We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ornate and lavish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel Vung Tau
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Vung Tau
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is quite over the top. Very ornate, our rooms extremely comfortable. The pool excellent. We only stayed one night but it was a comfortable stay.
Had a few dining issues here, so I probably wouldn't recommend eating here if you are in a large group, but management dealt with our concerns more than adequately. Breakfast was adequate and part of our room deal. Overall it is a hotel I would recommend to family and friends travelling to Vung Tau.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan N, Director of Operations at The Imperial Hotel Vung Tau, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Marene,

Thanks for taking your time to share your stay experience at The IMPERIAL Hotel. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed our rooms and swimming pool facilities. But we truly regret that our dining quality did not meet your expectation, which has been shared to our management team for taking action immediately.

We do value your kind note. We hope to have chance to welcoming you back to Vung Tau in recent future.

With warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 608 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

From the distance this place looks fabulous. Knock on the walls, however, and you'll see it's made from fibro and concrete. While the rooms are spacious and the bathrooms massive, the cheap construction takes some of the ambience away. That being said, breakfasts and room service were perfectly adequate, the beds pretty comfy and the pool/restaurant complex across the road/on the beach are just lovely.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lily_Was_Here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan N, Director of Operations at The Imperial Hotel Vung Tau, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Lily_from_Canberra,

We do highly appreciate your kind note sharing your feedback and comment about The IMPERIAL facilities and services. We are happy to learn that you have had good experience at dining quality as well as room comfort, but we also seriously take note on the construction and design issue. Please rest assured that we always value our guest's feedback for improvement.

We look forward to having another chance to welcome you back to The IMPERIAL Hotel.

With our best regards,

Lan Nguyen (Ms.)
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Travelled to this hotel with a group from Oz. hotel, at first impression, was a bit too ornate for my taste...but whatever. Check-in went very well, and staff was very polite attentive. Rooms were excellent - large, clean with free in-room WiFi. Free bottled water is provided, for service water is not fit for consumption - there are warning signs just above the taps. More water is provided by housekeeping, if required. Ate at the restaurant twice...the service was extremely slow on both occasions and many of the items on the menu and wines on the list were not available. After being told that two of the wines that I ordered were unavailable, I settled for a glass of house red - hotel's loss. While the accommodations and pool/spa service was excellent, I expected such a "resort" hotel to have better restaurant services, and as such, I cannot support a better than average score.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan N, Director of Operations at The Imperial Hotel Vung Tau, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear PBLD,

It is our great pleasure to receive your comment sharing stay experience at The IMPERIAL Hotel during your last visit to Vung Tau. We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed our room and spa facilities. Your feedback about service and available items in our restaurant is really valuable to us. Please rest assured your note has been seriously shared among management team especially to our Executive Chef - Mr. Yann Chretien and Assistant Food & Beverage Manager - Mr. Tam Aakesson for immediate attention and action.

Thank you for your kind note. We look forward to welcome you back to The IMPERIAL in recent future to experience the changes.

With our best regards,

Lan Nguyen (Ms.)
Director of Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I had stayed there for 3 days and had lots of experiences. Morning breakfast we walked in, the staffs seem too busy to greeting guests. Lunch at Chinese restaurant, we pointed at the number on the menu to order food and the staff said that she speaks a little bit English??? The Ocean restaurant right next to the beach is rather nice, food is quiet ok and the waitress Trang or Tran is really nice, speaks perfect English and helpful.

Besides those the hotel has a good location.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duong N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan N, Director of Operations at The Imperial Hotel Vung Tau, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear DuongN,

Thank you very much for your time to share your dining experience during last visit to The IMPERIAL Hotel Vung Tau. Please rest assured that your comment has been shared to the team especially to our Food and Beverage team for any necessary actions to improve our service delivery.

Again, thanks for your note and we do strongly hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to The IMPERIAL Hotel.

With our best regards,

Lan Nguyen (Ms.)
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Grand, decent food, cheap wine, reasonable beach that gets too crowded on weekends.
But hey, 3 great pools, one right at the sea and if you walk around you'll know it doesn't get better than that.
I like my 5th floor seaview room, though traffic was a tad noisy. But the breezes in the evening, the sunrise and set colours were pretty.

Room Tip: I wanted the beach view so ask for that. Higher floor may have less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EuForia_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan N, Director of Operations at The Imperial Hotel Vung Tau, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear EuForia_01,

It is our pleasure to know that you have had great time at pools and good experience on dining at hotel outlets during your last vacation at The IMPERIAL Hotel. Please rest assured that we always value our guest's feedback and comment.

The team is looking forward to welcome you back to The IMPERIAL at the soonest.

Best regards,

Lan Nguyen (Ms.)
Director of Operatons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, the swimming pool is amazing, the food is good but best of all, the staff a friendly, polite and professional. The rooms however, we found to be beautifully decorated but a little cluttered and we found a problem with condensation. Apart from that everything else was perfect thanks to the wonderful staff

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony overlooking the sea as some dont have them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbud9330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan N, Director of Operations at The Imperial Hotel Vung Tau, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Travelbud9330,

Thank you for your kind note sharing your stay experience during your last visit in Vung Tau Beach City. We are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed our service and facilities. We have noted your comment on cluttered decoration and condensation to take necessary action. We hope to have chance to welcome you back soon to Vung Tau.

With our warm regards,

Lan Nguyen (Ms.)
Director of Operatons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Imperial Hotel sits on the exact spot where once the Peter Badcoe VC Club once stood when the area was the 1st Australian Logistic Support Base during the Vietnam War.. the Imperial Plaza which adjoins it sits where once weary Australian soldiers fresh in from the jungle war swam in the Harold Holt Memorial Pool.. Having stayed there in 1969/1970 as a soldier I can say the Imperial is a vast improvement. This beautiful hotel situated facing Back Beach and the South China Sea is first class.. the rooms are exceptional with great air conditioning as well as a ceiling fan. The staff are friendly and helpful, The food is of good quality in both restaurants and the attached plaza has restaurants on the top floor with a small mini mart on the ground floor. While it is a short drive from the central area of Vung Tau, the taxi's are always on hand and a taxi from the hotel to the hydrofoil wharf costs 80,000 Dong or about $3.70 AU. Even the mini bar prices are reasonable, 30,000 Dong for a Coke where 5 star hotels in Hanoi charge $2.50 US.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the front for a sea view, the rooms at the back are okay, same great quality with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan N, Director of Operations at The Imperial Hotel Vung Tau, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Garry A,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience during ANZAC event day. It's great pleasure to know that your have had wonderful time at The IMPERIAL Hotel Vung Tau. Your comment helps to motivate our team to work better and better for service delivery.

Regarding the information about taxi to hydrofoil, kindly be informed that the hotel can arrange complimentary pick-up and see-off to the ferry station upon your request, by which you don't need to take a taxi for.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The IMPERIAL Hotel at the soonest.

Best regards,

Lan Nguyen (Ms.)
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vung Tau hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Vung Tau
Pullman Vung Tau
#1 of 84 in Vung Tau
232 reviews
12.8 mi away
Lan Rung Resort & Spa
Lan Rung Resort & Spa
#5 of 84 in Vung Tau
227 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#9 of 84 in Vung Tau
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malibu Hotel
Malibu Hotel
#7 of 84 in Vung Tau
70 reviews
1.5 mi away
Leman Cap Resort & Spa
Leman Cap Resort & Spa
#4 of 84 in Vung Tau
99 reviews
1.3 mi away
Muong Thanh Vung Tau Hotel
Muong Thanh Vung Tau Hotel
#6 of 84 in Vung Tau
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel Vung Tau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel Vung Tau

Address: 159 Thuy Van Street, Vung Tau 790000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province > Vung Tau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Vung Tau
Price Range: $84 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel Vung Tau 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Hotel Vung Tau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing