We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel in a beautiful setting”
Review of Tam Coc Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tam Coc Garden
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Ninh Binh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

After a long, tiring drive from Ha Long Bay, we arrived at the Tam Coc Garden resort and instantly felt like we had found a slice of paradise! The hotel is in amongst the rice fields with amazing 360 degree views of the mountain scenery. Rooms are stylish stone, timber and thatch bungalows. The restaurant is beautifully decorated and the food was fresh, classic Vietnamese, done really well. The menu had lots of choices for vegetarians. The pool and garden were also lovely. Staff were friendly and helpful. There are free bikes for exploring the area. We only wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely come back here next time we are in Vietnam.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank GypsyFleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 866 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

The staff at Tam Coc Garden gave us a memorable stay. They took great care of us and nothing was ever to much trouble. The hotel itself is set in beautiful grounds with each villa secluded and having great views. The rooms are first class and very unique. All the sights are reachable by one of the bikes that are prided by the hotel.
Highly recommend this Hotel/Resort.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here for only a few nights an I wish it could have been more. Tam Coc is off the beaten track but so worth it to cruise down the river in a bamboo boat with a Vietnamese woman rowing with her feet. There are a few rivers with hire boats and we tried a couple. The one which is just a few minute walk from Tam Coc Garden Resort was much cheaper, and far more empty of the tourists found at the river in town.
The resort itself was outstanding with handmade ceramics (even the bath was handmade), great food, and one of the prettiest outlooks I've seen. Lush rice paddies with limestone mountains. We took bikes out in the rain and wobbled along the muddy tracks. Just sublime.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aa455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

A perfect escape form the hassles of Hanoi or a place to easily spend unwinding from hassles of prolonged travels and bumpy train journeys. The food is excellent, try the fish hot pots, the staff are all very well trained with an attention to detail, the pool is sublime , plus you are surrounded by calm and green rice fields all around you. . I suggest you make the effort of waking early and joining the excellent morning tai chi lessons given by the delightful general manager. If you like to get away from all the day trippers from Hanoi this is the place to go, plus of course a visit to Cuc Phong National Park where only 11000 foreigners go each year.

I think you get the idea, we loved it

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Our visit to Tam Coc Garden was an absolute delight throughout our two night stay. The staff are genuinely friendly and cannot do enough to help. The villas are beautifully furnished and very clean, and the view from the french windows is to die for. We loved the secluded location. You do get a little noise from the surrounding wildlife at night though. We stayed here first in our tour of Vietnam and the food we were served was unbeaten by all subsequent hotels, and even acclaimed restaurants. We still crave the Mango chicken!! The food was also reasonably priced. The booking price was much more expensive than other properties in the Ninh Binh area but worth every penny. In short, simply wonderful!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayleb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The place is situated in the middle of green rice fields with separate houses, so just imagine how wow it is when you walk into your house's back yard... Is it also very convenient, as most of the local attractions are easily accessible by bike.
The only minor pity is that although I paid for the premium room price which is promised to have wifi in room, neither my ipad or my mobile phone could detect any signal, so I had to go to the reception area to connect. But after all, hey, it's a good place to escape from the city life, including internet ;)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DidiWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Tam Coc Garden is beautiful hotel with cottages that beautifully furnished and feel very private. The atmosphere unique, subtle and beautiful with surrounding rice fields and limestone mountains. It was close to so many of the attractions as well and bicycle are provided free of charge. The restaurant had some amazing food that was reasonably priced for an upscale hotel. Also the bed was the most comfortable bed! Such a relaxing place to wind down and enjoy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank wanderwithmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ninh Binh hotels
8.3 mi away
Golden Dragon Hotel
Golden Dragon Hotel
#14 of 28 in Ninh Binh
1 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nam Hoa Hotel
Nam Hoa Hotel
#3 of 28 in Ninh Binh
293 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ninh Binh Legend Hotel
Ninh Binh Legend Hotel
#7 of 28 in Ninh Binh
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Ngoc Anh Hotel 2
Ngoc Anh Hotel 2
#6 of 28 in Ninh Binh
567 reviews
10.4 mi away
Emeralda Resort Ninh Binh
Emeralda Resort Ninh Binh
#5 of 28 in Ninh Binh
890 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ninh Binh Hidden Charm Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tam Coc Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tam Coc Garden

Address: Hai Nham Hamlet, Ninh Binh 40000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ninh Binh Province > Ninh Binh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Ninh Binh
Price Range: $138 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tam Coc Garden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far removed from the hustle and bustle of city life, Tam Coc Garden, nestled amidst rice fields, is a jewel of hospitality, gastronomy and romanticism, harmoniously intertwined with local farm life. The benefits of eco-tourism, cultural tourism and combined tourism are conveyed through the architecture and the foundational functioning of Tam Coc Garden. In fact, in keeping with the original construction of an authentic Tonkinese village, surrounded by rice paddies, with its typical stone houses and tile roofs, bamboo groves, gardens and orchards, Tam Coc Garden is proud to say that all staff members are from the surrounding villages, which adds to the uniqueness of Tam Coc Garden. As you ascend the steps to Tam Coc Garden, you will be warmly welcomed as a close friend who can share special moments with the local people into a quiet, peaceful, simple atmosphere in which comfort is not compromised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tam Coc Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing