We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hmmmm hard to put into words” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Classic Hoang Long

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Classic Hoang Long
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Hai Phong
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hmmmm hard to put into words”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is weird from the moment you walk in the door and up the Addams Family stair case. The decorations are distasteful from the gargoyle to the smiling Buddha to the stuffed Tiger and Leopard to the provocatively posed nude photo of an unknown Caucasian women in the restaurant and other assorted nude paintings. It just has a creepy feel and we couldn't wait to check out. The staff have very little English (in fairness I have no Vietnamese) I ended up using Google Translate to communicate, they were polite but not overly helpful. The room was clean with the hardest bed we have ever slept on. Only consider this if you are either desperate for a clean bed or up for a weird experience.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
1
4
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

One of the strangest hotel experiences I have ever had in 50 countries that I've seen. Rooms and public spaces feature paintings of nude women - not classic paintings, but strange oddities. room was big, but old and with one of hardest beds I've ever had to experience. Breakfast was simply lousy. Staff was pleasant at times, but also kind of threatening. This all seemed to fit into the city. I consider Vietnam one of the most hospitable places in the world, but Haiphong is the only place where people aggressive and unfriendly. I would happily never see this city again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hai Phong hotels

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed for one night with seniors. We are feel very scary because very noisy all night long with foot steps and moving furnitures on 10th Floor !!! Toliet and rooms very dirty with hair around. Staff in front desk was not professional did not leave us an important message. Staffs in breakfast were very tired and sleepy, not willing to boil coffee (we asked in Vietnamese!!!) They request charges us additional 10% if pay by credit card!!! The worst hotel I stayed ever~~ Never come back in this terrible hotel.

Room Tip: Choice other hotel you will find a good hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothyfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

I stayed here for a night and would have stayed for another night until I discovered little ants or flees in the wooden closet and also some ants on the floor. I stayed in the upper rooms and upon entering the room, it looked decent. The bed linens were very clean and the bathroom all appeared to be very clean but the only glitch were the little bugs. I'm absolutely terrified of them and would not be able to sleep knowing that there were little bugs crawling around. Paid around 60$/night which is a bit pricey for this city and it was not worth it at all. I decided to pay a little more than double at harbour view and be a lot more comfortable. I'm pretty sure there are other rooms without bugs and to be sure, double check the wooden closets and look closely. I would expect bugs at a 2 star hotel but not a 4 star hotel where you are paying 1,000,000 dong. That's a lot for some locals!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beb3g1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

I looked everywhere for reviews of places to stay in Haiphong and couldn't find anywhere that looked clean and nice within a reasonable price range ($25-40). Tripadvisor apparently doesn't have many visitors going to Haiphong so info was very scarce!

Finally, I found some reviews for this place (and a few others) on Agoda, and their reviewers said the location was good, the staff was helpful and they had a buffet breakfast that actually had food to serve (several other hotels in this price range apparently didn't consistently serve breakfast). We pre-paid $42 on Agoda b/c I didn't feel like messing around with bringing additional cash on our trip -- although I note the real rate for this hotel is $33/night (which I saw on our receipt). And yes, this includes breakfast.

The location is excellent. It's walking distance -- in fact, just one block, to the center plaza in town and the prettier parts of Haiphong with greenery and park areas. We found the staff to be incredibly kind and friendly and welcoming as well. They were also very helpful getting us a taxi in the morning. The breakfast was OK (mostly Asian food), but it was a bit odd b/c we were the only people in an enormous roof-top restaurant and the women serving the buffet stared at us a lot and everyone seemed very uncomfortable.

In general, the hotel seemed very empty. It's quite large; it seems to be in the tallest building in the downtown area. The lobby is very Donald Trump-ish, Chinese-baroque in its styling, and it struck me as rather cheesy in an Asian nouveau-riche sort of way. That said, it was very clean and quiet. Our room was on one of the mid-upper level floors. We were given a coupon for the "spa and sauna" on another floor (open till midnight). Out of sheer curiosity, we checked it out, and it was kind of dingey and cold and creepy and not welcoming or spa-like (in the Western sense) at all. We chose not to partake in its offerings.

Our room itself was clean and simple. However, they do lose one point b/c I ended up with a long Asian hair on my skin (not mine!) after drying off with a towel after a shower. The shower though was very warm with good pressure, and overall it really was very clean except for the hair and a weird welcome mat in the bathroom entry way that looked like something from an outdoor front porch -- and it had seen better days.

The only other bad note was the bed -- although the sheets were very clean, the bed was about as soft as sleeping on a wooden plank or a slab of cement. It was rock hard. The room was also rather cold, and we could not figure out how the heater worked (it was all in Chinese and not user friendly). As a last note, there was a lot of furniture in one small room, and it was laid out very "interestingly." The closet was wedged at the end of the bed, and I can't imagine how you'd get in and out of it if you actually wanted to store clothing in it.

On the whole, it wasn't bad, and I don't think there are many other reasonably priced (mid-range) hotels in Haiphong -- so it's a viable option. I'd stay there again, but just bear in mind that it's really just a place to sleep and no place to rave about.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paquitaladelbarrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

13th Floor of course.
Security poor and uncooperative
No assistance with police
No assistance by Haiphong police
Avoid this apparently classy hotel.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hai Phong
0.4 mi away
Lac Long Hotel Hai Phong
Lac Long Hotel Hai Phong
#4 of 36 in Hai Phong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.6 mi away
AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel
0.0 mi away
Level Hotel
Level Hotel
#10 of 36 in Hai Phong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Draco Thang Long Hotel
Draco Thang Long Hotel
#9 of 36 in Hai Phong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hai Long Hotel Cat Ba
Hai Long Hotel Cat Ba
#10 of 18 in Cat Ba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Huu Nghi Hotel Hai Phong
Huu Nghi Hotel Hai Phong
#15 of 36 in Hai Phong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Hoang Long? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Hoang Long

Property: Classic Hoang Long
Address: 25 Tran Quang Khai, Hong Bang, Hai Phong, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hai Phong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Hai Phong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Classic Hoang Long 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Classic Hoang Long reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing