We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Petro House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Palace Hotel(Vung Tau)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Resort(Vung Tau)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Petro Hotel(Vung Tau)
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Hotel(Vung Tau)
$65
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lam Son Hotel(Vung Tau)
$10
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
10
16
17
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
16
17
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdecent hotelno liftone nightplace to stayhalaldesk
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 57 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Petro House is located in a beach area called Vung Tau, approximately 2.5 hours from Ho Chi Minh City in Vietnam. You can either take a minivan or hydrofoil boat. It is easy to walk to the beach, only like 5 mins. There are lots of nice little restaurants and bars in the surrounding area where you can find both traditional Vietnamese and international cuisine.

We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to an executive suite which has around 50 square metres and has balcony with an amazing view of the city. All the rooms have TV, AC, hairdryer and minibar. The breakfast is included in a room rate and you can choose from 8 different menu selection which starts again both cuisines. We ended up paying 50 USD dollars for this 3 stars hotel.

You can easily spent few days in the city, there is always plenty of things to do. You can take a cable car or just rest on th beach

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hcslovanka1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We had 1 of the 2 modernised rooms, which was adequate [cleaners did not wash used coffee cups]. We had a view of a corrugated asbestos roof & the wall of the building next door. Windows should be double glazed to reduce the traffic honking [even at 445am]. Inward facing rooms have no windows.Breakfast was poor, main part was freshly done but other bits [eg saute potatoes] seemed to have been cooked beforehand and left. Evening meal, also poor, curry was 1 chicken thigh in curry gravy. Pool has been closed so they can build an extension on the lot next door. You can use the [very shabby/many tiles missing] pool at the Rex Hotel, 200m walk away and 60000VND cost [they provide towels] but only 6 sunbeds!. Hotel booked a taxi from HCMC airport to Vung Tau for $85, which seemed very expensive. It didn't appear on the check out bill but on a separate bill so I suspect it the excess was going in someone's pocket.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ployshol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

I was in Vung Tau for the weekend in August 2010 on pleasure with a friend. The Petro House was an older hotel and while it wasn't 4 star hotel when compared to 4 start hotels in the United States it was easily a high 3 or 4 star hotel when compared to similar countries. The rooms come equipped with complimentary web access, bottled water, HBO and other movie channels and a menu-based breakfast is included. The hotel's staff is helpful and while they don't speak very much English, they are more than willing to suggest good seafood restaurants, flag down cabs and exchange currency. The hotel additionally has great restaurant where you can eat breakfast lunch and dinner. Also, while the hotel doesn't have room service any meal you order at the restaurant can be brought to your room and while they don't have a swimming pool, they have a partnership with the Rex hotel which does have a pool.

As far as the neighborhood, the hotel is only a ten minute taxi ride from the main port where the Petro Express ferry and other ferries drop you off which is really convenient. In general the hotel is in a great neighborhood which is pretty close to some great stores, restaurants and clubs. It isn't in the tourist district, so you will get the more authentic Vung Tau experience. And the hotel itself is mostly stayed at by people in the city for pertroleum related business.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

Stayed from 15th May - 26th May. 11 days.

The room was reserved by PTSC for me. At check-in, i was informed that the deluxe room was not available and thye have upgraded me to a Suite Room. Nothing like wat u see in the brochure, but it has the Classic, spartan Indo-Chine feel to it. Many would think high end luxury when Indochine is mentioned, but this is just the original indochine feel minus the luxury. Took a few pictures.


I have no complains about the staff, as i know they did their best to accomodate with whatever they have.

Food was ok. They have a Malaysian Cook, for those from Asia, and a fair share of Burgers and Fish & Chips. The longer you stay, the more it feels like a 2nd home, as the staff starts interacting with you more. Probably due to the culture of the Vietnamese people who requires time to warm up to you.

Cable TV, WIFI at the lobby, and internet cable in the room.

So, if you dont mind the occasional 2-5 minutes blackout (5 times during my stay), and the internet service outage ( 3days during my stay), this will be a good place to stay.

Wudnt suggest this hotel to holiday makers though, as the action is on the otherside of Vung Tau. Would suggest this hotel to Oil & Gas personnel who needs to travel to and fro PTSC Supply Base and its vicinity if you prefer a laid back hotel with the necessary amenities.

If im going to Vung Tau for work, yes, i might consider returning

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SadatHassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Having looked at the reviews from other travellors - maybe a few words of explanation.
This Hotel was originally the PetroVietnam Company guest house. If you were visting a PteroVietnam Company in Vung Tau, this is where they put you (we are going back MANY years!). Back then it wouldn't have rated any *!
Now it is much improved and whilst not being anywhere near the "luxury" star rating, it is a Hotel that I don't mind staying at. (Given that I spend 10 months a year staying in Hotels in Asia and usually on the Excutive Club floor!).
Travellors must also recognise that Vung Tau is two cities - the small fishing village next to the ferry terminal & the city over the mountain! It took me 5 years to find the CITY of Vung Tau.
It also amazes me that the Palace Hotel is rated as No.2 - they must have re-built the thing! From my experince, I would class the Palace as one of the worst Hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_AP_Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews