We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T BOTHER!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sammy Hotel Vung Tau
Ranked #35 of 71 Hotels in Vung Tau
Vung Tau, Vietnam
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“DON'T BOTHER!!!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here the first week it opened in June 1996. Nothing has changed, service poor, rooms tatty, ours was a 'mountain view"== windows overlooking half built building.No hairdryer(for wife not me) no tissues, the basic of room furniture. Breakfast average catering to Asian tastes. This place needs a refurbishment. NEVER gain, left after one night to a 5 star hotel at the Front Beach. For $59 AUD a night I expect a lot more than this rubbish. I gladly left and sacrificed the remained of the nights I had paid for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    17
    33
    12
    7
See reviews for
18
17
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I went there with my family earlier November 2012. The hotel is great, clean, and reasonable price. I stay there for two nights; I would recommend to book online thru the hote-in-Vietnam.com or Agoda.com or any other website which is will more cheaper than walk in. I pay the the first night at $37 while the second night $42 becoz of it is weekend but this is fine to me.

I like the breakfast which has many food for choice and good food; especially my son he like the pool which is very nice; the hotel located in front of the beach that you can enjoy just back from swim and come to the pool;

Room Tip: if you want to rent a moto or car don't go direct with hotel as it is expensive (almost double p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puthywong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Big and clean room.
Situated next to a mall / supermarket in case you want to get supples, and across the road from the beach.
Same food for breakfast everyday.
There's no small tables for 1 or two, only big 10 seater round table.
Sometimes when they have a wedding banquet booked, they will cram everyone into a small function room for breakfast. It can get a bit crowded especially during weekends when the tour groups come in.
Location wise, it's quite far from everywhere but on the plus side you will enjoy the peace.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winston K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakhonsawan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Big hotel with more room, near beach, but it far from downtown of Vung Tau.
The room is ok, it's quite clean. Not bad to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vor_sammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff NSW
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Went to "Vungers" to see where I took some "R&C" 42 years ago. What a change. Now a popular seaside resort for families from HCMC. The whole strip of hotels, beach clubs, facilities reminded me of the Med. coast of Spain with all it's seaside resorts. Stayed on "Back Beach" thinking it would not be too far from everything - but now wish I has stayed on "Front Beach" - where all the action and hydrofoil terminal is. Hotel was a 2-star, recently upgraded to 3-star. Looks average from outside. Not welcoming as you enter the reception area to find it's does not have AC - just a couple of fans. Same on the foolrs, no AC. My "deluxe" room did have a great view over the boulevard and the beach clubs and the bay, and once it got going, the AC was great. Room was very large - but sparsley furnished. Just the queen-size bed, writing desk, TV and mini bar (with good prices for water, beer), and a coule of chairs. The room had a very large bay window with a central pole (for support or pole dancing??) and nothing else in it. A couple of chairs would have finished it off nicely. Bathroom had a shower and was reasonably clean, lacking good toiletries. Unfortunately I was at the hotel when there were 5 coachloads of Chinese tourist - and I think I was the only Caucasian staying there. Needless to say the breakfast area was a complete mess with several hundred Chinese squabbling over a Chinese-oriented breakfast offer. Never did understand why they couldn't put their watermelon seeds on a plate instead of all over the tablecloth. Breakfast room does have small tables for 2/4 persons - only large round tables for 8-10 persons. Not the way I like to have breakfast - sitting with people I don't know! Breakfast offer was a little poor for "Westerners" - although they at least had a toast machine and an egg station. Would I stay here again or recommend the hotel? No

Room Tip: Stay here only if you want to have access to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwalaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

room terrible,food terrible,staff good,dont waste ya time.Went to PetroSetco hotel near ferry

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jezza1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vung Tau hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We had a pleasant stay at the Sammy Hotel in January 2012. The staff were very friendly and helpful and it was good value for money, clean and in a good location. The beach is opposite and there's a shopping centre next door with a supermarket and a public pool opposite as well.
The buffet breakfast was good although when there aren't enough people staying they roll out a set menu which is just different variations on noodles. It got a bit monotonous as we stayed there for nearly a week.
The hotel was a bit dated, probably built in the 1970s, but the groovy patterned tiled floors and fab wicker furniture added a little something to our stay.
We liked the fact thati it was also away from the girlie bars on the other side of town.

Room Tip: We stayed on the eighth floor and the wifi connection wasn't very good here. Also, we were plagu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vung Tau hotels
0.4 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#15 of 71 in Vung Tau
97 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 71 in Vung Tau
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#2 of 71 in Vung Tau
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#19 of 71 in Vung Tau
94 reviews
1.4 mi away
Muong Thanh Vung Tau Hotel
Muong Thanh Vung Tau Hotel
#8 of 71 in Vung Tau
51 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lan Rung Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sammy Hotel Vung Tau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sammy Hotel Vung Tau

Property: Sammy Hotel Vung Tau
Address: 157 Thuy Van St | Thang Tam Ward, Vung Tau, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province > Vung Tau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 71 Hotels in Vung Tau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sammy Hotel Vung Tau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sammy Hotel Vung Tau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing