We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,139)
Filter reviews
1,139 results
Traveler rating
603
391
106
26
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
603
391
106
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews organic restaurant indoor pool van long nature reserve private garden golf buggy wine bar pool side spa treatments halong bay deluxe room northern vietnam ancient capital tour guide spacious rooms boat trip goat vietnamese food
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,139 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

Spacious resort with beautiful landscaping. Very friendly staff. Great guide for day trip tours! We really enjoyed being surrounded by pools and tropical landscape while visiting Ninh Binh to see river, caves, and karst mountains! A great getaway from the big cities to see amazing natural beauty!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Arblocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2019 via mobile

The resort is a hidden gem in Ninh Binh. We stayed for 2 nights and wished we could stay here longer. It's a self sufficient resort with 2 pools indoor and outdoor, spa, gym, etc. The room was beautiful and earthy.
The breakfast was good but more options for vegetarians could be included.
Would highly recommend to stay in Emeralda Resorts if you're traveling to Ninh Binh.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Monzuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

Recent review of this resort hotel have been lengthy so I will attempt to keep this relatively short:
Positives: the rooms are arranged in low level clusters of 16 to resemble traditional North Vietnamese villages. Some clusters have their own swimming pool. The rooms are very spacious, fridge, air con, welcome food basket. The resort has two restaurants, we ate at the more expensive one. Our guide had eaten goat in Mai Chau the night before so I ordered this as a local speciality. Superb. The best goat I have eaten anywhere.My husband's dish was also very good.Breakfast was the usual buffet style but the room is enormous - air craft hangar size.
Negatives: I had a rest in bed at 5.00 p.m. and when I looked up at the roof rafters a rat was walking along them. When we phoned the reception desk we were told this is common when it rains - it was raining. We were offered another room but as there was no guarantee that rats would not appear in another room we declined but put the fruit basket in the fridge to avoid rat temptation.
When we tried the TV we discovered the instructions had been torn out of the hotel brochure. We had to call someone for help, as the rooms are a long way from reception this took around 20 minutes. We were advised that the hotel had changed the system but failed to provide instructions.
We arranged to leave at 7.30 a.m. as we were travelling to Haiphong for a cruise. At 7.15 a.m. two staff hammered on the door, refused to go away despite the fact that I explained my husband was in the toilet, and the situation became extremely unpleasant. I assume they wanted to check the mini bar. When we left the room we were taken to a golf cart to take us to reception. It would have been helpful if the staff spoke English and had explained this to us.
Overall: this hotel has a monopoly as there is a lack of good accommodation in the area. They are used to coach tours and the welcome from reception was cursory, the staff do not engage with their customers, rats - despite the rain - are not something I would wish to experience again and being bullied by staff to leave our room, many hours before we needed to vacate, is totally unacceptable.

Room tip: The clusters are a long walk to the restaurant or to reception/breakfast area. If you have walking issues don't stay here.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019 via mobile

Spent our last couple of nights of a 2 week tour in Laos and northern Vietnam here and couldn't be a better finish. Accommodation is in spatious and well finished clusters of houses. Spatious rooms, good beds, nice bathrooms, good internet. Resort has nice both indoor and outdoor pools, very good dinner restaurant serving high quality local and western menus, and a separate very good breakfast restaurant. All staff friendly and helpful. If you want part and full day excursions in the local area, especially to the nearby and beautiful karst limestone and rainforest national park, they offer these with their own transport and guides, and this is probably a better option than doing these trips as part of a general itinerary touring multiple sites, as are commonly organised in Vietnam, where the guides have less specific local knowledge.
In short a place we'll be sorry to leave, quite a rare feeling!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank polarbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019 via mobile

Our stay at the Emeralda Resort Ninh Binh was fantastic.

There was a relaxed feel to the resort from the moment we arrived.

The lobby was in a beautiful raised setting surrounded buy a moat full of fish.

We received a warm welcome from the staff and although in easy walking distance were taken to our room by buggy, with luggage following on.

Our room was in Cluster 7 at the rear of the site. Set amongst trees and greenery the sound of wildlife including birds and frogs was ever present.

Our room was spacious had a colonial feel about it. We had a large bathroom that included a great bath and separate walk in shower. To the rear we had a small private patio. The room had everything we needed.

The resort had a great outdoor pool with poolside bar, indoor pool, gym, spa, karaoke room, wine bar and two restaurants.

We enjoyed sitting poolside enjoying a relaxing drink with friends and dinner in the Organics Restaurant where the food was cooked to perfection and beautifully presented by a great team of staff.

For those wanting to go further afield it’s worth taking a walk outside of the resort. On exiting the main gate and turning left you can walk to the end of the road from where you can get some great views and see people taking boat rides in old traditional boats. We didn’t do this as we had our own boat trip lined up.

Although the resort is tastefully lit giving it a romantic feel at night, it’s worth taking the torch from the room when going out to the pool, restaurant etc after dark as you will almost certainly get the chance to see some of the frogs and hand sized snails crossing the paths. Have your camera to hand!

For those who prefer to travel by buggy .......... just call the number supplied in your room and they’ll be there in no time or hop on one as they pass you.

We would have liked to have stayed here longer and can highly recommend the Emeralda Resort.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Bridstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews