We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
33
82
29
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
82
29
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsferry terminalfishing boatsmaintained hotelnice clean hotelbusiness tripbooking agentbars and restaurantsper nightegg stationbreakfast was includedvietnam waracross the roadgreat poolswimming poolvetsbalconies
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 153 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night, prior to going offshore. Nice place, excellent buffet breakfast. Room has mini bar, but 2 x bottles of water are provided comp in room. Place was clean and service I had was very good. I think the room was around 1 million Vn dong (about $50 +/-) so was good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vz800cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

In Vung Tau with work and they arranged for me to stay here long term. Have been here for the past 4 months and have another 2 to go.

Hotel is very close to the main attractions of Vung Tau, the ferry terminal is a 5 to 10 min walk away - you are within a sandwedge swing to the sea. Lots of bars close by and plenty of places to eat all along the waterfront, western and local.

Staff are very friendly and always willing to help with any questions i have. Similarly with the housekeeping staff who always do a very good job. I am in an apratment type room which is massive. Seperate lounge/kitchen/dinning area, king bedroom and two bathrooms. Each of the rooms are very large and very well furnished, if a bit dated in their appearance, but for me they are functional and do the task. Flat screen TV with international channels and quick WIFI in each room.

Hotel restaurant also surprises me (in a good way) I've almost eaten everything on the menu once and not found anything bad. Prices are comparable to the restauants close by (certainly the western restaurants) - just note they add 15% in taxes afterwards.The breakfast buffet is VERY good with a large selection of western, japanese and local foods - the lady on the egg station makes a great omlette!

There is a small gym (but i've yet to see more than 3 people at any one time in it) at the bad next to the pool. Like the hotel rooms, there is plenty of kit, but a bit dated.

When work collegues come to visit me, they stay at the Imperial. All have said that whilst it looks great - and it does having eaten and drunk there before - the rooms are not all that (Imperial is listed as 5*, but more on looks than service). Also when they tell me the room rate, Its almost triple what I am paying here. They are now stopping here instead.

All in all a very good hotel - happy i've been calling this home for the past 4 months.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool to avoid the noise of the road
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TinoBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Possibly a little expensive for Vietnam but very comfortable (US$120 for a twin room with a glimpse of the sea). It's a spacious, beautifully maintained hotel with excellent service from all their staff. Wonderful buffet breakfast was included in the tariff & it started at 5.30am so we had time to eat before catching an early hydrofoil. I'd prefer more of a sea view but would probably go back to the Palace because it was just so comfortable & they made life so easy. You could get food & drinks at any time, check in or out at any time. They'll bring an excellent cup of hot coffee to your room for a ridiculously small amount of money! It's the little things that make you happy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J0FW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Vung Tau currently does not have many options in terms of good hotels though the new 5-star Pullman seems to be opening soon. At such at this moment, Palace Hotel is the best hotel is town.

Pros:
1. Great location - within walking distance to the main jetty, the beach front, entertaintment district, etc.
2. Best hotel in town (as of now that is)
3. Decent swimming pool

Cons:
1. It is old and the design looks ancient and outdated
2. The food choices are limited and the buffer breakfast is below average
3. Facilities like gym is very basic
4. No iron and ironing board are available - you need to pay to press your clothes
5, Room design is messy and not modern

I would suggest the patrons to take a walk along the seaside, It is well maintained with paved walkways for many kilometers. Ideal for walks and running.

Futher check out the small French bakeries in the vicinity and superb Indian Restaurant called Ali Baba situated right next. It offers some of the best Indian food I have tasted any way in the world.

Room Tip: Facing the sea
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R_Sudhagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The palace hotel is in the centre of the foreshore area close to great restaurants and easy taxi ride to the tourist sites of the Port city of Vungtau comfortable good food and good service at a great price. average price of US$50 per night with breakfast and breakfast is great a huge choice of food. Staff were always great. My room was well serviced and always clean. There is a good pool area . Money changing is done at a good rate in the hotel lobby but we just used ATM's for local currency.

Room Tip: dont take the lower rooms on the street side - it can be noisy at night. Some of my colleagues swapped rooms for this reason. dont take a lift from peole offering motor bike service outside the hotel they will rob you.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuart c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews