We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Review Highlights
Fantastic day in Palangkaraya

We had the most amazing day with julie in Palangkaraya! She was a delight to be with and incredibly... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Kellycdriscoll
via mobile
AMAZING. A PERFECT TRIP

What a beautiful experience! Traveling into the jungle to see the orangutans on the preserve was... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
788timothyr
,
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Read all 69 reviews
  
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveler rating
65
3
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
65
3
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jungle trekking national park day tour kids dance traditional dance interesting things to see broad knowledge wild orangutans the river yun festival culture dayak pontianak studio kalimantan village
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 69 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile


1 night, 1.5 day package. Package included: Dayak village stay and jungle trekking. Dayak village had nothing special to offer. No handicraft, no longhouse. It was a more modern community than some of the places one can visit near, for example Loksado. The overnight stay can't meet the quality of a lodge.

The transportation to and from the jungle trekking was utterly dangerous and irresponsible. Driving on tiny scooters through pooring rain, no paved path, steep and very slippery hills, crossing waterflows, in the middle of nowhere, no cellphone connection or emergency backup plan. A female friend was left at nightfall in a minersplace with 5 men. Conclusion: a premium price paid for a below average package.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yun P, Owner at Central Borneo Guide, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Dear Mr. Allard,
I appreciate your review. Unfortunately, you forgot about the deal of the tour that you have flexible anything about this tour and adaptation with the local!
I told to everyone (NOT ONLY YOU) there was no signal in this location. We do have back up. We have 4 motorbikes brought you to the jungle, if there's something happened they will tell to me and anything was under controlled by us. Then, I did not offer to this tour to visit LONG HOUSE or HANDICRAFT.
Please, read carefully our link description! We offered Mungku Baru village and we can trekking to Iron wood and in the viilage, we will see Sandung (Bones house). Then, there was statement in Mungku Baru Description about "This tour package is recommended for physically healthy people and able to walk for more than 5 kilometers." (Please, before you join the tour, read carefully about the description)

First thing that we thought you didn't serious of this tour was you wore flip-flop during the trekking. Normally for jungle trekking people wear shoes.
2nd, why we thought that you denied our explanation before the tour that we told "YOU HAVE FLEXIBLE WITH ANYTHING! Sometimes, the itinerary can be changed depending on the situation. Then Adaption with the locals are needed!" Then, you were not flexible.

Please, don't compare between another village.
Indonesia is the one of beautiful place in the world especially in Kalimantan. Native tribe in Kalimantan is Dayak, but we have more than 100 Dayak tribes in Kalimantan. Loksado is part of village in South Kaimantan and popular with Bamboo Rafting besides, Mungku Baru village is part of Central Kalimantan that popular with hundred years Iron wood and human bones house. (So, they are totally different!)

Based from rider info that I hired, they did not leave your girlfriend in a miners place. They just stopped because of rain. Then, after few minutes they continue to rode.

Once again, I appreciate your review. Every comment from our guest will be responded from me. And, just for your info, Central Kalimantan expenses is higher than than the other location in Indonesia. I make sure the price that I offered to you was a backpacker price.
Thank You


Yun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017

We were in April/Mai in Indonesia. It was the first time in Kalimantan. Yun made for us a tailormade excursion: perfect program and good dinner every evening. We were glad to promote Yun's business as a young starting woman in a male dominated world of tourist guiding. Keep the good work going on, Yun ! Greetings from Anke and Roger The Netherlands.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank rknoben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yun P, Owner at Central Borneo Guide, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2018

Thank you for using Central Borneo Guide. Your satisfaction during the tour is our priority. See you again to the next trip!

Sincerely,

Yun P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017 via mobile

My friend and I did a day trip with Central Borneo Guide to see the orangutans and it was better than we could have imagined. We saw multiple orangutans up close and had plenty of time to watch them. Yun even helped us get photos of the monkeys from the best angels. The rest of the day trip was also really well organised. Finally she organised our hotel in our next city and got us a discounted rate!!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Maddy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yun P, Owner at Central Borneo Guide, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2018

Thank you for using Central Borneo Guide. Your satisfaction during the tour is our priority. See you again to the next trip!

Sincerely,

Yun P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017 via mobile

I really enjoy the experience with Central Borneo Guide. Yun always make us feel comfortable while our trip.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank AtPKY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yun P, Owner at Central Borneo Guide, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2018

Thank you for using Central Borneo Guide. Your satisfaction during the tour is our priority. See you again to the next trip!

Sincerely,

Yun P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2017 via mobile

We had Yun as our guide for 3 days in Palangka Raya, and she was absolutely amazing! She took us places that we couldn't have thought ourselves - including a small local project 'Protect Our Borneo', which really made a big impression. We would recommend her to everybody, who is considering or is going to Kalimantan! She is very dedicated and professional in her work. We had three days in Palangka Raya, which we will never forget, thanks to Yun!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Katrine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yun P, Owner at Central Borneo Guide, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2018

Thank you for using Central Borneo Guide. Your satisfaction during the tour is our priority. See you again to the next trip!

Sincerely,

Yun P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews