We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in Vung Tau for fresh seafood”
Review of Cay Bang

Cay Bang
Ranked #70 of 139 Restaurants in Vung Tau
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Vung Tau for fresh seafood”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

we went to Ganh Hao for dinner in our Last trip to VUng Tau, and ended up being not happy at all. Service was bad ( it was a busy restaurant at the time we came), the fish and crabs we ordered wasnt fresh, it was like from the freezer cause inside the fish, it was not cooked properly. This time we were so lucky to find Cay Bang. We came there for the first time, and so happy when the staff was so polite and good ( my nephew dropped his chopstick and a waitress brought another pair to table straight away.) Seafood were so fresh.Fish hot pot was lovely. We really enjoyed it. cay Bang is in our restaurant top list in Vung Tau now.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Leighhcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    14
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“sorely disappointing..used to be one of my favourite restaurants in Viet Nam”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I'm not sure whether there has been a change in management/ownership, but this is not the restaurant that I've been frequenting for the last couple of decades..quality of seafood is average, prices have shot up..service is shoddy..I'm very upset as I really don't know where to go now for family style seafood in Vung Tau

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dato' Ainuddin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Becareful with the prices, they dont put them on the menu. With rice costing VND110,000 and a small fish for 3 people costing VND449,000, plus drinks!!, our bill came to VND650,000 which wasnt really worth the money to be honest.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
494 reviews
368 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Refreshing good service and nice location”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This is favorite Seafood destination for our group in Vung Tau. A busy water front restauarant mainly frequented by locals, hanging out over the water giving a very nice aspect and still small enough so you don't feel you are in a factory like the Gan Hau back down the road.

The lead Waiter speaks very good English as do some staff so you can usually get your order done without too much fuss.

Great fresh seafood, and OK prices. Cay Bang is located right in front of the large Statue of the Virgin Mary about 800m past Gan Hao enormous Seafood restaurant.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ScambusterSZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Very very average”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

While i am loath to write reviews when I have visited somewhere once this was so average I felt it needs tt be said.
The astheics of the place is lovely right on the beach but the service was so bad we got the wrong drinks and the wrong meal. The Beef Salad was so bad my husband who eats anything left it the meat was ok but the salad had obviously been sitting there for so long in the dressing it was like a mushy mcdonalds salad.
It is also very overpriced, we have eaten in a few parts of Vietnam now and this has been the most expensive and most disapointing meal. PS watch out for the wet towels you are charged for them.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michele_6169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cay Bang also viewed

Vung Tau, Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province
Vung Tau, Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province
 
Vung Tau, Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province
Vung Tau, Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province
 

Been to Cay Bang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing