We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gone Where?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ganh Hao

Ganh Hao
Ranked #2 of 133 Restaurants in Vung Tau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Vietnamese, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Vung Tau, Vietnam
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Gone Where?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

This place is a bit out of the way for most tourists, but is a decent enough place to go a few extra kilmoeters. It's basically Vietnamese seafood. It's not the best food, but the price is modest and I've never gotten ill there. The view is excellent, as it's right on the seaside, literally. It is the most popular restaurant in Vung Tau. It didn't get that way by having a poor reputation. The wait staff are fast, friendly and smart. The management is excellent also. It's a big restaurant and serves hundreds of diners at once.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jungle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    112
    34
    2
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, null, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“avoid this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

bad foods and overpriced. we got fried rice that was too dried. fried baby squid was not good at all. soft shell scrabs were too greasy. the view is only point to go there.

Helpful?
Thank Ha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Truely the #1 restaurant in Vung Tau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I ate at Ganh Hao on 2 occasion over a 2 week period. This a very large restaurant seating I am told in the area of 3,000. The service is some of the best I have had in all of Vietnam I have lived in Vietnam for 4 years. I attended on a very busy night we were the 3rd seating at our table and service was spot on and everything we ordered was available. Food on both occasion was outstanding. It has all types of food from meats to seafood. As it is know for seafood that's what we ate on both occasions and it was all fresh and all good. The following I can recommend any of the fish, clams, oysters, crab, prawns, squid and much more. Prices are reasonable for the freshness and quality of food and service. There are lots of seating outdoors and on the water so it is very enjoyable. I am not sure what happens in the rainy season but right now (March) it is great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mcd69paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Truly excellent crab”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

There are two Ganh Hao restaurants, by the way, one at either end of Vung Tau's "Front Beach." We went to Ganh Hao #1 for lunch on a Saturday. This attractive open-air restaurant sprawls over perhaps 100 meters of rocky waterfront. Most areas are covered, but there are al fresco options. It's busy, noisy and fun. Service is well-coordinated but lags when Ganh Hao is full up with patrons. We started with roasted snails (oc huong), followed by truly excellent broiled crab (cua ran muoi) and a couple of very good vegetable dishes, and then waited for quite a while for the last course, steamed grouper (ca mu). It was worth the wait -- a nice fish, served with rice paper, rice noodles and fragrant herbs, all that's needed for make your own 'salad rolls.' Cost for our party of four, including 4 bottles of Saigon Red beer and a couple of young coconuts full of juice, was $100.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nworbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great seafood in nice setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We are seafood lovers and found a nice table on the terrace by the sea (note that there are 3 restaurants by this name, we went to the biggest one which is by the sea). Lobsters, sea snake: they had it all. And it was very good. The buttered crab was lovely, so were the raw oysters and the fried ones. And cheap too at 30000 dong a piece. I don't understand the reviewers who say it's expensive considering the kind of seafood and quality they serve. As long as you don't expect to pair all those delicacies with crisp white whine you'll have a memorable beer (did not see wine of the menu, the beer was ice cold and cheap at 16000 dong)

Helpful?
1 Thank EstherfromTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ganh Hao also viewed

Vung Tau, Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province
Vung Tau, Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province
 
Vung Tau, Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province
Vung Tau, Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province
 

Been to Ganh Hao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing