We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Ray Estates Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River Ray Estates Resort
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Vung Tau
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

If you want a truly relaxing holiday in a great natural environment, this is the place to go.
i stayed in "Mimosa", one of the "ancient" but very cleverly renovated houses on the hill, overlooking the Ray river and the South China sea.
Regarding the service and cuisine: i have only nice things to say. Staff tried their very best to make my stay there comfortable.
I will recommend River ray to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank fritz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
9
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I was very happy finding this resort. Right on the beach, nice swimmingpool and most of all, very friendly and helpfull staff. The villa was spacious and clean. Would defenately recommonend staying there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vanessa_vdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Most comments of previous commentator from Singapore are correct. All kinds of tiny guests were living with us. Gekkos, mosquitoes and other tiny creatures were daily guests. Electricity breaks were almost daily. Swimming pool is low and practically always dirty. They clean it daily, but wind carries sand to the tiny pool. Sea is warm, but waves are so high that most people do not swim in sea. Distance to nearest shops is several kilometres, and practically nearest proper supermarket is in Vung Tau which is around 50 kilometres from the resort. In their website, they mention their own restaurant. It has closed several years ago.

They offer decent but tasty breakfast. Apartments include proper kitchen with basic facilities. Quality of these facilities is only acceptable, but your kitchen is only place where you can prepare your food in this place without any restaurant close it.

For Western tourists, I recommend Ho Tram Resort which is around 6 kilometres from the resort. Its pools and restaurants are actively working. Only 500 metres from River Ray Estates, you find a new hotel called Petro. It is funny with its super big three swimming pools. I called it as a zombie hotel when it accommodates guests only short periods, and then it is absolutely empty hotel some days again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Riku V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

A terrible experience... Before telling my story I'd like to say that I'm usually travelling in "back-packer" mode but this time it was suppoed to be a romantic trip and... It turned out to be a nightmare..
I booked this place on internet listening to some Vietnamese colleagues who told me that VungTau is a very nice place to spend a week on cose to Hoh Chi Mhin City. Indeed it is, but not in this place.
First, pictures are so different from reality: it's stucked between a dark river (polluted, stinky and full of mosquitos) and the sea which looks like the North sea back in Europe.
Then personal don't speak English and try their best to explain that your breakfast (included of course) will be one egg and and some local weird bread..
Regarding the accomodations, we were supposed to stay in the wooden chalets, lovely according to the pictures... But in reality these accomodations are in the middle of the forest and offer a very limited comfort, a Robinson construction really...
Fortunately (lucky us!) we got upgraded to the "appartment villas" which look very nice first. But at night, you have to welcome the numerous familty of cockroaches that are big as mices and go up to your room to wish you a good night.. Well, the view was nice, but once you were out of the villa!
Seriously, the only positive thing in this stay was that one of the owner was there (from Holland or UK apparently) but he didn't that much as he was aware of all this... So the message was clear... Have fun as you can but don't complain as I can't do nothing about it..
Vung Tau can (may) be a nice place, but don't waste your time and overall your money to go there, it's a joke. Again, I've been a back packer for years but this place doesn't worth this price, it's puerely robbery. Hope tjis helps, sincerely....
They're lucky I didn't take a picture of the all cockroaches I killed that night (x10).. i wish I could add this to my post.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jotapies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERRAYRESORT, Public Relations Manager at River Ray Estates Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
As River Ray Resort Manager, we were most distressed to read a review of 9.26.2012 posted on TripAdvisor.
The reason for us to response late due to the fact that we had received TripAdvisor’s recommendation of our resort which made us felt that we were so honor. We have been doing just fine, after all we have our constant occupancy of 80-85%…Such confidence had let us down, we wish we read this review earlier…
Yes, we were all absolutely shocked. We already checked our record and see when our “unsatisfied customer” check in but found no trace or name. In fact on this date we were busy with a wedding and we had no rooms left on the beach villas. Should we really know the real name and date, we of course would apologize for whatever reason… Besides, I think the gentleman was more disoriented when described our resort in Vung Tau City. Actually, it is nearly an hour away, and located in HoTram area.

Remark about cockroaches as big as mice is absolutely unscientific. The person identified
me “ kind of UK person” who can not speak English ? As a UK and can not speak English ? Can anyone believe that ?

I am a Danish, and I do speak English too.

I would like to leave it for our guests to judge me and to judge our resort.

We would like to thank TripAdvisor for giving us a chance to view our response.

Per Laursen
General Manager of River Ray Estates Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemgo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We enjoyed the wooden house with its rustic and charming. The house is over looking River Ray. Every late afternnon we had our fresh fish on the portable BBQ provided to us by the Manager.
We had a wonderful three days stay there. Thank you
*Wir hatten traumhafte Ferien im River Ray Resort "Lily House". Werden allen unseren Deutschen Freunden davon erzahlen! RIVER RAY RESORT: Number one!

Die Bonner mob.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tiger b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

We wanted to escape the rat races. HCM was too busy for us and our small kids. After several times search on the web, we found Riverrayestates resort in Xuyen Moc City, a small town 120 km from Hochiminh. Vietnam
We rented a villa facing the ocean with 4 lovely bedrooms, enough space for our 3 kids. Spacious with spa, sauna and very cheap rate compares to same standard of hotels in any other parts of Asia. We swam, we eat, we enjoy the sun and the clean beach.
The staff are the most friendly and best child caring staff in any hotels we have been visited.
We will come back again.

The Demarchi family in Rome

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank italy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vung Tau
21.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 70 in Vung Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
22.5 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 70 in Vung Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ho Tram Beach Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Pullman Vung Tau
Pullman Vung Tau
#2 of 70 in Vung Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
22.8 mi away
Leman Cap Resort & Spa
Leman Cap Resort & Spa
#5 of 70 in Vung Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
22.8 mi away
Lan Rung Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Ray Estates Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Ray Estates Resort

Property: River Ray Estates Resort
Address: Ben Cat Beach, Phuoc Thuan Ward | Ho Tram Area, Xuyen Moc District, Vung Tau 74000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province > Vung Tau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Vung Tau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — River Ray Estates Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Ray Estates an eco-resort situated on 8 hectares land on a peninsula between South China Sea and Ray River 120km from Saigon and 40km from Vung Tau. River Ray Estates comprises beautiful beach villas with sauna and spa, and traditional wooden houses, with modern facilities, overlooking the river. Totally 42 rooms. The resort has pool with Jacuzzi and offers conference room and games. The restaurant serves authentic food. Value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your River Ray Estates Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing