We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - cheap quiet and comfortable ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guest House Kim Lien
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Friendly helpful hosts, good food, comfy beds, quiet, good travel advice, cheap and no pointless TV or fridge that you'll never use. What more do you need to know? In a nice non touristy part of town away from the noise, I thoroughly advise taking Rudy's advice and hire a bike (50000 dong), skip tam coc and go for a nice ride in the countryside to see trang am and hoa lu instead (ignore the woman in the cafe outside hoa lu who tells you to park your bike outside her shop). Wonderful day. Also it's nice to spend a bit of time in Ninh Binh itself which is pleasant and untouristy - we could easily have spent another day here. Dinner is good and better than the local eateries we tried. Very highly recommended!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MelodiousMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 261 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

I was quite impressed about this guesthouse, the service of the owners was fantastic, they were very very helpful and enjoyable. Nice internet and one can always ask for advise to the owners about stuff to do locally.

Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a modest guesthouse. Clean and basic rooms on a very quiet street. Good AC. Pleasant dining area. Lien (Viet) and Reudi (Dutch) are very hard working, honest and ready to help. If you make arrangements in advance they will have you picked up at the train station. Reudi has made a very helpful book of the local attractions of which there are many to choose from in several different directions. He can help you put together a manageable days sightseeing. We thought about renting a motorscooter in town. Works well if all goes well but if not, like an accident, then you are on your own with the Viet police. At 60, risk is not high on our list. So we bought 2 $17 US /person/day tours on the back of motorcycles with Lien's brothers as our drivers. They were very safe and it was much fun. We also rented bikes for the day to tour the town and countryside. Don't count too much on the train schedules. Our return train to Hanoi was 1-1/2 hours late leaving Ninh Binh. Ah, the joys of travel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunnar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We arrived from Hanoi unsure of what to expect from Nihn Bihn. It's a strange town and as the guides say it's all about the surrounding sights.

Kim Lien Guesthouse was a great place to stay. Lien was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. We were going to stay two nights but with a full day of activities it became apparent we could catch the following nights train south and seen most of the sights. This worked out well as the guesthouse has a half day rate so you can go hard all day and have a place to come back to shower and relax.

There are a couple of options tour wise. We selected the bicycle tour. It was a long day covering 30+k's on old bikes. I ride both road and mountain bikes several times a week in NZ and I still found it a bit exhausting but still an amazing way to see the people and country side. You ride through small bumpy back roads and villages and the locals were very friendly and weren't trying to sell us anything. Fully recommend this option but you are warned. Nam our guide was great.

We had used Agoda to book for the first time and forgot that you pay Agoda directly as opposed to Booking.com we usually use. Lien contacted us the next day explaining the mix up and was very concerned how she would manage to get our $20NZ back to us. We were pleasantly surprised but weren't to worried about the refund so asked that she donate the money to someone locally who would benefit most. Lien provided a receipt and a link to a story about a local girl and her siblings who had lost their parents and we're struggling to get by as well as remain in school. We were very happy with the outcome and Lien deserves credit for her honesty.

We recommend Kim Lien 100%.

Glen & Fran

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kiwitravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our family recently stayed at Kim Lien Guesthouse and found it to be a quiet and friendly place. The food was good, the rooms are small and basic, but very good value for the price.

Rudy, who helps Lien to run the place, hooked us up with an excellent driver named Ling, who spoke quite good English.

When organising the booking I found that it was very easy to communicate via email - no misunderstandings or double meanings - which is often the case when organising bookings, activities and connections where English is not the first language.

Thank you Lien and Rudy for an enjoyable stay in Ninh Binh.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fre0Tragic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Ninh Binh is a busy town with not much to recommend it except for its easy access to lots of great surrounding sites. We stayed two nights in Ninh Binh and found the Kim Lien Guesthouse a happy retreat. It is also nice that the rates are very reasonable.

It is located down a quiet side street between different parts of a large hospital complex. So there is little traffic and the area is relatively peaceful.

The guesthouse is, in typical Vietnamese tube house style, very tall and narrow. So you might have to be prepared for a 2-3 flights of oddly sized and narrow stairs. The rooms are bright and very clean, if a bit Spartan and looking like a college dorm. Bathrooms are typical Asian wet-alls. AC was cold, the water was hot and the bed was comfortable.

The owners are very charming and helpful. Breakfast was great and laundry service quick and cheap.

Ninh Binh isn’t famous for its restaurants. So it is nice that Kim Lien serves a delicious fixed-price dinner for only $4.

I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was one of the group of thirteen mentioned in the review below, and can only second those opinions. I was also the recipient of the fantastic birthday cake! Thank you Lien for organising.It.
It is in a great quiet location (our children played badminton in the street with the lovely girl from the hotel)
Our trips were organised and guided by Hieu and Nam and made it a very special visit, My son's rides on the back of Hieu's motorbike made his holiday. A clean, well run and quiet hotel that is a must if you are going to Ninh Binh. And the food is great as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ninh Binh hotels
3.3 mi away
Nam Hoa Hotel
Nam Hoa Hotel
#4 of 27 in Ninh Binh
298 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chez Loan Hotel
Chez Loan Hotel
#1 of 85 in Ninh Binh
437 reviews
3.3 mi away
La Belle Vie Tam Coc Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Ninh Binh Family Homestay
Ninh Binh Family Homestay
#7 of 85 in Ninh Binh
91 reviews
2.4 mi away
Nguyen Shack – Ninh Binh
Nguyen Shack – Ninh Binh
#1 of 64 in Ninh Binh
485 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ninh Binh Mountain Views Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Kim Lien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Kim Lien

Address: Ngo 212, Hai Thuong Lan Ong | No. 54, Ninh Binh, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ninh Binh Province > Ninh Binh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Ninh Binh
Price Range: $14 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Guest House Kim Lien 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kim Lien is a small guest house in Ninh Binh run by a friendly Vietnamese family. The location is on a quiet corner in a local neighborhood with leafy streets. At Kim Lien you can be assured of a good night's rest since there are no noisy traffic sounds. At the end of the street is a colorful day market. Local beer gardens, coffee shops and street food restaurants are just around the corner. The city center with with a modern supermarket and restaurants is just a 10 minute walk away. We are in the western part of town while the train station is in the eastern area. It is 1.6 Km to our guest house, the bus station is only 1 km. Traveling on scenic country roads, the rice paddies and limestone mountains are within minutes reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Guest House Kim Lien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing