We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, adequate and nice view”
Review of Ocean Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Star Hotel
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Vung Tau
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap, adequate and nice view”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

clean and simple with a great view. On back beach which is nice since theres not so much going on which creates a nice lazy slow moving feel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    12
    0
    5
See reviews for
8
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I and my friends from Canada stay in this hotels in january last year, when we are back from the night sightseeing, we got drunk so that we do not lock the room. Tomorrow morning all of my 3 rooms is lost all the stuffs including 2 iphone, 1 sony ecrikson, 1 Blackberry & 2 laptops and US$3000 as well. When i call the security and come to reception to report the thief they try to postpone the time and say that they will call the police to come. We request to see the camera for the last night but they do not accept and they say they will call the police to come and will let us see the camera with the witness of the police. I report around 7am, but the police come at 11am and the owner of the hotels come to the office and say that the camera is broken so they can not show the camera. After that 15 minute, we receive the information from the Housekeeping that our wallet is find out at the garbage bin on the 5th floor, but they can not see who put in it, and the location of the garbage bin is opposite to the camera. I check with reception the total occupied during last night and they say that only 4 room. 3 of us & 1 from French, but i am sure that the French is not because when we back to the lobby they are checking out. With all that evidence, the owner come to us and request the privately meeting. In the meeting they say that, they will pay back to us around US$50/1 person and they are free the room charge for us, we do not accept and make noise in the meeting room. They calm us down and they go out, after that they call the police and report that we spoil and break down their hotel. We go with the police to the police station and receive the same talk with the hotels.
We do not accept and the police said that they will investigate and come back to us soon. We got no time to stay and waiting for their feed back. We are lost but that is very expensive experience in this hotel. I note down this to remind of whom intending to stay here. Hope that you are very best trip in Vietnam!!

Room Tip: Do not stay in this unless you are rich
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank colintran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vung Tau hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We booked a room at this hotel at the last minute, choosing it because of it's low price and location on "back beach". We were extremely happy with our decision and ended up extending our stay from one night to three nights.

Like others have posted, the structure of the hotel makes it such that almost every room has a great view of the beach. The front of the hotel is narrow, but the building runs deep into the alley behind. There are no other tall buildings next to it beach-side and most rooms will be able to get a clear view of the beach. We stayed on the eight floor in a room next to the lift and with a clear view of the beach, had no problems waking up every morning!

The staff of the hotel were in general also pleasant, accommodating to our requests for extra towels and laundry services. We would like to especially commend the security staff working on the basement level of the building. During our stay, they were ever so helpful, assisting us with the rental of a motorbike for our day trips and volunteering to help park the bikes when high traffic made it tricky. Even though we could not communicate much verbally, their ever-present smiles made all interactions with them enjoyable.

As for the hotel restaurant, we did not eat there apart from breakfast. During the week, those looking for an international spread might be disappointed since they only offer two choices: American or Continental. The former comes with eggs and toast, and the latter fresh fruits and cereal. There is a large option of local choices if one desires, although we did not try them. At the weekend, the breakfast morphs into a buffet spread, with the masses of local tourists presumably making it worthwhile to make large quantities of food. The weekend breakfast buffet spread is good, featuring a selection of local food, along with fresh local herbs, spices and salads. There is also a wider selection of fresh fruits.

Overall we were very very pleased with our selection. The location of the hotel is excellent; just cross the four lane roads right at the hotel's door step and you are on the beach. Being near the end of "back beach", this segment is also quieter. Breakfast was simple or good, depending on whether you were staying during a weekday or weekend. Rooms were bright and clean with an excellent view. A note to foreign visitors though: Ocean Star seems to cater mainly to local tourists and as such, many of the staff such as the security guards and chambermaids do not speak english well, if at all. Bring a notebook and pen. Writing and drawing goes some ways to helping you bridge the communication gap.

We would definitely stay here again if we return to Vung Tau.

Miscellaneous tips:

1. Renting a motorbike is cheap and almost necessary to enjoy the streets of Vung Tau and for those looking to explore the coastline independently. Taxis are expensive in Vung Tau.

2. It is possible to kite-surf, wind-surf, paddle and even plain old surf on the waves in Vung Tau. Conditions though are erratic and a storm with winds blowing towards the beach from the seas might help. Vung Tau Beach Club has rental equipment for these activities and at last visit, are run by Europeans (Russians?).

Room Tip: Most rooms have sea view. Just ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AK and D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Alton, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights visit to Vung Tau. Found it to be conveniently located (cross the street to go to beach), near restaurants, clean, nice roof top restaurant good breakfast buffet, and helpful staff., and economical. All we needed

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phd842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Not much reviews on this hotel, but i think its a great location, near to tour operators and restaurant . There are travel agency and massage shop around the hotel. We stayed at the lowest category room, and it exceeded our expectation. Location was quiet and convenient. There are rooms also facing directly to the sea. Room is spacious and very clean, definitely will recommend to anyone. But the receptionists do not speak very good english

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katharina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

This hotel is located on the south end of the back beach so if you want easy access to the restaurants and bars this hotel is not for you. I paid $31 a night for 3 nights. This is a new hotel and all facilities like a/c, lift, wi-fi work well. I had a comfortable sized room but the best aspect was the view north along the full length of the beach. And I could open the window for fresh air. I rented a motorbike to make it easier to get around, but I enjoyed swimming at the beach opposite the hotel. Breakfast has a couple of choices and is adequate. The staff are attentive but not very engaging as they have limited English. This hotel suited me and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Wan_Tong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Hotel located at the start of Back Beach where the morning fishing boats dock on the beach. Staff very helpful and nice. No buffet breakfast but different breakfast selections included with room to get your day started. In the evenings food and craft vendors set up on sidewalk along the beach. Free internet computer in lobby. Taxi to hydrofoil ferry or Front beach about 45000 to 50000 dong. Excellent value for such a clean modern room. Only negative comment..no swimming pool.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vung Tau hotels
0.5 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#15 of 71 in Vung Tau
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corvin Hotel
Corvin Hotel
#32 of 71 in Vung Tau
52 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vung Tau P&T Hotel
Vung Tau P&T Hotel
#18 of 71 in Vung Tau
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
My Le Hotel
My Le Hotel
#33 of 71 in Vung Tau
20 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pacific Hotel Vung Tau
Pacific Hotel Vung Tau
#43 of 71 in Vung Tau
16 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#20 of 71 in Vung Tau
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Star Hotel

Property: Ocean Star Hotel
Address: 45 Thuy Van St, Vung Tau, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province > Vung Tau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Vung Tau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 334
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ocean Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing