... No strong wifi .. TV too small .. Toilet inside shower , small and uncomfortable ... Try to avoid this ... Better pay a little bit more and stay at swissbell

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PKTVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    31
    5
    3
See reviews for
4
2
7
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I often stay in hotels all over Indonesia due to work. Main quality of them is more or less ok but this one is one of the worst I've stayed ever in my life. There´s no elevator so you have to go walking with your luggage to your room (up to four floors), which for me it´s not a big deal but can be for elder people. Until a few weeks ago they didn't even have room service and now most of it it's provided by a local restaurant which will take your order for a take-away delivery. The breakfast choices are very limited, mostly only traditional Indonesian food.
The rooms are very small, most of them are practically torn apart and the bathroom is so small that is divided into two separate parts, one with the shower and toilet and the washroom and mirror outside placed in the main room nearby the door. Beware of the rooms nearby the open terraces because they'll attract insects which can be quite noisy and room invading.
Last but not more important, beware of the laundry service, two times I gave them my clothes and they came stained with some kind of oil which can't be cleaned afterwards!
If you have to visit Palangkaraya choose other option.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here beware of the rooms nearby the open terraces due to insects.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eoni-Leon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palangkaraya hotels

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This is not a hotel but a prison ! Rooms are small , dirty , smelly ! No room service ... Breakfast is so DIRRTY . I saw a mouse there one time ... This is far from a hotel ... It's cheap but there are far more hotels in the same category ! Don't go here ...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKTVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here for two nights before diving into the jungle via the Kahayan river. It's a fine room, relatively comfortable, and seemed close enough to the things I wanted to do in town. Don't expect luxury here - this is a great jumpoff point but not somewhere I would recommend for long term stays.

The dining hall is smoky at times, some of the rooms appear to have some mold on the walls, the food is OK, and the wifi is good enough for a skype call. C'mon... you are in Borneo paying ~$40USD for a room you actually found on the internet. What more do you expect?

I am a simple traveler with simple needs - I thrive more on exploring than sitting in my room with a robe and slippers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

first impression when i arrive there was the stairs, its very long and not to steep good for disabled person, the room is clean and the back view of the hotel is the kahayan river, the electricity is not stable sometimes the TV and air conditioning when off, the benefit when you stay at this hotel is they got airport transport just for only 25.000 rupiah about 3$ of three different airways (garuda,lion,... forget the last one) the bathroom is quite small for my size

Room Tip: choose the back room, more clean and great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eckilsax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malacca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I have read some negative reviews before I checked in this hotel but I have no choice, most of the 3 & 4 stars hotels were fully booked last week. The rates here was not cheap for a 2 stars hotel. I have stayed in so many hotels before and this was the first time:
a) I have to carry my luggage and find the room on my own upon checking in , one advantage was, I have saved on my tips.
b)The basin is located in the room and not in the bathroom.
c)I have to plan on where to put my belongings, the room is just too tiny.
d)I have to stayed up late to fight mosquitoes.
e)I didn't have my breakfast for 2 consecutive mornings, always empty trays!
The location was also inconvenient.
I have learned my lessons and I must make my hotel reservations early whenever I am coming to Palangkaraya.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richard9825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Don't book a hotel driver to pick you up in airport : we waited 20 minutes for him on day of arrival, and on return the hotel driver drove as a mad man as he was in late to pick up another customer there...
Don't expect a continental or american breakfast and be prepared to eat chicken or fish for breakfast. Breakfast room is mainly occupied by salesmen or businessmen and full of cigarette smoke all the time.
We booked with a discount price for the first day, we extended our stay 5 days but finally they charged us the 5 days without any discount and without warning. After complain, we got only the discount for the first day.
Don't expect to ask anything to the staff or even the manager of hotel if you dont speak indonesian : nobody speaks english there. And dont ask them anything about what to see in town and surroundings : nobody knows.
Don't expect to get a map of town, they dont have any.
Don't expect to sleep late in the morning : the staff is noisy outside the room and really dont care of it.
The only positive point : the bedroom was properly cleaned everyday (although the windows stay dirty... since the creation of this hotel in 2010 - some paint still on it).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isabelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palangkaraya hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Neo Palma
Hotel Neo Palma
#2 of 11 in Palangkaraya
67 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fovere Hotel Palangka Raya
Fovere Hotel Palangka Raya
#8 of 11 in Palangkaraya
17 reviews
3.2 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Danum Palangkaraya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aquarius Boutique Hotel
Aquarius Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Palangkaraya
71 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Avicenna
Hotel Avicenna
#4 of 11 in Palangkaraya
2 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fairuz Palangkaraya
Hotel Fairuz Palangkaraya
#7 of 17 in Palangkaraya
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaris Hotel Palangkaraya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaris Hotel Palangkaraya

Property: Amaris Hotel Palangkaraya
Address: Jl. Letjend S. Parman no. 60A, Palangkaraya, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Kalimantan > Central Kalimantan > Palangkaraya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Palangkaraya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amaris Hotel Palangkaraya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Amaris Hotel Palangkaraya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing