We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant stay...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sammy Hotel Vung Tau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sammy Hotel Vung Tau
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Vung Tau
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

We had a pleasant stay at the Sammy Hotel in January 2012. The staff were very friendly and helpful and it was good value for money, clean and in a good location. The beach is opposite and there's a shopping centre next door with a supermarket and a public pool opposite as well.
The buffet breakfast was good although when there aren't enough people staying they roll out a set menu which is just different variations on noodles. It got a bit monotonous as we stayed there for nearly a week.
The hotel was a bit dated, probably built in the 1970s, but the groovy patterned tiled floors and fab wicker furniture added a little something to our stay.
We liked the fact thati it was also away from the girlie bars on the other side of town.

Room Tip: We stayed on the eighth floor and the wifi connection wasn't very good here. Also, we were plagu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    17
    31
    11
    7
See reviews for
18
15
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

Good location, just cross the road and you have access to the beach. Beside the hotel is a small supermarket for you to stock up on water. if you walk further down the beach, there are stalls open at night where you can buy fresh seafood and get them to cook for you to eat on the spot.
The hotel pool is small and can get crowded, but there's another pool at the beach where you can pay to get in.
Just take note it's quite a distance from the Vung Tau ferry terminal, so you're better off taking a taxi from the ferry terminal to the hotel. Walking would take you about 2hours!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfsm97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Have used this hotel many times. Rooms are great in front, Breakfast buffet included but mainly Asian food. Hotel has massage and bar plus small shopping. New mall dext door has food court. Restruant across the street by beach has good live seafood. Beach chairs and tables with umbrella a little spendy, pay before using. Ploy is to let you sit down for about 5 min., then try to charge you higher prices....Good security at hotel and good staff.

Room Tip: Be clear about room view and price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vnvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

The hotel is very near to the beach if that is what you are looking for. The beach was OK, nothing too exciting. There's a night market nearby, about 5 minutes cab ride. Food around the hotel was hard to find. Quiet part of the beach, breakfast was good and staff were friendly. Our room was spacious and rather clean. This is OK for a 3-star rating hotel. The concierge was helpful with our luggage. Pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexac90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

At the time i stayed, they're rushing to renovate the swimming pool so working day & night. The noise can easily be heard from the left wing rooms. I suffered the 1st night, but it remained until morning, 11am I can't stand and complained to hotel staffs. What they did first is asked me " Why i didn't hear this complain from any other rooms?" They refuse to come & check by themselves when i requested, and only then agreed to change room for me. Hotel looks better from outside rather inside (old facilities), poor breakfast as well.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicvic1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

I chose Sammy based on wanting to be on the Back Beach and price. I found the hotel to be great. The beach was right across the street. And for $3 per day, I used the awesome public pool directly across the street, on the beach. The breakfast was as good as any I had in Vietnam, except the HCMC Rex. They had good internet service, good restaurant, great service on room service, laundry service and extra candy etc from housekeeping. $2-$3 cab ride to get anywhere in the downtown area. Great ATM next door at the shopping mall. Overall, I would definitely stay there. I enjoyed the laid back atmosphere of Vung Tao and the Sammy Hotel was very professional and clean. A good value.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

The room was so-so. The aircon did not seem to work properly with it going in an on-off mode. The room had a faint tabacco smell. Genrally, the city view was ok. If viewed from the balcony, there are like white stones . It's kind of creppy because it looked like cemetry. I would only reccomand it unless a person spends a large percentage on the beach.An added advantage would be the Imperial plaza which has a lot of shops.
Tip: The hotel rooom I stayed in had no electrical kettle to boil water, so it maybe be advisable to purchase bottles of water beforehand from Imperial plaza. The two bottle given was hardly suffient from two thirsty travellers. There is no safe though.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Modernbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vung Tau hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vung Tau hotels
0.4 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#11 of 70 in Vung Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 70 in Vung Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 70 in Vung Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Corvin Hotel
Corvin Hotel
#41 of 70 in Vung Tau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lan Rung Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pullman Vung Tau
Pullman Vung Tau
#2 of 70 in Vung Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sammy Hotel Vung Tau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sammy Hotel Vung Tau

Property: Sammy Hotel Vung Tau
Address: 157 Thuy Van St | Thang Tam Ward, Vung Tau, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province > Vung Tau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Vung Tau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sammy Hotel Vung Tau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sammy Hotel Vung Tau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing