We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveler rating
34
82
29
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
82
29
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsferry terminalnice clean hotelbusiness tripbooking agentbars and restaurantsper nightegg stationacross the roadvetsbalconies
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 154 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2010

I have stayed in hotels all around the world. This is by far the best. The accommodation the meals and in particular the staff were absolutely fabulous. Congratulations to all concerned with the Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry7RAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

Just returned from another visit to Vung Tau. Yes there are far nicer beach locales in Vietnam, but none as close as Vung Tau is to Saigon. I have stayed at the Palace Hotel on three different occasions. The first being in 1971, then in 2006 and now 2010. Each time the hotel was vastly different. It is now a 5 star property with an in hotel little casino, on the lively front beach part of Vung Tau. It's location makes it a comfortable walk to the town center or along the beach front. Also lots of places to eat to choose from, within easy walking distance from hotel.
Only suggestion I would make would be to make sure you book on-line, the price rises for walk in rack rates

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulMNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Nice hotel, good food, nice staff, great location. Vietnam is a wonderful place to visit - I would recommend it to everybody who wants to see real Asia.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
Thank IlleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

At $75 a night and unbranded, I had low expectations when I booked the Palace as my accommodation for the SPE Golf and Tennis tournament in Vung Tau. But it was excellent and the tournament's closing dinner was held in the ballroom, so I could stroll upstairs afterwards.

The room was basic but enormous, with a big flat screen tv showing a good range of channels, including BBC World and MTV. The air con worked, the shower was hot and there's both a tennis court and a swimming pool. The lift had adverts for a sauna and massage centre, too, which I didn't try. There was a business centre downstairs for anyone who needed to check email. Two complimentary bottles of water came in the room. Clean white towels and clean white sheets. A functioning kettle and two tea bags (but no milk, please excuse my Britishness).

The staff were professional and helpful. The hotel kept my passport for the duration of the stay but didn't take a credit card swipe (so I figured it was fair). The receptionist arranged a good quality Toyota with a safe and professional driver and seatbelts to Saigon Airport at six am for my flight back to Singapore. The driver was there and waiting at 5.45am, the wake-up call worked, the bill was correct - unbelievable! At $83 the transfer was more than the room with breakfast and fast, free wireless internet. Yes, fast and free wireless internet (managers of branded hotels elswhere please take note). The hotel is close to the ferry terminal - less than one km and is about a mile from the PetroVietnam Tower. There is a strip of bars and pool places beside the hotel but noise wasn't an issue. I caught the ferry down from HCMC on the way and I have to say my three nights were comfortable.

Breakfast was by voucher - and a fresh voucher was placed in the room every day at 5pm. It featured some odd dishes (cold toasted cheese sandwiches being one) but there was a good short order chef turning out omelettes. I had rice noodles from the rather limited room service menu, but they were tasty and delivered in a timely manner. The minibar had two beers, two waters, two Coke and two vitamin drinks. It's not five star in terms of furniture and fittings and decor but quite frankly, who cares? It's a city hotel in Vung Tau.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

The Palace is what supose to be a very good 4 star hotel. It is well located, built and equiped. The hotel is well managed. There is a visible concern in deliver a quality service. In a general way the service is good. Rooms are clean and confortable. The front desk friendly and eficient. The restaurant presents a menu that is not expected in a city like Vung Tau but the table service is poor and lazy. Rooms are very clean but bed clothes are not or poorly pressed. Landry service eficient in time but with the same bad pressing. During day time and until 10 pm the front desk is top level providing a 5 star service, but at night stuff move in to front of tv leaving a needed customer without support. At hotel massage parlour high tips are "imposed" to customers.There is a hotel concern about keep a decent environment do not allowing the stay for non married couples but during night is possible find bar area with many prostitutes with a non shy profile. Looks that the absence of supervising at night removes 3 from the 4 daily stars allowing room rent outside hotel policy and without papers being issued. A good hotel were bad things runned by an installed mub happend.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VRMGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews