We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pangolin on the menu ... ?”
Review of Big Man Restaurant - CLOSED

Big Man Restaurant
Cuisines: Vietnamese, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pangolin on the menu ... ?”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

To be honest, the food we had was nice, with rich tasty sauces. However, they have pangolin on the menu - which is either dishonest (if they in fact serve something else as fake pangolin), or else very questionable (given their endangered status).

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steve-eat-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hai Phong
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely Relaxing Venue”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great beer, both local and imported, lovely food, excellent outdoor seating. Good value and plenty of variety to please.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“One time is enough ..........”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The beer is the best there, food terrible and the Restaurant very dirty. To many drunk locales make a lot of noise.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ralf_Peter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good draft beer, pretty tasty food”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Had some good noodles with seafood and an excellent morning glory side dish (Vietnam's national side dish from my own observations and travels). The beer was very good and the open atmosphere and surroundings in the restaurant were very nice. Went lunch time. Personally, I would opt for the street food restaurants but this is a nice place for a real sit down table and not to be shirked.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The greatest menu ever and german beer!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

If you really really must spend some time in Haiphong you should go here. The food is average, but the beer is delicious! Proper german still light and dark beers! And you will probably need a few as Haiphong is a pretty dismal place.

However, the greatest thing about Big Man is the menu. There are some absolute classics. Heart of Musk Cat anyone? Or what about some delicious Snout Otter?? Or if that doesn't tickle your fancy maybe go for the Porcupine Black Pudding??

All delightful I'm sure, but in the end we went for some prawns, a bit of cured wild boar and some clams. It was average.

If you do try the Heart of Musk Cat, please take a picture and post it on here. I'm kind of curious...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Man Restaurant also viewed

 
Hai Phong, Vietnam
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing