We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs lots of work.”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in Vung Tau
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent 5 nights over christmas at the Grand as we were there for a wedding.
Firstly let me say that we found the staff to be friendly, courtiess and obliging. Breakfast was very good as were other meals we had at the hotel restaurants.
The problem with the Grand is it badly run down and the cleanliness of some rooms is terrible with a lot of mould in some bathrooms, This is a small, well located hotel but no money has been put into the place for a long time and there are far better options in the general vicinity.
To make matters worse they shut the pool for the entire time we were staying at the hotel.
Don't blame the staff it is the owners who need to urgently spend the money to bring this place back up to a 3 or 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 89 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

I found out that during the Vietnam War the Grand Hotel was the Australian Army Officer's Mess. They certainly did it in style! Large, comfortable and clean rooms, delicious breakfast buffet, nice pool and top location on the beach and central to all the nightlife. The day spa also takes some beating.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I almost stayed at the grand but changed my mind after looking at the imperial on trip advisor and I am glad I did. The imperial was fantastic, ESP the staff. We went for a drink one night at the grand hotel bar and left after one drink. Apart from having a depressing feel, it was run as if by the government, no one smiled, service was slow and per functionary and there was zero atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank johnofsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a ground floor room which had a garden in front of it and over looked the South China Sea. Wonderful relaxed three day stay. The hotel was very clean and spacious. Our room was large. The staff were very friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: We didn't use the pool or spare but it looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_judymynott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel 5 years ago with our children, and loved this hotel for its happy and cheerful staff. It was recommended that we stay elsewhere but we didn't listen. We wanted to stay here again. We were greeted with a lovely cool drink and refreshing towel on arrival - definitely welcome after a long but beautiful car trip from MuiNe to Vung Tau. The staff did apologize for noise from renovation work [in the hallway] before we were taken to our room. The doormen were so happy and friendly and our bags were taken up to our room, and of course given the 'tour' of our room. The girls at housekeeping do a wonderful job with what they have. The room is clean and tidy and all the linen is clean and in good order. Our room was seaside on Quang Trung. Our last rooms were in the wing closest to Nguyen Du. Our room this time was in poor condition. Mould in the wall of the bathroom, torn curtains, doors that didn't open/close properly and light switches that didn't work. This is NOT the fault of the staff but management. We know that this is an older historical hotel but we felt that money was not being spent to keep this hotel in great condition like some of the other Vietnamese heritage hotels we stayed in. We don't know if the rooms in the other wing were in better condition.
The staff on the other hand are terrific. They try so hard to help you. This is not a tourist hotel in a tourist area and English is not their first language but the staff really try hard to understand you and help you out. It does help if you also know a little basic Vietnamese. The staff always gave us beautiful smiles when we tried to communicate in our basic Vietnamese. The hotel is close to the beach and we walked almost everywhere. But because we had been to Vung Tau before, the only touristy thing that we did was go to the theme park via the cable car and walked to the market.
Loved Breakfast! The staff and chefs were always wanting to help you with whatever you wanted. Pity a guest was taking all the beautiful pastries, wrapping them in napkins and then taking them up to her room - and then come back for breakfast. Obviously only so many pastries are made each day and when they're gone, they're gone.
Cam on nhieu to the wonderful staff at Grand Hotel Vung Tau and we hope that the owners of the Grand will do the right thing by their hard working staff and fix what needs to be fixed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the seaside closest to the university may be in better condition
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hickster122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

It's a 4-star hotel but just about average cause the unwelcome attitude of the receptionists. The room was comfortable and clean. However, the staffs here and their attitude could always put me out of my stroke. In addition, the price was not reasonable in comparision with other 4-star hotels in Vung Tau.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evangeline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

1st time to this place on business and 1st time staying in this hotel. Booked by my colleague. Hotel is located near coastal front and beside a university and Palace Hotel. Room is spacious but look a bit dated. General cleanliness is OK except there is some mold around shower screen area. Water pressure is a bit low probably because I was staying at Level 3 (highest floor). So, choose lower level if you can. Satellite TV is available with good channel variety. Internet is free. Bed is king size, not too bad. The best stuff for me is the hotel provided a bunch of lychees in the room fruit basket. Taste good and satisfying. Ordered room service, food is below average, so give it a miss. Breakfast is mixture of local & little bit of continental. Don't expect too much. Check-in & check-out is OK but can be improved. Overall, kind of decent hotel in a place called Vung Tao (3 hours drive from HCMC).

Room Tip: Choose seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vung Tau hotels
0.0 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 78 in Vung Tau
142 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel Vung Tau
1.4 mi away
Pullman Vung Tau
Pullman Vung Tau
#1 of 78 in Vung Tau
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Muong Thanh Vung Tau Hotel
Muong Thanh Vung Tau Hotel
#7 of 78 in Vung Tau
69 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seaside Resort
Seaside Resort
#9 of 78 in Vung Tau
129 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lan Rung Resort & Spa
Lan Rung Resort & Spa
#5 of 78 in Vung Tau
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 2 Nguyen Du St., Vung Tau, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province > Vung Tau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in Vung Tau
Price Range: $50 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing