We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 4-star Hotel in Haiphong”
Review of Seastars Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Seastars Hotel
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Hai Phong
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Good 4-star Hotel in Haiphong”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Located along one of Haiphong's major thoroughfare, this fairly new hotel has all amenities expected from a 4-star establishment. The rooms are well equipped, but the beds were too hard for my taste. The building has a poor sound-proofing which may be annoying if you have noisy neighbours, but also the street noise can be perceived. The breakfast buffet is large offering anything for eastern or western taste.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marc_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
1
5
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel is located in the one of the main streets (heavy traffic) a modest walking distance to a nice shopping mall. Our company booked 5 days for a business visit, and as mentioned in previous reviews, the price is higher for foreigners...I guess this is typical in this part of Vietnam.

The décor is very old fashion as well as dilapidated public areas with unmatched FF in the lobby - The rooms are very basic, here as well you can see problems with the installation of A/C units as well as drainage problems in the shower. The linen was spoil and with holes. No safety deposit box.

The worst area is the restaurant (décor and service) unhygienic plastic table tops and no atmosphere in this big/high ceiling room. Food was ok...the staff cannot speak English which was a major inconvenience for us.

The Spa is not what you are expecting to see in an alleged 4 star hotel....this is more a cheap/soft sex place. This hotel needs desperate help to improve its image and services urgently!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rapsromeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hai Phong hotels

Jalgaon, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was here with my girlfriend for one day only.It situated at good location having shopping malls & business district nearby.Restaurant is excellent. Rooms are clean with all amenities.English speaking staff.But slightly costly at 50-60 USD for deluxe rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunwantrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I don't think I will come back to this hotel after my short stay here. My room was on the 9th floor and there was no wifi signal though I asked the staff to check. When I first openned the bath room, I was almost fainted because of the bad drain smell. There was no hook or shelf in the bathroom to hang towel or clothes. The air conditioner apparently was not considered during the design phase, thats why the bathroom was decorated in addition with aircon water pipe. I was so disappointed to look for electric sockets for my phone charge and my laptop in the room. The solution was to unplug one of the table lamps for it. The lobby was full of heavy hard wooden furnitures, which don't make you feel comfortable. The staff talk and gossipped in a loud volume, and many of them tucked pants, which did not look proffesional at all. In general, I think this Seastars hotel is not qualified for its 4 stars rate, and the its owners never put themselves in the shoes of guests staying in a hotel and what they need. It has everything, but it doesn't really help to make the stay comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here for 3 Nights for business, choose the standard room.

Room itself is furnished well, floors carpeted, clean, minibar, 32 inch LED TV, Bed is comfortable. Toilet just barely makes the mark. Free Wifi and speed is good. Overall I would say the room is ok. nothing luxurious but good enough for my business travels.

The breakfast is quite good, you have an egg station and noodle station with the Noodle variety changed daily.

Some of my gripes are:
- Pillows in the rooms are very High and Hard. They were very uncomfortable.
- I do not like the fact that the room Pricing for Foreigners are different from Vietnamese. Very common with many Hai Phong hotels.....very backward.
- Forgot to give our passports back upon check out. Vietnamese Hotel (Esp Not 5 Star hotels) want to keep the guest passport. I do not like this as the receptionist always forgets to give it back upon check out. True enough it happened this time. Luckily the hotel is quite near to the airport so we did not miss our flight.


All in all, I would stay here again when i return.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor so that you do not get noise from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyrix_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This hotel was reasonably clean and has a lot of amenities. A gymnasium, rooftop restaurant, pool, sauna, spa, breakfast, etc. Thats why its around $70 a night so if you want all that its OK value. The room was large and quiet (we were at the back on the 8th floor). The shower did leak everywhere but other than that it was decent. The food was reasonably nice but the drinks are a little pricey. Although the pool is small its quite nicely presented, designed kind of like a pond in the forest. The staff were helpful and looked after our every request. Because its on the highway to the airport there's not much nearby except for night restaurants that open up on the street. The food is amazing but you will struggle to find anyone who speaks English so look for places with pictures of food or live food if you can - makes the sign language easier! Watch out for the horse meat restaurant down the road.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back away from the main road. You can always check out the 360 degree views from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enkhuizen
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The ''Seastars'' hotel was booked for me and me Crew in July 2010 and we stay there for about four and half weeks.
Our experience was that the ''Seastars'' hotel was a nice clean hotel with a very friendly
hotel Management and crew,they were all very helpful and wellwilling.
And we all like the kitchen food.

Captain A.Veltman.

The Netherlands

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ale V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hai Phong hotels
1.8 mi away
Lac Long Hotel Hai Phong
Lac Long Hotel Hai Phong
#4 of 37 in Hai Phong
84 reviews
4.0 mi away
Camela Hotel & Resort
Camela Hotel & Resort
#10 of 37 in Hai Phong
11 reviews
1.2 mi away
Huu Nghi Hotel Hai Phong
Huu Nghi Hotel Hai Phong
#24 of 37 in Hai Phong
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pearl River Hotel
Pearl River Hotel
#3 of 37 in Hai Phong
63 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monte Carlo Hotel
Monte Carlo Hotel
#13 of 37 in Hai Phong
7 reviews
1.0 mi away
AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seastars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seastars Hotel

Property: Seastars Hotel
Address: 1/3a Le Hong Phong Str. | Ngo Quyen Dist, Hai Phong 35000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hai Phong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Hai Phong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seastars Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seastars hotel Haiphong is a new landmark building in the port city and an ideal base for business and leisure travelers alike. Just 4 km from Haiphong's Cat Bi airport and Haiphong port, the 14 story hotel is right in the heart of the city' business and shopping centre. The airy rooms feature great views of the city, ports and rivers. With almost 90 rooms of international standard, you can have a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seastars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing