We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Customer Service, Non-competitive Old School” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rex Hotel
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in Vung Tau
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service, Non-competitive Old School”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Arrogant hotel, if you're an experienced traveler go somewhere else. There is cheaper and better quality elsewhere. I booked directly online. Poor customer service upon arrival. Almost like a resentful approach, as if they didn't want my business. After a long tiring trip, and going to my Standard room, had to go back to reception and ask them to turn the power on in my room. Ridiculous. Staff did not inform us we needed vouchers for breakfast and the pool. Silly, reception should have told us, and or given us the vouchers upon check in. The buffet breakfast was ok, Asian food was good. But the bacon and sausage was terrible. They cook eggs in the buffet area, but you have to sit down and ask staff for eggs. They do not serve you from the buffet area, so strange. The Standard room was big and clean, so was the hotel and pool. Shower was a hand hose in the bathtub and did not mount to wall properly. So had to hold the shower hose to wash Vietnamese style sitting down (sigh). The hotel is clearly getting old and lacking extra facilities. I noticed much older westerners (Americans and Australians) at this hotel and their bars. Aged 50-70 years. Also a small few Euro backpackers. The pool bar had many local ladies trying to "work" the older men at night (to buy more drinks or buy the women). I think their target market are people who want an Australian or western style hotel in Vung Tau. They rely on customers ignorant or complacent enough to pay the higher prices, and put up with poor customer service. But it's below average, even by Australian standards. The hotel bar also attracts working girls (if you're into that), did not like that. In Saigon HCMC, had a way better hotel, at a better price. Eg A&EM hotel has a computer in each room with free internet, much classier decor and feel. The local hotels are usually much more competitive and do those little extra things or have extra features so you have a pleasant stay and trip. Overall would not stay at the Rex again, and do not recommend. If you've traveled before and or familiar with the Asia Pacific region you will not be impressed. I don't think other young professionals would like it here.

Room Tip: Standard room had a hand shower hose. Did not have western style fixed shower head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B Adventures A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    33
    23
    2
See reviews for
14
28
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Trying to give a rating for this hotel is difficult as on the surface of things it is more than acceptable. The rooms are large, light and airy with a balcony, comfortable bed and good cleanliness. The swimming pool is also pleasant although hard loungers without any type of pad or mattress is hardly comfortable. However, there are many, many hotels which also have these things (and for a much lower price). In my own opinion it is the little things which make an okay hotel a great hotel and this place is sadly lacking in all those 'little things'.
The staff are neither warm, welcoming or especially helpful although to be fair they are efficient. It feels as if this hotel has a rather high opinion of itself and is trying to convey that with an air of untouchability and aloofness. Somebody must have told them that good quality means acting this way.
I didn't appreciate the phone call at 11.30 pm to remind me to lock my door (which was locked) nor do I need my pillowcase changing 2 or 3 times a day (very odd!) Room cleaning always seemed to want to come into the room when I was in it and then never came back again when I told them it wasn't convenient, unless I specifically requested it.
The restaurant is another case of this hotel thinking it is rather more special than it is. The buffet breakfast is excellent - with a very wide choice of Asian or Western options. However if you order a meal then the portions are ridiculously small for the price. I could actually count the number of fries served with my beef (which I am still in some doubt as to whether it was beef) - 11.
There is a hotel information folder in the room which contains none of the information which would actually be helpful. For example, it would be good to know BEFORE you have settled yourself at the pool that a voucher is required from reception.
I got a large discount on my 4 days here and STILL feel I paid well over the odds for a hotel which has a very inflated idea of itself. If I had paid the full price I would have been mortified.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deneice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vung Tau hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the REX for two nights, was quite unimpressed overall. I will say that it was clean and the staff were very friendly and the pool was great. Overall though, the place is very tired and in dire need of refurbishment. I found the breakfast to be very substandard as it had limited spread and wasn't kept topped up. The bathroom was terrible... the base was a bathtub that's not connected to the wall so any water hitting the tiles would go all over the floor. The shower head, a removable handheld type didn't actually face the right direction so was utterly useless.
Overall, if you were on a budget then the place is clean and acceptable, but I'd rather pay a bit more and stay somewhere nicer.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank matty_the_fatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Had 2 x 5 weeks stay at the Rex hotel and it was a bit worn and well used but very clean and the staff would do anything for you. The breakfast are very good all the fresh fruit you can eat, met alot of nice people in the south which was also a great help. i always say if its clean & theres internet what more do you want. Great pool and bar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadMal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We came here without knowing no more about Vung Tao or Rex hotel, than what LP and RG has to say, but we were quite surprised. Yes it is an old hotel and it shows signs of tear and wear, but rooms are large, beds are good, pool is great and thewiew from 5-8 floor is fantastic. Breakfast left little to desire, Minibar is cheap and especially bellmen and nighttime bartender are really nice folks. Hotel is close to shops, parks and the beachfront. Other reviews talked about sexy girls working the pool area but that wasn't the case when we were there. The bar overlooking the pool do have some girls, who probably are suposed to attract male costumers, but the bar isn't part of the hotel and the girls stayed in the bar area.

Room Tip: Get a room on floors 6-8
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Was recommended this hotel from family friends - was not disappointed nor over the moon about it. Time travelled back to Soviet Russia - engraved in my mind is the prison looking hallways mixing metal nets and cement looking paint in the corridors leading to the rooms. Rooms were large yet dated : bathrooms had dark spots in shower corners, leaking out of the basin. Had several surprise visitors to our rooms aka lizards which the hotel staff had a hard time locating - twice in one night - we were finally allowed to switch rooms. Best feature are the great views onto the sea, great location in between town and city, and the pool - people came from outside the hotel to use it so it means a lot. Breakfast choice good. Upon arriving there were some construction work right next to the pool area though so couldn't really relax. Recommend restaurant right behind the hotel : a French bistro run by a southern French man which catered for my moms very strict food requirements - so a+ for that.

Room Tip: We were three in one room - good sized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kahawa2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

A nice hotel , well situated on the front beach, our room over looked the sea
nice rooms, but this hotel could do with a refurb as it looks and feels out of date by about 30 years
staff pleasant, and rooms clean , it a good value for money hotel though
mike and jan

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room , and tell them you will not pay extra for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vung Tau hotels
0.4 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 70 in Vung Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 70 in Vung Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pullman Vung Tau
Pullman Vung Tau
#2 of 70 in Vung Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#9 of 70 in Vung Tau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petro Hotel
Petro Hotel
#13 of 70 in Vung Tau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vung Tau P&T Hotel
Vung Tau P&T Hotel
#19 of 70 in Vung Tau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Property: Rex Hotel
Address: 1 Le Quy Don, Vung Tau 790000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province > Vung Tau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Vung Tau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rex hotel is well-known in Vung Tau city of Vietnam as one of the first international standard three-star hotel. Located in central of beautiful city, within a few minutes walking to reach the Front beach and very close to many tourist attractions of Vung Tau city, REX hotel is ideally convenient for staying working, visiting, relaxing and shopping. Rex hotel comprises of 77 well-appointed guestrooms with stunning view over the sea, mountain and downtown of Vung Tau city. All the rooms are featured with a traditional and sleek design with warm furnishing. You can enjoy the fresh air and sea breeze from every private balcony. Lying in the white wooden lounger chair in the swimming pool area will make you feel most comfortable and really relax. Our obligation is to make REX hotel be "Your home away from home" when you go on vacation or business to Vung Tau, a beautiful coastal city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Vung Tau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing