We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and Great staff”
Review of Cap Saint Jacques

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cap Saint Jacques
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Vung Tau
ho chi minh city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location and Great staff”
Reviewed May 4, 2010

The location was great, away from the city area but not too distant. My husband and I stayed at Cap Saint Jacques Hotel for 3 days, the rooms are very comfortable and the hotel near to the beach. The breakfast were great, the eggs delicious and the chef would cook them however you wished. Staff were friendly and helpful organizing transportation for us for our local tours.nothing was too much trouble.
all in all, we had a very good time and definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mendoza_joy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
17
15
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

The hotel was very noisy, lots of activities in the lobby/conference room during the day and evening. At night you can hear the music (thump thump) from a discotheque downstairs until 1AM. People smoke everywhere, in room, in restaurant despite numerous signs posted on the walls. Staff don't seem to care about enforcing the rules. Pool is small. The beach is/was dirty. The only thing good about this hotel is their little Yellow Dragon Cafe outside which serves wonderful traditional Vietnamese meals for about 4.00 dollars. I booked the trip through Luxury tour but will not recommend neither them nor the hotel to anyone despite the guarantee. Once the money is in their pocket, you can forget about it. Vietnam has jungle laws! And watch out for a seafood restaurant (Thuy Ta) at 169 Vo Thi Sau ( not sure about the address #). They'll bill you for the things you didn't order and more for the things you ordered. Do not use the towels, eat the peanuts, and dessert they put on your table or not (watch the bill). You'll be charged for everything. Not only that we would never go back there, we ended our lunch with a fight about our bill with the owner/staff. Talk about robbery!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haidiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vung Tau hotels

Kidwelly,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2009

I stayed at this hotel in Dec 2008. Staff were freindly, smiling and helpful.

Hotel is on the back beach, so is not near the main town. However, there is a bus stop across the road, and for 2000 dong (about 10 cents) you can get into town very quickly as the bus runs about every 10/15 minutes.

Breakfast is good, and included in the price.

There is a shopping centre and food mart about 10 minutes walk from the hotel, although there is a shop selling basics next door--this is expensive though.

Beach is across the road.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BundyLanday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2008

This hotel is one of two that operate together, the other being the Dic Star. They also share the same outside bar.

This is a three star hotel but has to loose a star for lack of aptmosphere. The hotel room was bright, large and clean with a view of the heavily polluted beach where pollution from 9 million sigonese spill out from the Sigon river and wash up on the beach in front of the hotel. The hotel does not really cater for westerners. No one speaks english, not even a little bit. The breakfast was particularly poor and almost exclusively catered for Vietnamese, even though there wern't any.

Vung Tau is a weekend playground for Sigonese and so is practically devoid of life during the week other than european workers from the oil and gas rigs who are in transit. Judging from the number of people at breakfast, we were one of only a few groups staying in this huge hotel and the Dic Star next door appeared to be the same, with staff lounging around watching tv, obviously bored stiff.

With no one around, no one at the bars or in the pool the place completely lacked any atmosphere. We paid for 3 nights but moved out after one to find more people. We moved to the Rex on the other side of the cape which was scruffier but much buisier because of the rig workers and a particularly well cliented bar.

  • Liked — View of ocean from room
  • Disliked — No one around and heavily polluted sea.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank simonclemence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2008

The staffs were very rude and lie about internet access. When my sister asked about Wi-Fi, they said they included in the room. When we got in, I could not connect to the internet, the signal was very weak. I called them and asked for help and did not notice that wireless only available in the lobby until later. Instead of advice me to go down to the lobby, they told me that there is no technical support after working hours and there is something wrong with my computer, their wireless internet is working excellent. I was arguing with them that nothing wrong with my computer. I also get very upset about the room was not clean, smelly smoke, and they did not change the bed sheet. I just stay only one night and not recommend to anyone to come to this hotel even their location is right on the beach.

  • Liked — location right on the beach
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank trangdoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semporna, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2006

My review is very dated but at least I hope you can have something to consider.

This hotel was recommended to me by a friend. When I got off the hydro foil ship from Ho Chi Minh City to Vung Tau, I told the taxi driver to bring me there directly. It took about 10 minutes to reach the hotel from the area in front of Hai Au Hotel where the ship stopped.

The check in and check out were smooth. Staff was polite and smiling. Buffet breakfast was simple at 20,000 dongs per person.

The lobby, the room and everything in this hotel was done the old style. Some people at their 50-60 whom I talked to refer to Vung Tau as "Cap" which sounds like the first word in "Cap Saint Jacques". Are there any connection? Is it the first luxurious property in Vung Tau before 1975, so famous that some uses the name to indicate Vung Tau?

The daily rate I used in 2003 was about US$35. From the hotel, cross the street, we can reach the beach. Night time beach was quiet. There was a young group standing around, hands in hands, playing the so-called collective games. The hotel has a nice surrounding with plants and grass, quite clean. You can take a walk along the beach at night, very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank land_premier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vung Tau hotels
0.0 mi away
DIC Star Hotel
DIC Star Hotel
#42 of 72 in Vung Tau
37 reviews
1.1 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#14 of 72 in Vung Tau
97 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sammy Hotel Vung Tau
Sammy Hotel Vung Tau
#33 of 72 in Vung Tau
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#22 of 72 in Vung Tau
98 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 72 in Vung Tau
140 reviews
1.7 mi away
Corvin Hotel
Corvin Hotel
#31 of 72 in Vung Tau
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap Saint Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Saint Jacques

Property: Cap Saint Jacques
Address: 169 Thuy Van, Vung Tau, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province > Vung Tau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vung Tau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cap Saint Jacques 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cap Saint Jacques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Saint Jacques Hotel Vung Tau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing