We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with large apartments”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Vung Tau
perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel with large apartments”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

We stayed for 1 night in a 2 bedroom apartment which was huge. We spent a wonderful day touring Vung Tau, Nui Dat and visiting the Long Tan Cross and a relaxing afternoon around the swimming pool. This hotel was a bit dated but clean and the large apartment suited our family of 6. It is in a great location, the staff were very efficient & polite and the food was excellent especially the Vietnamese Chicken Salad and breakfast was huge and very tasty. My husband and I enjoyed a few cocktails in the Lobby bar which was great as well. Overall good value just needs a bit of a update..

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KELLIE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    74
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
4
33
12
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2010

Just returned from another visit to Vung Tau. Yes there are far nicer beach locales in Vietnam, but none as close as Vung Tau is to Saigon. I have stayed at the Palace Hotel on three different occasions. The first being in 2006 and Dec 2009 . Each time the hotel was vastly different. It is now a 5 star property with an in hotel little casino, on the lively front beach part of Vung Tau. It's location makes it a comfortable walk to the town center or along the beach front. Also lots of places to eat to choose from, within easy walking distance from hotel.
Only suggestion I would make would be to make sure you book on-line, the price rises for walk in rack rates

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MALYUA70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrara, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

I have stayed in hotels all around the world. This is by far the best. The accommodation the meals and in particular the staff were absolutely fabulous. Congratulations to all concerned with the Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry7RAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

Just returned from another visit to Vung Tau. Yes there are far nicer beach locales in Vietnam, but none as close as Vung Tau is to Saigon. I have stayed at the Palace Hotel on three different occasions. The first being in 1971, then in 2006 and now 2010. Each time the hotel was vastly different. It is now a 5 star property with an in hotel little casino, on the lively front beach part of Vung Tau. It's location makes it a comfortable walk to the town center or along the beach front. Also lots of places to eat to choose from, within easy walking distance from hotel.
Only suggestion I would make would be to make sure you book on-line, the price rises for walk in rack rates

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulMNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

Nice hotel, good food, nice staff, great location. Vietnam is a wonderful place to visit - I would recommend it to everybody who wants to see real Asia.

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank IlleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
314 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

At $75 a night and unbranded, I had low expectations when I booked the Palace as my accommodation for the SPE Golf and Tennis tournament in Vung Tau. But it was excellent and the tournament's closing dinner was held in the ballroom, so I could stroll upstairs afterwards.

The room was basic but enormous, with a big flat screen tv showing a good range of channels, including BBC World and MTV. The air con worked, the shower was hot and there's both a tennis court and a swimming pool. The lift had adverts for a sauna and massage centre, too, which I didn't try. There was a business centre downstairs for anyone who needed to check email. Two complimentary bottles of water came in the room. Clean white towels and clean white sheets. A functioning kettle and two tea bags (but no milk, please excuse my Britishness).

The staff were professional and helpful. The hotel kept my passport for the duration of the stay but didn't take a credit card swipe (so I figured it was fair). The receptionist arranged a good quality Toyota with a safe and professional driver and seatbelts to Saigon Airport at six am for my flight back to Singapore. The driver was there and waiting at 5.45am, the wake-up call worked, the bill was correct - unbelievable! At $83 the transfer was more than the room with breakfast and fast, free wireless internet. Yes, fast and free wireless internet (managers of branded hotels elswhere please take note). The hotel is close to the ferry terminal - less than one km and is about a mile from the PetroVietnam Tower. There is a strip of bars and pool places beside the hotel but noise wasn't an issue. I caught the ferry down from HCMC on the way and I have to say my three nights were comfortable.

Breakfast was by voucher - and a fresh voucher was placed in the room every day at 5pm. It featured some odd dishes (cold toasted cheese sandwiches being one) but there was a good short order chef turning out omelettes. I had rice noodles from the rather limited room service menu, but they were tasty and delivered in a timely manner. The minibar had two beers, two waters, two Coke and two vitamin drinks. It's not five star in terms of furniture and fittings and decor but quite frankly, who cares? It's a city hotel in Vung Tau.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

The Palace is what supose to be a very good 4 star hotel. It is well located, built and equiped. The hotel is well managed. There is a visible concern in deliver a quality service. In a general way the service is good. Rooms are clean and confortable. The front desk friendly and eficient. The restaurant presents a menu that is not expected in a city like Vung Tau but the table service is poor and lazy. Rooms are very clean but bed clothes are not or poorly pressed. Landry service eficient in time but with the same bad pressing. During day time and until 10 pm the front desk is top level providing a 5 star service, but at night stuff move in to front of tv leaving a needed customer without support. At hotel massage parlour high tips are "imposed" to customers.There is a hotel concern about keep a decent environment do not allowing the stay for non married couples but during night is possible find bar area with many prostitutes with a non shy profile. Looks that the absence of supervising at night removes 3 from the 4 daily stars allowing room rent outside hotel policy and without papers being issued. A good hotel were bad things runned by an installed mub happend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VRMGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vung Tau hotels
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 70 in Vung Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pullman Vung Tau
Pullman Vung Tau
#2 of 70 in Vung Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lan Rung Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#9 of 70 in Vung Tau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leman Cap Resort & Spa
Leman Cap Resort & Spa
#5 of 70 in Vung Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.4 mi away
Malibu Hotel
Malibu Hotel
#4 of 70 in Vung Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Property: Palace Hotel
Address: 01 Nguyen Trai St, Ward 1, Vung Tau, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province > Vung Tau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Vung Tau
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Vung Tau
#6 Spa Hotel in Vung Tau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palace Hotel is proud of being the first recognized 4-star hotel in Vung Tau City, one of the top ten 4-star hotels in Vietnam (the award conferred by Vietnam National Administration of Tourism - Vietnam Tourist Association) Located right in the city center, it is quite convenient for tourists to visit tourist points, recreation areas and shopping centers. In particular, the hotel is an ideal destination for businesspersons and experts in short-term and long-term business trips in Vung Tau. With 95 bedrooms and 17 high grade comfortable apartments, the most modern conference hall system to the international standard in Vung Tau, Western and Asian restaurants, dining rooms with capability of serving up to 1,000 guests at the same time, Palace Hotel is the reliable choice to hold important events of the Province, international conferences, a place to welcome diplomatic delegations and national officials. Palace Gamming & Bar Club that is located in the campus of the hotel provides games with lottery to foreign tourists and overseas Vietnamese people. With the most modern equipment system, the customers will feel relaxed and interested. At Palace Hotel, with complete service system, professional service style together with friendly hotel staff, we undertake to bring satisfaction to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Vung Tau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing